We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2014 Hotel Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Holmwood Hotel during a family wedding of around 50 people in June 2014. My wife was planning and organising the wedding on behalf of her sister and due to living in Suffolk, we had to bring everything with us.
David meg with my wife on the Friday evening and assisted in anyway possible to make her task so much easier. David and his staff were turkey exceptional and nothing was too much trouble throughout the event. And definitely made for a memorable day.
The hotel itself was very clean and fresh with modern features which catered superbly for our large family including young children. The food was fantastic, not only for the wedding dinner but for the breakfast the following morning and the bar had a wide and varied range of drinks to cater for all ages.
In short we will definitely stay at the hotel again in the future and would highly recommend the hotel for a wedding or holiday, as everything you need is under one roof.
Thanks ageing David, your lovely wife and all of your staff for a wonderful wedding and a great stay.
Regards
Barry Simpson

Room Tip: Choose a suite as each has a modern theme and is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just returned from a four night stay at the New Holmwood Hotel on the Isle of Wight. What a fantastic experience. The hotel bent over backwords to accommodate our needs, we were travelling with a couple who have mobility problems and from the first email the staff were helpful and informative. The room which would be suitable for disabled people more than met the needs of our friends. The staff were friendly and super helpful. The food was fantastic, beautifully served and presented and so so good. There was nothing we disliked about the hotel and would certainly go back there if ever back on the Isle of Wight. Can only congratulate the management and staff of the hotel and give them all a big thank you, you made our trip even better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This could be one of the best - staff uniformly excellent, service brilliant food very good, location unbeatable, and we would definitely stay here again, but.....the hotel is in need of some refurbishment and a lot of TLC. The hotel's photographs, as one would expect, show the best side; the furniture and bathrooms however are showing their age, and first good impressions quickly fade. The same is true of the public spaces, comfortable but tired. Having said all that, if you're looking for comfort, service and location, this is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Go for sea-facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heraldic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here alone while on a work trip for 2 nights. I was made very welcome, the staff were helpful, friendly and attentive (especially Martin), the room was clean and comfortable with everything I could need and the food was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone as a place to stay.

Room Tip: I found my double room to the back of the hotel very pleasant with a nice en-suite bathroom and a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed four nights with our handicapped daughter.the staff are all so helpful and pleasant and nothing is too much trouble. At the time of booking our needs were understood and met and even the ferry crossing was arranged. Our rooms, whilst being perhaps a little small were perfectly adequate and clean while the beds were extremely comfortable. The restaurant is fantastic with the view across the Solent and all the passing shipping to add interest. Sadly we didn't see a sunset as we din't see the sun at all! The food was as good as one will get anywhere - absolutely excellent and always hot and well presented. My dietary need on gluten free was well met, the wine list was good and the menu changed every day. Food could not be faulted.
In summary a very pleasant stay in an excellent hotel which thoroughly deserves the plaudits!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife & I stayed for two nights at the New Holmwood Hotel about three weeks ago.
A spacious bedroom and comfy bed (probably big enough for three!), friendly staff and an excellent breakfast served in a room with a superb view of the Solent.
We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel but we will definitely give the dining room a try next time we stay.
What was not to like? Not much, really.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
12.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
905 reviews
0.6 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western New Holmwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western New Holmwood Hotel

Address: Queens Road | Egypt Point, Cowes PO31 8BW, England (Formerly Best Western New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range: £90 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western New Holmwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western New Holmwood Hotel is situated at Egypt Point in Cowes on the Isle of Wight, home to a multitude of world famous yachting events. The hotel offers fantastic panoramic views across the solent from its public areas with the enchanting town of Cowes being only a 15 - 20 minute walk along the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western New Holmwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel And Restaurant
Best Western Cowes
Cowes Best Western
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing