We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Restaurant !!!”
Review of The Basque Kitchen

The Basque Kitchen
Ranked #6 of 62 Restaurants in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Restaurant !!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This fairly new Basque Restaurant is situated towards the river Medina end of Cowes. It's superb choice of menu caters for decent and varied tapas dishes and main courses. The ambience is superb, the staff friendly & efficient,the food fresh, very well presented and cooked. The prices are very reasonab;le given the quality. At the rear of the restaurant is a lovely sheltered outside Mediterranean style seating area. We booked a table for 4 last Saturday and were delighted with the whole experience - we shall be using this restaurant again. I have no relationship with the restaurant owners or the staff. This is an honest assessment from somebody who enjoys good food in good surroundings. Thank you Amabi !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWillison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    56
    19
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very long wait”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had drinks before at Amabi, but this time we wanted a quick bite and ordered a two platters. We had children with us and there is no children menu or anything that is even suitable for kids on their menu. So, we didn't want to spend a very long time there and thought the platters sound nice and easy and fast to make... Another table just finished their food as we ordered ours so I do not know why it took such an awful long time for these to arrive, as our order must've been the only one at that time! Of course, once on the table wasn't very hard to see that everything on the platters were from jars or cans. As expected but then again it doesn't justify the long wait. The bread was very nice, very thin slices of warm ciabatta - four on each platter. The oil was too much on the wooden board and got spilt on the table. It says on the menu "platter for two" so it should be enough for two people as starters I suppose, but is not enough, so the price of £12.75 is a bit steep. The service was very cold from the two young waiters and the young man that I paid my bill to, at the end did not make eye contact or asked how the meal was... However the lovely waitress/manager with a lovely accent was very friendly and knowledgeable. Maybe the staff needs training, or have a friendlier attitude which can be expected when working in hospitality...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank carl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have eaten here a few times now and it never fails to impress. The food is delicious and the staff have always been very friendly and attentive. The atmosphere is wonderful...feels like you're on holiday and can sit back and relax no matter what the weather!would highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hansi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly service and loverly food !”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Having eaten in many of the restaurants in Cowes we decided to try Amabi and it was definitely worth it ! The decor and atmosphere were very pleasant. The waiting staff were both knowledgeable and helpful without being pushy. We had the fish starter for two and it was possibly the nicest fish dish I have had. Main course we had Tapas and again cooked perfectly. Reasonably priced we will definitely return.

Chris

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delicious wagyu steaks!!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had an offer from The Price is Wight for a wagyu steak dinner at half price. Selected a couple of delicious tapas dishes to start then eagerly awaited the wagyu steaks. When they came they were cooked to perfection (medium rare) and were absolutely delicious. A nice bottle of Spanish red to wash it down. Friendly staff. Nice ambience. Lovely evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ImATravelJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Basque Kitchen also viewed

 
Cowes, Isle of Wight
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Basque Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing