We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Totties

Totties
Ranked #46 of 62 Restaurants in Cowes
Cuisines: Fast food, Pizza, British
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Totties was once a chippy and has the traditional style fryer. Ordered jumbo sausage and chips as well as fish and chips. Order took ages, you have to wait. Chips are the worst ever, their version of a jumbo sausage is two small sausages and the fish was utterly disgusting! Batter was rubbish and the fish had no flavour whatsoever. It tasted very watery!!

Food is way overpriced too. Extremely disappointing seemings the premises is so close to the sea. A much better chippy is just along the shops by sainsburys.

Avoid !! P.s. The receipts have the wrong date and time too and when you ask why they just say that's how they print out lol. What a receipt in May saying January is acceptable then ?!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    3
    3
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not the best either.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Was in Cowes last week for a walk round (took all of about 40 mins btw, nothing really in Cowes, especially this time of year !), and on the way back to the car went in this chippy for the first time, never really knew it was there before.
As someone put in a review, you have to wait for the chips to be cooked, was none ready, I ordered small sausage with my chips, came to 3 quid but had to wait about 10 mins. The foriegn bloke serving in there seemed very grumpy, not making eye contact, no conversation, no smile, I felt like shouting at him GO GET ANOTHER JOB IF YOU DON'T WANT TO BE HERE ! !
So not a very welcoming experience when you are in the place.

Food and portion size was ok, not the best i've had but also not the worst.

If in Cowes and you want chips, I recommend Corrie's Cabin over this joint. (Its up the other end of the TOWN ?)

I eat in chip shops alot, so have tried out loads of different places , ones high on my recommendation list include Oggies in Newport Town Square, Chubby's In Shanklin town, Stotesbury's up Nodehill in Newport, and the one over Pan Estate, get gigantic portions over there, AND AT LEAST THEY ALL SMILE WHEN SERVING YOU AND TAKING YOUR MONEY, WHICH IS MORE THAN THIS PLACE DOES !

Overall, it was ok, but would not rush back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gatesy150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible chips!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Been here on several occasions and was disappointed. You have to wait for the chips to be cooked every time. The chips are overpriced and taste horrible! Also, when I asked for ketchup, I asked for it to be put on the side, but they still put it all over!

Food hygiene is particularly poor.

Helpful?
Thank willoughbym98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Reliable cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Your standard chippie - jumbo cod and fishcakes are usually good - as has been pointed out they don't do "wallies", ie gherkins. We've asked them to stock them but no luck so far!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Worst chips in the World”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Sampled a fish cake and chips tonight from this establishment.................by far the worst on Planet Earth. Overcooked (or cooked for a 'second' or even 'third' (?) time around perhaps ?) Greasy & 'hard' . Most had to be thrown away. Fish cake nearly broke my crowns !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barefootvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Totties also viewed

Isle of Wight, England
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 
Cowes, Isle of Wight
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Totties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing