We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Union Inn Pub

Union Inn Pub
Ranked #16 of 62 Restaurants in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Great beer and Great food, right alongside the harbour and was a really good to have found on a really wet and windy March night.

Visited March 2013
2 Thank Charlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Standard pub - terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Despite a change of management, the food here is still bad. A sign on the outside wall claims that kids are welcome, yet there is no childrens menu - all they could offer were starters with chips. Seafood chowder came out cold and was sent back. Battered cod was dripping in grease. Staff asked if egerything was alright and we said no, but they were not bothered. Our second disappointing visit to the Union and we will now avoid.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
2 Thank Wightbait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia A, Owner at Union Inn Pub, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
I am absolutely shocked at your review. I am so sorry that you had such a terrible experience at our pub! Although we don't offer a seperate childrens menu we can do smaller versions of most of the items on our main menu including fish and chips, spaghetti with tomato and basil sauce, burgers, and half a steak. We do offer our starter, chicken skewers, with chips for children as they tend to love them but it certainly isn't the only option! We also have sandwiches which are suitable for kids and on a Sunday we offer half a Roast dinner.

With th change of management came a new menu. Everything on our new menu is homemade and cooked fresh with real ingredients for each and every customer! Obviously, seeing your review we still have a way to go to get this right everytime.

I am also sorry that our staff didn't respond to your complaint correctly. Of course they should have communicated the options for children better and replaced the food you were unhappy with! Our Beer battered fish and chips is, of course, deep fryed but certainly shouldnt have been DRIPPING in fat! I will ensure the kitchen know of your complaint.

Can I ask what day you ate with us?

I hope you will come back and give us a second chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food...Great Atmosphere...Great Friend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

While visiting a friend who lives in the Southampton, England area for a few days after a business trip he suggested we take the 1 hour ferry over to the Ise of Wight. While exploring Cowes we decided to have luch in the Union Inn's pub.

The food was great. The "atmosphere" (decor, etc) was great. Spending the day with a dear friend was great. I would love to go back the next time i am in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
1 Thank RTotoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Union Inn Pub also viewed


Been to Union Inn Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing