We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great eating experience in Brawns”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brawn's of Cowes - CLOSED

Brawn's of Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$32
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A Modern European Restaurant in Cowes Brawns is a small, intimate European Restaurant, located in the old quarter of Cowes town. Set in a Grade two listed Georgian building, sympathetically converted a few years ago. Charles Paul, owner and Chef, was trained in London, and having done a stage at the Fat Duck in Bray, went on to work for a high class restaurant in Cambridge. His inspiration for the food is to use high quality, fresh seasonal produce, locally sourced where possible. Diners will always find brasserie favourites on the a la carte menu, as well as some more modern offerings. The specials will change on a daily basis, to ensure there is something new to tempt you. Those looking for tasty food at excellent value can also choose from the set price midweek menu. The wine list will be small, but has been carefully chosen to compliment the food. Those on a budget will not be disappointed by the more affordable wines, as they have still been selected to impress.
East cowes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great eating experience in Brawns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We heard that Brawns was under new management so my wife and I decided to give it a try. We had a three course meal. We both started with scallops, sweet and cooked to perfection served with thin sliced black pudding a classic marriage. For mains my wife had a steak which you could have cut with a butter knife and accompanied with a lovely pea and garlic purée. I had the best duck I have eaten in along time and although I am not a vegetable fan the creamed cabbage was delicious. We rounded with a cheese board and a gooey centred chocolate fondant. A cosy dining area and excellent attentive service topped off a great meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    26
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good quality food, stylish restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Small menu but good options to choose from. Went for chicken liver parfait to start, which was very tasty and not too heavy as served with thin toasted slices of brioche. Partner had calamari, with a chilli mayo dipping sauce. Again all good. Steak mains were well cooked and chips delic, like little roasties. Service was excellent. Good ambience in restaurant with interesting decor (especially toilet wallpaper). Would definitely recommend and revisit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visit the IOW from Manchester every year... love food and always on the hunt for new places to try...

challenge is we have a 7 year old who has severe anaphylactic food allergies. I aways email ahead and can usually gauge the quality of both the chef and the food from the initial email reply!

I emailed 3 restaurants, Brawn's replied first - a helpful and reassuring response (unlike one other restaurant I won't name here!)

Arrived today for lunch... greeted warmly and the staff had already made notes for us on the menu regrading the ingredients for my daughter.

The building itself is full of old charm and quirks - once housed a butchers, so complete with original meat hooks on the ceiling (I don't eat meat so somewhat ironic - vegetarians don't be put off, it really is charming!)

Food wise... I ordered the bream and samphire - full of flavour and seasoning but not over powering - impressed with the wine selection - the chablis was excellent. Chocolate mouse was divine

Booked again for Friday - would definitely recommend. Service great and overall, a fantastic way to spend sunday lunch!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“French Bistro dining at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

From the moment we stepped over the threshold, to a smiling and warm welcome, we knew we were in for a treat!
Brawns is an intimate, relaxed and sophisticated restaurant. It specialises in fresh food, cooked to perfection and served artistically and beautifully. The menu is small and offers fish, steaks, poultry/game and vegetarian options - along with specials of the day.
We were a party of four and all chose different meals. We all agreed that the meal was amongst the best we have eaten, on the Isle of Wight and we all eat out regularly.
The wine list was good, as was the house red!
Thank you for your hospitality, we will be back soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IsleofWightDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Scrummy food and a very excellent and reasonably priced Sicilian red. Liked it lots. Will be back again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seawrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brawn's of Cowes also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing