We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just lovely, everything we needed and more.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cowes, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elsnmol
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Room for improvement!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Having read all the fantastic reviews for this cottage we were really looking forward to our stay. I don't want to be negative and everyone's ideas on comfort and cleanliness are different, but we did have a few issues that made it not so pleasant. The stairs are very steep which you expect in a cottage but I had to go out and buy slippers for myself and my children because every time we walked on the stairs we trod on the carpet grippers and it really hurt your feet. You couldn't seem to avoid them.

The kitchen was well equipped, although the dishwasher advertised on the booklet inside the cottage didn't work.

The cottage wasn't quite as clean as previous reviews had stated. Sofas seemed dusty, cobwebs in bathroom from the shower cubicle to the wall. Cobwebs down the side of the fridge and sink, floor in kitchen not very clean and the wooden, kitchen work tops and table had a sticky feel to them.

The bedding though was very clean and so were the towels.

Our biggest issue was the actual bed in the master bedroom that made it the worst part of our stay. You could feel every lump, bump and spring in the bed. Not quite sure how old this mattress is but it definitely needs replacing. The metal framed bed was so noisy that every time you moved, it woke you up. Myself and my husband woke with backache every morning and we didn't sleep much after 4am each morning because of the discomfort. I have to say that we left a night early and paid extra to get on a ferry so we could go home and sleep in our own bed.

The location of this cottage is great, easy to find and the owner was very informative when we booked our stay. I just feel there could be a few improvements made to make this a better stay for others.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2014
Thank you for your postive review of the cottages location (it's the one thing I would be able to change) and my communication with you regarding your booking.

Your feedback regarding the other matters is very valuable to me. I'm only sorry that you didn't let me know about your concerns whislt you were staying. As many points could have been dealt with straight away, ie the cobwebs or dusty sofa.

In fact, as soon as I found out about the dishwasher it was fixed that morning. Regarding the other points you have mentioned, please be assured I will look into them. Although the mattress has only been used for less than a year and is a quality orthopaedic mattress.

Thank you once again for your constructive and detailed feedback. Bringing all these points to my attention can only help improve the stay of others in the cottage.

Richard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfbus75
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just lovely, everything we needed and more.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A beautiful cottage with a pretty,sunny garden.Ideally located close to the chain ferry to reach East Cowes and the ferry to the mainland.Great owner communication but not intrusive and lots of thoughtful touches to make a holiday really special, many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoveWine
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Gorgeous.....again!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We revisited the very beautiful Isle of Wight and decided to rebook the cottage in Cowes. Its so handy for the passenger ferry, being only minutes away. The cottage itself remains very cosy, tastefully decorated in beautiful furniture and decorative items. We spent many an evening in the garden which has blossomed since our last visit. Its so peaceful and lovely. What I like about staying here was the very short walk (or stumble in our case...hic!) to Cowes high street its minutes away. I would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni H
1 review
“Perfect weekend away”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Lovely, quaint little cottage in a fabulous part of the Isle of Wight. Nice little garden and very friendly neighbours. Will defiantly be returning and booking this cottage again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie663
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, lovely and clean cottage”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our stay in this cottage everything was as it said it would be - clean, cosy, great location and Richard was very helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: stairs too steep
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePea...
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was lovely. Well equipped and as described. With the added bonus of Sky TV and wifi. The cottage is just lovely, plenty of space with a great shower room and comfy bed. It is really well located close to pubs and bars and the main high street in Cowes. You can even walk to the passenger ferry. The harbour and chain link ferry to East Cowes are also a very short walk. It's a great location to explore from. We took our car and had no problems parking in the street. It's not right outside but far better than we expected. We always parked in the street only feet away from the cottage but there is also a car park and other nearby streets too. Lastly a great and very helpful owner, Richard. We will definitely be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2014
Thank you for your review. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmeny
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant stay”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is lovely, It's been kept In good condition and has a wonderful garden to relax in. It is ideally situated in Cowes West for the ferry and busses as well as a bountyfull high street, It is also near the chain ferry to Cowes East for Osbourne house. The kitchen and toilet were modern and worked well. It had steep stairs so maybe tricky for people with disabilities. Good communication form the owner too and there were leaflets for all the tourist sights which helps. A most comfortable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$119
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing