We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appearances can be deceptive!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woodvale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Woodvale
Ranked #6 of 29 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Appearances can be deceptive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We had researched this hotel on Tripadvisor and had looked at their website and so were quite surprised when sat nav directed us to a tired looking pub, rather than the sophisticated hotel that we expected from photos on the website. Parking is largely on the road (although it is a quiet residential road) and check-in is in the pub. Our first impressions were therefore not good!

Things improved significantly once we saw our room. We had a nice, modern bedroom with great views over the Solent and a lovely large en-suite bedroom. The room was clean, comfortable and well furnished with a good range of hot drinks provided on the tray. Wi-fi was free and worked well when we needed it, and the staff were friendly throughout our stay. We had drinks and a light meal in the pub before heading out, and the location really is fantastic when you have a chance to sit back and take it all in.

Breakfast was in the function room on the first floor, with a good range on offer. We held out for the full english and weren't disappointed, and although it did take a while to appear it was worth the wait.

All in all we had a good stay at the hotel. I would recommend it to those who would enjoy the view, are attending functions at the hotel or are visiting friends in the area. Not necessarily one for a romantic getaway though unless you want to hang out in the pub!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. Room 5 was at the end of the corridor, so wasn't noisy (as some people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perpetual_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    33
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
51
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

An excellent hotel, well appointed and fantastic views. Very friendly staff and the breakfast was ideal . Definitely recommend this hotel to others. The staff do this hotel great credit. The rooms were clean comfortable. Enjoy !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_G_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

All rooms are very well presented and spotlessly clean. Staff are fantastic!

They had bought in several breakfast items to suit my dietary requirements that was well above and beyond the call. I've stayed at lots of large, 4 Starred hotels that haven't done anything like this. Furthermore, they opened breakfast 30 minutes early for me as I had to catch an early ferry. All of this at their suggestion, not mine.

Nothing was too much trouble.

I will definitely stay at the Woodvale again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregoryKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

4 star prices for 2/3 star service. We were asked to leave the bar and take our drinks to our bedrooms at 11.30pm on the Friday night because the staff were tired and wanted to go home. Sunday morning breakfast was served with gone off milk and although apple juice was on the menu none was available.A bit pricey at £110.00 per night. The landlord commented that it was quiet because it was out of season but we did not pay out of season prices. However room decor was lovely and housekeeping staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Might want to take your own pillows as those provided were very hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We ate here several times on our holiday and every time we had a lovely meal. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We had 3 children with us and we felt very comfortable and welcomed and even our fussy eater was catered for without any trouble. We would recommend this to anyone. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We had a visit from relations who had sailed over from Portsmouth to spend a few days in Cowes.
We live on the Island and therefore did not stay at the Woodvale but had an evening meal there with our visitors.
The food was good and the staff were very friendly.
The only downside was a door out towards the Woddvale road side of the property, which had a closer that was not functioning and it banged annoyingly every time someone went through it, which interfered with our converstion as we were seated right next to it. Otherwise I would reccommend this pub to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsleofWightttwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath,England
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is a popular beach front pub with five well equipped en-suite bedrooms, four of which overlook the Solent. It is not some pretentious gastropub but one which prides itself on an extensive pub menu of well sourced and cooked ingredients served in generous helpings.
The crab sandwiches and the breakfast sausages were particularly memorable..
The owners and all their staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
As geriatrics we did find the two flights of stairs to the top floor a bit challenging but help was readily provided with the baggage. By the time we left our companions were managing without their sticks so it seems the 'work out' did them good.
We arrived during dinghy week at the nearby sailing club so the free on-road parking was fully occupied. However we were helped to park on the grass bank owned by the pub.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smallcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.1 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodvale

Property: The Woodvale
Address: 1 Princes Esplanade, Cowes PO31 8LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodvale 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Woodvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodvale Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing