We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay very good”
Review of Union Inn Pub

Union Inn Pub
Ranked #17 of 61 Restaurants in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Isle of Wight
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overnight stay very good”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We live on the Island and like to visit local hotels/pubs, to recommend them to family and friends. Whilst we have eaten at the Union on many occasions, we booked an overnight stay with dinner and breakfast, as a sneaky break from routine.
The room (3) was gorgeous, with masses of space and all the comfort you would want. The bathroom is the only one with a bath, with shower over the tub. It was modern and offered huge fluffy towels, toiletries and ducks for the bath!
Our dinner was calamari, followed by steak and was delicious.
Breakfast the next morning was a treat, offering a most varied menu. I had Caribbean French Toast with maple syrup and bacon. My husband had pancakes with glazed banana, maple syrup and bacon. There was cereal/fruit juices/toast etc and the usual full English, plus eggs Benedict. Plenty of choices for everyone. It was delicious. The staff are known to us and are always cheerful and friendly. All visitors like the relaxing atmosphere, the numerous pictures on the wall and always interesting people to either watch or to make conversation with. A most enjoyable stay

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IsleofWightDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    50
    14
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High wycombe
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Proper local”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Friendly, well run, busy, good entertainment and the food looked good too although we didn't get the chance to eat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“SAILORS’ HAUNT”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We tried to book at this well-known sailor’s hotel, but all six rooms were reserved and we had to stay elsewhere. We walked over from our beach hotel for supper and were not disappointed by the friendly atmosphere. For a while we sat at the bar and chatted with the yachtsmen, freshly back from racing in the Solent, and the friendly owner, who regretted she wasn’t able to show us any of the newly renovated rooms. Later as the place was rapidly filling up, we snagged the last available table, albeit next to a rowdy group of mariners dressed in outlandish nautical costumes (one overdressed pirate had a stuffed parrot stitched to his shoulder). The jolly atmosphere didn’t detract from our enjoyment of our meal. First, fresh whitebait, crisp and tender, available by the half or full pint. Then pie of the day, which was a tasty chicken and leek concoction, generously stuffed with chicken but a bit light on the leek, with oodles of mashed potatoes, veggies and a sauceboat of gravy. As we left, some of the sailors were staggering out arm in arm, and more were squeezing in, so I’m not sure we would have had a restful stay. As it was, we worked off our plentiful repast with a moonlit walk along the seafront.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gentlemansportion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very long wait.... and then my order was wrong.”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Two of us went for lunch at the Union Inn in Cowes (having had a good experience one evening a couple of years ago).

We ordered a couple of items from the light bites menu - quiche with side salad and potato salad, and beetroot and brie stack. We waited for almost 40 minutes for the food to arrive and when it did, my order was wrong (they brought me bacon and brie stack - great for someone who doesn't eat meat). It then took a further wait for my meal to arrive. Although the staff apologised, we were not offered any form of compensation for their error (when you eat with a friend, you expect to be able to eat at the same time; not one after the other!).

The pub was not busy (I have no idea how long you would need to wait during the busy Cowes Week period!!!) so I have no idea why two meals which didn't need any cooking (apart from toasting the bun in the stack) took so long to prepare and serve! I have to say the food was delicious.

Unfortunately, due to the length of the wait and the lack of good customer service to make up for their error, I will not go to the Union Inn again and will not be recommending it to my friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Well that was a surprise”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We popped in late lunchtime just for a pint, but were a bit peckish... just wanted something light, and on the specials board was a Seafood Chowder and crusty roll... That would do.. But what a surprise, a beautiful rich chowder packed with chunks of fish, prawn and mussels.. not quite the light bite I was looking for but full of flavour and sensibly priced. Will use again when next in Cowes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Union Inn Pub also viewed

 
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Union Inn Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing