We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mimosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mimosa Lodge
Ranked #1 of 29 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Sally made both my wife and I feel very welcomed. Based on the beautiful images of her house I booked the large double bedroom with balcony which had a lovely vantage point to admire the surround views over the water. Without any hesitation we will definitely book again next time we visit the Island. On a personal note, even before we arrived Sally had gone that extra mile to help me arrange surprise dinner/dancing night out. Sally has a great source of local knowledge, I can safely say "What Sally doesn't know about the Island is properly not worth knowing"

Room Tip: It won't take long before Mimosa Lodge gets over-subscribed due to it's popularity
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RoyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
189
15
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We booked the large double room with balcony at short notice for one night. Great communication from Sally giving check in details and specifics on how to find Mimosa Lodge. There was plenty of off road parking and a warm welcome upon arrival.

The room was fabulous and we were so glad we decided to up the ante a little for the sea view. Too cold to make use of the balcony but an amazing panoramic view of the Solent with all the maritime traffic and twinkling lights in the evening. The bed was huge, incredibly comfortable and we slept very well indeed. A nice touch was the quality of the drinks in the room. Not your usual instant coffee here but a single cup cafetiere and a tin of proper ground coffee. Yum! The en suite bathroom was very spacious and well appointed with a fab "raincloud" shower as well as a bathtub.

Breakfast was great! The quality of the food was excellent and the coffee was nice and strong and just as it should be. It was clear that the owners put an awful lot of effort into sourcing great produce. Wonderful granary toast, zingy freshly squeezed orange juice and poached eggs with the deepest yellow yolks we had seen in a long time. It's the little things that make the difference :-)

All in all we would highly recommend Mimosa Lodge. An excellent stay in great surroundings and worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I booked a few days over Xmas and New Year. The weather was ATROCIOUS!!! No matter though, the room we had booked was exceedingly comfortable, excellent views of passing shipping bound for Southampton and a brilliant full English every day. If I can I will definitely book again but it will have to be in Summer.

Room Tip: Book the upstairs room with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank colwyn_grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Despite our stay only being a brief overnight we found the room and en-suite very comfortable and welcoming. Warm, clean, lights and spacious with a well appointed en-suite with bath and shower cubicle.
Although the December weather was not at its best the gardens look well laid out and maintained and there was a pleasant view out over the Solent.
Would we recomend - yes
Stay again - yes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cwinte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I am sat on the edge of our bed enjoying the view of the sea on albeit a murky day. I booked this room for the purpose of a romantic weekend away and it has exceeded all my expectations. All the trip advisor reviews I read we're outstanding and not without reason. We arrived late on Thursday and were greeted by Sally the owner who could not have been more welcoming. Over the past 3 days we have enjoyed the room with all it's little touches such as fresh milk each time we return, complimentary water and chocolate treat, clean and comfy towels and freshly made made up bed. The bed is large and comfy and offers views of the tree tops at the end of the garden and sea beyond. The bathroom is amazing with a remote control wet room and double ended bath. Breakfast was hearty and perfectly proportioned each day with the choice of fresh fruit, cooked full English and salmon and eggs. Last but not least both Sally and Jeremy have been exceptionally helpful, informative and generous with their time. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here and can not think of a better b&b that I have been too. To top it all off my girlfriend is now my fiancé and so a perfect weekend and one that normally only exists in dreams.

Room Tip: We chose the the balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Knoyle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Even though we were accommodated at very short notice (our original B&B had let us down and Mimosa Lodge took us in), the welcome could not have been warmer. The room was extremely comfortable and clean. The full English breakfast was fantastic. The service relaxed and friendly - Sally and Jeremy couldn't have done more. We even saw red squirrels in the garden! A really enjoyable stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
783 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Mimosa Lodge is a lovely, up-market B&B. My room was a good size and had all that I could need. The bed was very comfortable. As I was on business, I was pleased that there was a well-lit desk area to write at. The bath room had a large bath and separate shower. The towels and bathrobe were of a beautiful quality, as was the bed linen. There were nice luxurious touches, like White Company toiletries. The host is very kind, offering to pick you up from the ferry (which would otherwise be a 15 minute walk from central Cowes) and even offered a welcoming cup of tea. Breakfast was cooked to perfection, with a generous helping of eggs, bacon, sausages, mushrooms and tomato. Much of the food is locally sourced, which was a nice touch. And it was lovely to be able to eat breakfast while looking out over the Solent. I can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Caledon Guest House
0.5 mi away
Onefifty Cowes
Onefifty Cowes
#2 of 29 in Cowes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
11.2 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Lodge

Property: Mimosa Lodge
Address: 59 Baring Road, Cowes PO31 8DW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimosa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4star Gold Award Bed & Breakfast, peaceful location, near to the centre of Cowes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mimosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Lodge Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing