We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“splendid sea views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“splendid sea views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

a last minute trip to the Isle of Wight and this dog friendly hotel was great. The IOW is always a bit expensive but we had a great dinner £24 for 3 courses of A1 quality. Handy private parking, right on the sea. Friendly staff who were very helpful.

Room Tip: Book early as only a small number of rooms have a sea view, the rest are quite dark as there are bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed your comments onto our kitchen team regarding your meal, who are delighted to hear that you found it to be A1 quality.

We hope to see you on your next trip to the island.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    101
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
78
134
9
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Once again great sea views,very comfortable rooms, great staff who are very friendly and tasty breakfasts and dinners leads to a great stay. Helped with an additional guest at very short notice with no fuss or bother. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

We like that once again you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Good hotel with friendly and helpful staff. I had a meal in the restaurant which was excellent and good value. Comfy room which was quiet as I had requested. Tv can be temperamental due to passing boats. Great views across the estuary . Would stay again when I go to the Island next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMMY53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewHolmwood, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to hear that your meal in our restaurant was "excellent" and I have passed on your comments to the chefs.

We try and meet any requests made by our guests, if possible, so I am pleased that we achieved this for you. We apologise for the television signal at times with the passing ships, but as you say with our great views we think it is worth it!

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The room was good. Everything was very clean. We liked the extras e.g. boiled sweets, chocolate. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We paid for breakfast on the second day and found it to be excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewHolmwood, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

It is always nice to hear when a customer has enjoyed their stay with us and I am pleased to hear your thoughts on our staff and that you appreciated the little added extras in your room.

We hope to welcome you back to the New Holmwood Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and daughter and myself and our dog stayed three nights at this lovely hotel.
The hotel is in a superb location with uninterrupted spectacular views across The Solent and about 15 -20 minutes walk from the centre of Cowes.
Everyone of the staff was really friendly and could not do enough for us and we would say that they are amongst the most accommodating staff we have ever experienced. We had to take a wheelchair due to my wife's mobility problems but the staff ensured we felt welcome and put ramps in place whenever necessary and were flexible as to where we ate so that our dog could be with us at all times.
A good map was provided to show directions to the hotel and a map of where to find a petrol station was even produced when we asked where the nearest petrol station was.

The rooms we stayed in were comfortable and clean and there is a nice lounge with lovely views and also a cosy bar. Although rooms at the front of the hotel have superb views, having a room at the back of the hotel is not a problem because the lounge and patio area are right at the front of the hotel so provide spectacular views.

The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard and very good value.
We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Charles and Karen ,Wirral

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of hotel have superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChadHeswall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewHolmwood, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also our location, which we count ourselves very lucky to be in.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and like to make our guests feel comfortable and as welcome as possible so it is always lovely to hear that the staff have delivered on this and I have passed on your comments to them all, who all said you were a pleasure to serve especially when they had cuddles from cocoa!

We hope to see you all again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex U.K
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We recently stayed here 1night with friends. What a lovely hotel, perfect location, right on the Cowes seafront and with plenty of parking. Staff throughout our stay were all friendly, welcoming and very professional.
There was a wedding on the night we stayed, we were advised of this by hotel staff before our arrival and they did all they could to ensure we had lovely rooms at the back of the hotel away from any possible noise but i must add there was none and the bride we saw looked so beautiful.
Our rooms were immaculately clean,roomy and airy, with tea making facilities, sweets,chocs and T.V with a lovely big bed and good sized en-suite with bath and shower over...my only negative comment was that the pillows were a little hard for us, but that's personal choice.
We ate breakfast in the lovely relaxed restaurant, what better way to spend a Sunday morning, looking out to sea on a glorious sunny morning sat with friends eating the most delicious freshly prepared breakfast...would we recommend this hotel? definately...will we go back? you bet we will. Thank you to all the staff at the Holmwood for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLMWestSussexU_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewHolmwood, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated our Solent views as much as we do. I have passed on your comments to the staff who were also delighted to hear that their hard work has paid off.

I am pleased to know that you would return and also recommend our hotel to others, so we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
12.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
11.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
9.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant

Property: BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Queens Road | Egypt Point, Cowes PO31 8BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western New Holmwood Hotel is situated at Egypt Point in Cowes on the Isle of Wight, home to a multitude of world famous yachting events. The hotel offers fantastic panoramic views across the solent from its public areas with the enchanting town of Cowes being only a 15 - 20 minute walk along the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel And Restaurant
Best Western Cowes
Cowes Best Western
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing