We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mimosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mimosa Lodge
Ranked #1 of 29 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
aylesbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Jeremy and Sally gave us a very warm and friendly welcome. They were most genial and helpful hosts who went the extra mile to make sure we got the most from our stay. By the end of the weekend we felt more like house guests rather than paying guests.

Our bedroom was warm, comfortable and well furnished. The en suite bathroom was a good size with a great shower and a lovely deep bath – and an unobtrusive fan! It also had a window – always a good idea!

Breakfasts were all you could possibly require. Fresh fruits, yoghurts, porridge, etc, along with the usual cooked offerings (as much as possible locally sourced) and the most wonderful hot, chunky, crisp toast from an artisan baker’s loaf. Scrummy!

On top of that, we were treated to a mesmerising breakfast show on the garden lawns given by a green woodpecker and a handsome red squirrel! Not sure how Sally and Jeremy arranged that but it was delightful!

The house was a little difficult to find in the dark but once there, it was well worth finding. It was a little oasis.

Room Tip: We required a ground floor room - and this was ideal for us. Very quiet and peaceful too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbottAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
189
15
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Although slightly difficult to find in the dark we arrived to a warm, friendly reception and soon discovered that this is a superbly run B & B, We stayed in the large room at the top of the house. This was very well decorated, exceptionally clean and a comfortable king size bed looking out over the Sea. The bathroom was warm and friendly with an enormous walk in shower and full size bath.

The breakfast was delicious and plenty of variation on the menu to have something different every morning of our 3 night stay. There is plenty of off road parking.

Our hostess was wonderful and made our stay very relaxing. We have stayed at many different hotels and B & B's on the island but this has to be the best so far. We will no doubt return soon.

Room Tip: Any room will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkhirePudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stay in many B&B establishments with my current job role and feel that my recent stay at the Mimosa Lodge exceeded all expectations re some of the standards I have encountered over the years! For holiday or business, this is the place to stay and a very warm welcome will greet you upon your arrival!

The rooms are spacious, well equipped and of an excellent standard that you would find in some top class London hotels. Within easy reach of Cowes it is ideally located and within easy reach of all the ferries that go to the Island.

Breakfast is of an exceptional high quality using local produce where possible and plentiful to those who have a large appetite.

I highly recommend this establishment and book early as this is only their first year in the business and I feel their reputation will ensure that rooms are booked up quickly.

Thank you for such a pleasant and comfortable stay!

Room Tip: All of such a high standard, would be difficult to choose one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed for one night on 12 October to go to a Wedding Reception in Cowes. Beautiful building and our downstairs twin room was spotless, light and airy. For me, little touches they provided set it apart from other B&B's I have stayed in (fluffy bathrobes, fresh coffee making facilities and amply stocked bookshelf). The service was absolutely excellent, we were offered fresh coffee on arrival, and a lift into town to save us a taxi ride. Breakfast was delicious, lovely fresh fruit salad and we opted for the full English breakfast which again, was delicious. Would recommend to anyone, and should we find ourselves on the Isle of Wight again, we would certainly be booking here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennieb2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weymouth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed at mimosa lodge 22nd September to 27th September. There hosting skills were exceptional and nothing was to much trouble. First class customer service all round couldn't fault accommodation and plentiful breakfast. Tea making facilities in room and good variety of beverages. Spacious room with very comfortable beds. Top class all round and will stay again if we visit Isle of Wight again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeymouthTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in the lovely ground floor twin room. All the facilities are excellent and the bed very comfortable. The house is very nice and the gardens attractive, and Jeremy and Sally are very helpful with lifts etc. The walk into (or from) Cowes town is pleasant and not too onerous - except when it's pouring with rain!
Breakfast was delicious, with good quality ingredients. All in all, a great B&B and we would definitely book again next time - hoping for better weather!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here to be close to my sister's wedding venue. Sally and Jeremy are the amazing owners of this lovely place.The service they give is exceptional. Travel details from Glasgow were e-mailed. Sally was waiting for us when we stepped off the ferry, she took us to the terminal when we checked out, and also offered to help with transport during our stay. Jeremy did our online check in for us as well as printing out return ferry and train timetables. Our room was perfect as were our lovely breakfasts. A very comfortable bed meant that we had a great week-end. Thanks again to our lovely hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRANDAD55FA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Caledon Guest House
0.5 mi away
Onefifty Cowes
Onefifty Cowes
#2 of 29 in Cowes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
11.2 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Lodge

Property: Mimosa Lodge
Address: 59 Baring Road, Cowes PO31 8DW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimosa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4star Gold Award Bed & Breakfast, peaceful location, near to the centre of Cowes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mimosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Lodge Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing