We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house, lovely sea views”
View across the Solent
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across the Solent
Stunning Period Property Entrance hall with seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
View across the Solent
Stunning Period Property
Entrance hall with seating
Well equipped sitting room
Well equipped kitchen/breakfast room
Formal dining room with seating for 10
Master Bedroom with Balcony and sea view
Bedroom 1.  Can be king size double bed or twin singles
Bedroom 3.  Can be king size double bed or twin singles
Stunning Family bathroom with bath tub and separate shower cubicle
Ships ladder to the roof terrace
Bedroom 5 can be king size double beds or twin singles
Roof terrace with amazing panoramic views
Patio with dining for 10
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cowes, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
morriliz
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, lovely sea views”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We spent a wonderful week at Cliffhanger (7 adults, 1 infant). It was very difficult for us to find a decent property which suited everyone in our party and accepted children and animals. The property did not specifically cater for young children (no cot, no highchair), but we had brought a travel cot and booster seat which was fine and the owner was happy, as long as we accepted that it was not a child friendly house (eg big spiral staircase) and were vigilant. The owner also allowed us to bring two dogs on the condition that they stayed on the ground floor. The house itself was tastefully decorated throughout and well equipped. There was a large outdoor seating area with BBQ and a rooftop terrace with great views of the harbour. Three of the bedrooms had amazing sea views and the lounge had a DVD player, board games, playing cards etc so there was plenty to do on an evening. We read an earlier review from someone who had had difficulties in getting their full deposit returned. We had no problems in this regard. During our stay, one of the pictures did fall from the wall and the glass pane broke. We rang the owner immediately to inform him. He was very pleasant and fully accepted that it was not our fault. Our deposit was returned in full within a couple of days of leaving the property. We would definitely return and recommend this property for other large groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sea views, comfy beds
Liked least: Wifi didn't work on ground floor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
Delighted to hear these guests enjoyed their stay at Cliffhanger and look forward to their booking again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition of the house, location, views, quality of furnishings and ease of dealing with the owner
Liked least: Not a problem for me but if you have two cars I'm not sure where to park nearby for the other cars. Perhaps there is advice on the site somewhere.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Aug 2013
Thank you. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Hardstand parking for 1 car is available outside the house and 2 additional parking spaces are available on request. I hope you will visit next year and be sure to ask for the additional parking spaces.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pafire065
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb accommodation and facilities for our business event”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Cliffhanger is fully equipped and a beautiful property in West Cowes. Within walking distance from the Ferry port and close to local restaurants, shops and bars. The house has everything you would need for a holiday. Our trip was only one night for a business meeting which we held in the dining room and we all agreed that it was the perfect venue. Booking with Chris was trouble free and Kitty on site was extremely helpful. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2013
I am very pleased this corporate let found the house to be the perfect venue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlow
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Jun 2013
Many thanks for this kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and Cliffhanger and its location lived up to your expectation. Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views/winding staircase
Liked least: Trying to get our deposit back
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jun 2013
I'm glad they thought the property superb. Unfortunately, a larger group stayed than was booked. Their was slight damage and more linen and towels used than allowed for under the original booking. Once the cost of damages and extra laundry was agreed the deposit was returned immediately less those costs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Apr 2013
I am delighted to hear that Cliffhanger was such a fantastic surprise and I look forward to your staying again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the rooms
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Apr 2013
Thank you for your kind words and I hope you will come and stay again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing