We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woodvale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Woodvale
Ranked #6 of 29 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We chose The Woodvale as it was very close to Gurnard water front which holds a lot of childhood memories. Our welcome was very Pleasant and friendly, and our room was wonderful with views over the Solent, as good as any Boutique Hotel room. The food and service was fantastic. We will definitely return again and highly recommend The Woodvale to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lindy544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    33
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
52
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelsall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Woodvale is a happy, friendly and safe place to stay and we shall always return when we visit the Isle of Wight. We like the relaxed atmosphere with the accommodation being over a pub and the food is of a very high standard. A pleasure indeed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horndean, hampshire uk
Level Contributor
253 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Recently stayed for one night as my sister was getting married at a nearby venue. A number of the wedding party stayed at the Woodvale and all declared it a hit. All of the bedrooms have been refurbed in the past 2 or 3 years, simply furnished, comfortable beds and importantly, very clean throughout.

The staff during our stay, polite and helpful.

A large number of the wedding party, although not all staying at the Woodvale, had breakfast together in the Solent Suite giving excellent views across the Solent. Again the staff coped well, very well cooked food and plenty of it.

Our experience will certainly make us return in the future.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment and ask for a room with views of the Solent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaineandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I had my wedding reception here in the upstairs Solent Suite. The evening was faultless - the service from the proprietor and his family was excellent, as was the food. Would highly recommend. We did not stay overnight but the rooms are lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rvk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I visit the Island 3/4 times a year and we always dine at the Woodvale during our visit. The food is consistently good, great views across the Solent, ample outdoor space and friendly staff. During our recent visit, I forgot to book and turned up with a large party, the staff were more than happy to help find a suitable table and had us all seated in no time at all.

Vast menu which caters for everyone, food consistently good and great value.

Will definitely be back again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Visited on a lovely sunny Sunday. The pub affords lovely views - you really couldn't ask for more. Food however is average - and sadly, when we were there we had to chase several times after waiting close to an hr for our order. We were told, pleasantly, that as our orders were "all different" they'd take a while to prepare. To be clear, we didn't order lobsters. We ordered a sandwich, a lasagne and gammon. Which roughly transpires into the microwaves and fryers were busy. That's fine. Just tell people when they order. When the food did come it was average. Id rush back there for the view and a cider. Not for a fried platter.
When we told the bar man that we had a boat to catch, he did, in fairness say he'd drive us to the boat himself - this was a really lovely gesture - more than most places would do.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just had a one night stay in this hotel as a birthday treat! It was better than expected, fantastic views across the Solent, quiet hotel with great food. Staff are very friendly and helpful and breakfast was lovely! Lovely picturesque setting

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roaming85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.1 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
North House
North House
#4 of 5 in Cowes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#1 of 29 in Cowes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodvale

Property: The Woodvale
Address: 1 Princes Esplanade, Cowes PO31 8LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodvale 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Woodvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodvale Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing