We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst fish and chips ever”
Review of Eegon's of Cowes

Eegon's of Cowes
Ranked #11 of 62 Restaurants in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$25
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Eegon's of Cowes is a well known and legendary cafe in Cowes, Isle of Wight in England. It has a 5 Star Food and Hygiene Rating. Everyone is welcome. It has superb meals at great value and is famous for filling up if you are at The Isle of Wight Festival or if you are a yachtsman or yachtswoman, needing any early breakfast.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worst fish and chips ever”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

visited this café 16th October 2013, and had the worst fish and chips ever, the fish was a frozen fillet, deep fried, and tasted very poor quality. The bread and butter which was part of the meal deal had mould growing on the side of it. we complained and it was replaced but the bread still tasted stale, with a strange smell. needless to say it was not eaten after one mouthful. when we went to pay for the meal they charged us for the teas even though it was advertised outside on a large board that this was part of the meal deal. we could not recommend this café to any one and will certainly never go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    44
    7
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weird, Wonderful and Utterly Brilliant”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

As with most things in Cowes, the cafe is tied to the sea, the local life boat and sailing around the Isle. We were here in the off season so it was quiet but the service was polite, the brekkie was huge and the price reasonable. They do cater for every appetite but I think "The Big One" might kill me.

It feels a bit dated but in a familiar and friendly way, clean, tidy and a 5 for scores on the doors.

I'd recommend it to the bleary eyed late risers who've had a few too many at The Union the night before or those keen beans who've been up and out for hours, making the most of the morning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleTravellingBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Best bacon buttie”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Eegon goes on and on....bless him! Best bacon buttie in town. Good breakfasts to cater for all sizes of appetite, and Eegons will be open when all else is close in the mornings. Fast service. Totally reliable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good wholesome grub!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We are refurbishing a flat close to Eegons and were in need of a well cooked simple meal. The "all day" breakfast at a very reasonable price hit the spot! The service was good and the food freshly cooked. The chef even took the time to come and speak to us regarding the fact that one of us is a coeliac. He is considering offering a gluten free menu. Do hope he does - as we shall be back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BinksWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good lunch”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Popped in for lunch during our stay and we really enjoyed it. Food was nice and so to was the coffee.

Will visit again when we return hopefuly in April.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeyfeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eegon's of Cowes also viewed

Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Eegon's of Cowes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing