We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Change of Menu”
Review of Union Inn Pub

Union Inn Pub
Ranked #17 of 62 Restaurants in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Change of Menu”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

What a pity - On our many visits to the Isle of Wight we have always enjoyed a meal at the Union Inn. Traditional Fish and Chips now off menu, Seafood Platter also - not to speak of the other meals we have enjoyed in the past. The Union Inn now appears to cater mainly for fast food - i.e. Fish Fingers and many kinds of pies. Needless to say we only purchased drinks. After leaving we visited The Fountain Inn close by and yes - we had traditional fish and chips which were beautifully
beer battered and also there was Seafood Platter on the menu if we wished to order. We will have no hesitation in visiting again when next in Cowes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentvisitor414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia A, Owner at Union Inn Pub, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest
We are very disappointed to read your review, especially as you didn't actually stay to try our new menu or even, as it would appear from your review, read it! After a brief breakdown of our menu I will explain exactly why we are so confused as to why you couldn't find anything you like.

After an extremely busy year and some very popular items on our menu we decided it was time to take our top sellers and focus on them to make them even better! These items were our seafood chowder, our platters, our burgers and our pies.

Our new menu now features 4 Soups and Chowders, 12 items which can be mixed and matched to create your own board or ordered individually as a bar snack (4 of which are seafood, 4 meat and 4 vegetarian), 6 Homemade Gourmet Burgers including our Beer Battered Fish Burger (aka fish and chips, just ask for no bun!) our handmade beef burger with our very popular spices, Breaded chicken escalope burger, Halloumi Fritter and Med Veg, Slow cooked pulled pork and local Crab Cake. All of these are served with our homemade chips (the only homemade chips in cowes!) and plenty of salad and sauces, alternatively you can choose to "lose the carbs" and have your burger as a salad instead of in a bun with chips.

Alongside these very popular burgers are our Homemade Pies in proper Suet Crust Pastry. These are made fresh daily (trust me! there is flour flying from 7am everyday!) and are filled to the brim with our wonderful homemade fillings, Steak and Ale, Pork and Cider, Chicken bacon and mushroom, Cheddar and Potato and Duck, Spring onion and Hoisin Sauce. Our odd one our is our beautiful traditional Fish Pie topped with Mash and Cheddar.

As stated on the menu, our ingredients are locally sourced where possible and EVERYTHING is homemade on site. We do have fish fingers as one of our board options but we lovingly make them ourselves! As a pub we feel it is important to offer our guests choice. With 12 items to choose from to make our boards there is already 20,736 different combinations for you to try using only 12 fresh ingredients! You won't find that anywhere else!! If we include those combinations plus our sandwiches (available on locally made granary, white or baguette) then our menu has 20,782 choices for you to choose from ...............Our "main ingredients" (not including salt, pepper flour etc) consist of only 22 items purposefully so that we can guarantee the quality and freshness of our dishes. All of which are ordered on a daily basis. I don't think there are many places, if any, that can offer you more choice with fresher ingredients than ours.

Next time you find yourself in Cowes we hope you will return, and if you ask a member of the friendly bar staff they would be happy to advise you if you suddenly find yourself overwhelmed by the 20,782 choices which you face for lunch/dinner! Or if you find that too much then maybe just stick to the specials board?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    50
    13
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Review of a lunch time meal”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had passed the Union Inn many times on our visits to Cowes over the years, but never gone inside, but on this occasion the Fountain Inn where we usually ate had a long wait for food, so we ended up in here and we are glad we did!! Its a lovely old pub and the staff are very friendly. There is a good menu, the food is lovely but the best bit was the fantastic home made chips!!!
They are the best chips we have ever had when eating out. so for that reason we will definately be returning. Yum !!! The rest of the food was great too and the pudding was delicious!!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crusadingblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“No Complaints”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Visted one lunchtime, very quiet so service was no problem. Friendly staff and good food. We chose half pint of prawns for starters, just enough for two. Home made steak and ale pie was very tasty and pan fried salmon superb. This is a popular pub with the yacht crowd as we discovered when we tried again on the Friday but couldn't get passed the door!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GandJ983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We visited this restaurant as a group of 8 on Sunday 8th June.

The service was the worst I have ever experienced bar none. At best, we got one word answers from the barman/waiter, often he just grunted. Every request was too much - 'May we please have some sauce?' led to an eyeroll and a grunt, for example. One of my friends is lactose intolerant and had therefore ordered the Rib Eye steak without sauce or garlic butter. When the steak came, it was completely covered in butter. My friend queried this politely, at which point the waiter snatched the plate away and stormed off. The colleague (may have been a manager) who bought his replacement steak was very friendly and apologetic, but we only saw this member of staff for about 2 minutes of our visit and, frankly, the damage had already been done.

It's a shame that we (and a few other groups on here) have had this experience when it seems that the service is generally regarded as being a real strength of this establishment. We'd come over from Southampton to celebrate finishing our university degrees and our visit to this pub really put a damper on what was otherwise a lovely day on the Island. We would have complained at the time, but having already been made to feel unwelcome from the second we arrived without having done anything to upset the staff we were worried about the response we would have received.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Decent Food, friendly attentive staff, a decent pub”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A pleasant place for a meal, very friendly attentive staff, no problem with kids. The food was good, served in good time.

Only one issue, the table had been wiped, but it was still tacky, please wash out your cloths more efficiently

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Union Inn Pub also viewed

 
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Union Inn Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing