We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on the Isle of Wight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on the Isle of Wight”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We were invited to attend a wedding at the New Holmwood Hotel and thought that as it looked good on the web-site, and for convenience, we'd book in for the weekend. The hotel has a great position overlooking the Solent Estuary and in a quiet location, but only a short walk from the town. Right from the start the service was excellent, a young guy whose name I didn't catch was very welcoming and ensured we knew our way around as part of our check in. We stayed at the hotel for dinner on the Friday night, and were pleased we did. The service and food were excellent, and there was a good variety on the menu to choose from too.
The room was very good, with a great shower too. We were very pleased to see a silent fan and complimentary bottles of water provided which assured us a good night sleep as it was still around 17 degrees outside that night.
Breakfast was self service with hot food cooked to order. Again very good and the staff also ensured everyone's food was delivered at the same time
As the Best Man at the wedding, I was nervous, but Dave, the manager, expertly guided us through the day, never intrusive but expertly on hand to ensure we all had a fantastic day. The prompt cards Dave supplied were very much appreciated
The evening reception took place in a function room which also led out to a fabulous balcony where we contiued to enjoy the party with the bonus of the sea air, and a great sunset on the water. The food at wedding receptions is normally bland, not here though, everything was fresh and there was plenty of variety
This is a great place to stay, with easy access to the island's highlights, and along with other wedding guests that night agreed that we will definitely return when coming back to the island
Thanks to Dave, Kathy, Martin, Scott and all the other staff who without exception made the whole weekend a great occasion. The bride and groom were certainly happy
One regret is that we hadn't booked a longer stay!

Room Tip: We asked for a 'quiet' room and were very pleased with the room we had. The hotel receptioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpioblue_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are pleased to hear from the moment you arrived our team made you feel welcome. We pride ourselves on our customer service so it is always nice to hear when it shows.

David has many years experience with weddings and still prides himself on the smooth running of the day and knows how nerve-racking the best man job can be so he likes to make you feel as comfortable as possible.

We are glad you appreciated the world famous Gurnard sunset, it is certainly a favourite of ours. We hope to see you on your next visit to the Isle of Wight

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    102
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
78
137
10
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

A fabulous hotel with a great management and team.

We have just retuned from such a lovely stay with the Newholmwood hotel. It over looks the sea in a very tranquil setting. There is ample parking and the hotel frontage is in good repair.
We were joining a wedding party that was being held here.
We were checked in by a very friendly and informed chap who made us feel welcome and showed us where the wedding was being held, where the restaurant was and how to find our room.
The room was number 25 a pleasant well equipped clean and tidy twin room with a well stocked tea & coffee station,fresh bottled water with proper glasses on each bedside table in the en suite that had a bath with over shower was clean and tidy there was also new complimentary shampoo and shower gel.
We chose to dine in the restaurant on the Friday evening and were pleased to see a lovely selection of starters mains and deserts along with a nicely stocked wine list . We chose the steaks which arrived with fresh vegetables silver served by a very pleasant dark haired lady .
We slept well and considering it was so hot we were very grateful for the silent ceiling fan .
We arrived at breakfast that was a self service buffet of juices , individual boxes of cereal and fruit .our cooked breakfast was served by Martin who took our order and served our selection of toast , tea and fresh filter coffee.
The wedding was at 12.30pm and everything went like clockwork ! The I 's were dotted and T' s were crossed ! The management pride themselves on the smooth running of weddings and they should be proud because it was a triumph ! And as my partner was the best man he was very grateful that David ( hotel manager) was on hand to give the nod as to when various announcements to be made.
The wedding breakfast was very enjoyable and accompanied by silver served fresh vegetables .
The evening reception was also catered for with a very substantial fresh buffet that was filled with a huge selection of freshly cut sandwiches , vol et vents, quiches , samosas , chicken skewers and petti fours .
This whole event was managed very well by a great management and staff close run friendly team.
We very much look forward to returning here as David and Kathy run a very friendly and relaxing hotel that we have already recommended to friends and family.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles-wilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad to hear that from the moment you arrived the team looked after you and made you feel welcome.

We feel privileged to have the location that we have with an ever changing view and pleased that you appreciated it as well.

We have passed your compliments to the kitchen team and they are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the food provided during your stay with us. We have also shown Martin and Kathy your comments and they are just as pleased to have played a part in making your stay with us so memorable.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to the island.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and were very happy with the room and excellent service. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who was very helpful.
Had a superb meal in the evening and the restaurant Manager (Cathy) gave a great service. The breakfast staff were also excellent (James in particular).
Our only concern was the noise from the wedding group, although to be fair we were advised on booking that is could be noisy. We had a room at the back of the hotel, which was very comfortable although a bit on the small side.
I would love to visit again one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your kind words towards Kathy and James, we have passed this on to them both.

We hope that the music wasn't too much of an inconvenience for you? Where we are a small hotel we do like to inform our guests of this at the time of booking so it is not too much of a surprise.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to the island.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
267 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We spent three nights here in the Uffa Fox Suite. Great views of The Solent and windows that open to let the sea air in. The Suite is a bedroom with a separate living room, TV in each. There is a sofa and two chairs in the living room - they are a bit too soft for me but I piled up the pillows and made do. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home including taking us to our room, providing a needed extension cord and carrying our luggage up the stairs (no lift). Parking, internet and bottled water are all complimentary. The internet was occasionally slow in our room but there is also a computer in the lobby. We enjoyed both breakfast and dinner in the hotel. It is conveniently located with easy access to all parts of the island and very handy to the ferry from Southampton - be sure to take the chain ferry from East Cowes to the hotel. This hotel has the feel of a B & B with the amenities of a hotel and we recommend it for your next visit.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in our Uffa Fox Suite, this is one of our most popular rooms due to space and of course the lovely views.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and I am pleased to hear that the staff delivered on this. Hope to see you again if you are ever travelling this way.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have just returned from having our wedding day & reception at the New Holmwood Hotel we had a lovely day very relaxed and nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all very friendly and polite. A very big thank you goes to David for helping us with all the organising and helping us through all the steps of our wedding,A big thankyou goes out to Kathy for helping us and our guests,two most amazing people you will ever meet.overall all the staff was easy to talk too.i would recommend this hotel to anyone whom is having a wedding here or a short break.our room was cozy&it was very nice to have room service
Many thanks
From a very happy newly wed couple.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katyiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted that you decided to choose us for such a special occasion and we are glad to have played a part in making it such a memorable day and we wish you all the very best for your future together.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Our son and daughter-in-law held their wedding reception at the New Holmwood and the day was just perfect. We also stayed the night (13 rooms in total). The attention to detail was second to none and very special thanks must go to David who kept the whole reception ticking along and ensured a smooth operation (and how he did this without being obtrusive beats me). Alongside David was Cathy whose industry over the two days was fantastic (from helping us late at night to serving breakfast the next morning - she just didn't stop). These two must get a special mention. Our bedroom was comfortable, well equipped and very clean. Bar prices were reasonable and not the rip off you get in some hotel bars. The breakfast was lovely, but the food at the wedding reception was absolutely awesome.

Room Tip: I am not sure if all rooms have a sea view so probably worth requesting one as the views are spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calum_McInnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We are so pleased that decided to choose us for such a special occasion. We pride ourselves in the service that we provide and appreciate your kind words regarding this.

We hope to see you again for more special occasions.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

i stayed in this Hotel with my Elderly Mother and my Brother. My initial thoughts were that it was Old Fashioned, but clean. The rooms were pleasant and well equipt and beautifully clean. The Breakfast was good and the Evening Meals very nice, but what makes this Hotel Great is the lovely views of the Solent, 10 minutes walk by the water into Cowes centre and the lovely Staff. Every one was cheery and friendly and couldn't do enough for you.

Room Tip: If you have Disability problems Room 1 is perfect. With a seat in the Shower and HandRails by the To...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoozeedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and value your comments. We have recently finished our refurbishment and being an old building with have made sure that we have kept the charm of the hotel and do hope that you will return to see the changes.

Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
12.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
11.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
9.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western New Holmwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western New Holmwood Hotel

Property: Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Address: Queens Road | Egypt Point, Cowes PO31 8BW, England (Formerly Best Western New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western New Holmwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western New Holmwood Hotel is situated at Egypt Point in Cowes on the Isle of Wight, home to a multitude of world famous yachting events. The hotel offers fantastic panoramic views across the solent from its public areas with the enchanting town of Cowes being only a 15 - 20 minute walk along the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western New Holmwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel And Restaurant
Best Western Cowes
Cowes Best Western
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing