We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fountain Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Really nice place and well decorated. They have gone the extra mile and in making this such a great value lovely hotel. No complaints whatsoever. Breakfast was filling and a great selection. Car parking is an issue but if you do your homework there's a car park down the road and on the esplanade sea front.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesworth1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review of The Fountain. We are glad we met your expectations during your visit and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    110
    55
    45
    27
See reviews for
38
138
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Loved the way we were welcomed. Room beautifully decorated and comfortable. Dinner was excellent - good selection of vegetarian food. Breakfast included good range of cooked selections. Could help self to fruit, cereals, pastries, juices. Coffee refills offered regularly. Staff were all so friendly and happy! A pleasure staying there and would visit again. Strongly recommend it. We had reduced rates as late booking - very much worth it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear you found our team friendly and helpful & that you had a great stay with us, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Expensive, poorly kept beers substatiated with mediocre service, fried food and an ambience which resembles and oap home. Plenty of boiled food if your teeth cant take it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for your constructive review. I am sorry you didn't receive the high level of customer service we pride ourselves here at The Fountain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cowes hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We had a great weekend break here. The staff were generally friendly and helpful. The duty manager on reception when we arrived on friday pm was particularly helpful, printing us a map for car parking etc. He seemed to work very hard in all areas -and always with a smile..a good example to others working there.
Positives:
-A very comfortable room with an efficient shower, well stocked tea/coffee facilties
-Excellent breakfasts with a good choice: freshly prepared fruit, nice choice of cooked breakfasts
-Nicely positioned old world hotel in the centre of Cowes
-Comfortable dining room and hotel bar
-Good basic food and wine, keenly priced
-Very willing and cheerful staff
Negatives:
-Some room noise -mainly due to central location (near the fast ferry terminal)
-Parking (you need to use pay and display car parks nearby)
-The bar can attract some 'riff-raff'
Overall, we were very pleased with our experience...The above negatives are largely outside the control of hotel staff, who in our view did a great job!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review we are glad you enjoyed your weekend break with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Stayed here overnight while on a boat trip. Hotel is right near the marina and close to all the restaurants and pubs.
Had a superior room, which was a good size, recently nicely decorated and warm, which was particularly welcome after a day on the boat.
Bed was probably the most comfortable I have ever slept in.
Good quality TV picture, something which is often neglected.
Breakfast was very good. A bit of black pudding would have made it perfect.
Good, fast wi-fi in restaurant and bar, but struggles to reach all the rooms.

Room Tip: Room 11 was excellent, but corner table is the only place you can get wi-fi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Fountain and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a late booking at a substantially reduced charge on the normal room rates being low season. Since our last visit the hotel has been redecorated and was much improved. We had upgraded to the superior room for an additional charge of £10 and it was well worth this slight extra cost. It was extremely spacious, really a suite with a seating area of sofa and two chairs, a desk, large flat screen TV and spacious en- suite. It was tastefully decorated and furnished and very comfortable. Being a public house you have the advantage of being able to dine or enjoy a drink in the lounge bar in the evenings or lunchtimes. We did not eat there in this occasion but there was a good range o n the menu and there were meal deals on offer.
My only slight reservation was that this room was located right by a fire door which was I in use by a all guests passing to all the other rooms. We could hear it closing to which could disturb light sleepers as could we hear the buses passing under the nearby arch to the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Very impressed with the fountain inn. Staff very friendly and polite. Brilliant location. Room has been recently refurbed with a antique traditional type style - very nice and more like a 4 star hotel than a 3 star BB. Very handy location too and brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
North House
North House
#4 of 5 in Cowes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
12.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Property: The Fountain Inn
Address: High Street, Cowes PO31 7AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Cowes
Fountain Hotel Cowes
The Fountain Inn Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing