We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”
Review of The Fountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fountain Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Lovely hotel approximately one minute's walk from the Ferry terminal. We were impressed with the place itself and the staff. The food was excellent, superb value and large portions! It is an old place and some of the reviews under this do have a point. It is on the high street so not perfectly quiet. Its an old place so creaky doors etc. But if you want a sterile modern hotel, use the travel lodge. This place has character and for the price we paid (both accommodation and for an evening meal) I really think this offers excellent value for money. The only addition I would make is in relation to the person below stating you should refuse room 15. We weren't in that room so cannot comment, but (assuming it was the same guest) we were there when he brought it to the attention of Chris (who we presume was the manager) in the dining room at breakfast. Uninterested? I'm afraid not - he was highly apologetic and went immediately to try and sort the problem in the kitchen acting in a most professional manner. My thanks to all the staff who made our stay very enjoyable

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelanddebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

What a lovely stay again we have had at The Fountain.

We visit twice a year and have to say the rooms are comfortable, clean and all the staff are always nice.

Food is good, main courses from 5 pounds, very reliable ( see other review)

All in all a cracking gem of a hotel..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeyfeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I don't know what the other rooms were like and if we hadn't have checked in so late in the evening we would have gone elsewhere. The room smelt badly of cooking food and the sash windows didn't stay up to get some air in. We asked if we could have another room but it was full.
They brought us up a fan which we put by the window and put a mug under the window to keep it open a little. There were a few flys that were hard to get rid of and in the end we left them.
The room itself , although very small was fine for decor and the bathroom was clean but all night long the fans from the kitchen below were cutting in and out keeping us awake.
We spoke to the reception on checking out but the two ladies on the desk were uninterested in our complaints.
It is a shame really as the pub itself [Old English Inn] was fine but we wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Just avoid the rooms at the back near the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Fountain Inn is in a perfect location at the centre of Cowes. Excellent service, great value and lovely rooms. Due to its location guests should expect there to be outside noise but rooms near the bus stop are a problem which perhaps secondary double glazing could resolve. In spite of this, The Fountain should be the top place to stay BUT no one seems willing or able to adjust the door closers on room and fire doors so they bang everytime they close! Not good through the night or in the early hours of the morning. What an own goal!

Come on Chris, all it needs is a handyman or carpenter with a screwdriver to adjust all the door closers to close slow and gentle into the frame - it can be done. We own a B&B which has more than 20 doors with closers and not one of them bangs when closed so we do know what we're talking about! Our room was a little dusty too so maybe the housekeeping staff need a pep talk too.

The Fountain has great potential but needs a little more attention to detail.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms fronting the street are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenPhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed for one night in room 19 on a Friday night at the end of our holiday. Nice waterside location, fabulous food served downstairs, probably the best meal we'd had all week actually! We were warned on booking that the pub next door had live music til midnight but we didn't hear it from our room anyway but it was nice to be warned! Staff are very friendly and nothing seems too much trouble. The room was on the third floor - bit of a climb with suitcases but then you had no one above you either to wake you up. Only a few niggles about the room. It was very warm in the room and the sash window had been 'modified' to only open a few inches so it was quite a restless night. The room was decorated to a high standard - quite funky in design but let down a little by the cleanliness of the bathroom. Not sure grouting should be brown?! The bed was like a big marshmallow, soft and squishy. Not a bad thing, my boyfriend loved it but if you prefer a firmer bed like me it may not be your preference. We were offered help with our bags, alarm call etc so everything was provided we needed. Breakfast was buffet style and a hot menu. Plenty to eat and again staff were polite and helpful. Only a short drive to ferry the next day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samantha h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Amazing value for Sunday night offer in August - a twin and single room B&B for £60 total! My single room #6 was a generously sized room with comfy double bed, recently refurbed. A few minor niggles - the window didn't open which isn't really good news in summer although a fan is provided. Also the bathroom door stuck on the floor and doesn't open fully. These might get irritating during a longer stay but for the price and quality of the furnishings no complaints. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast was very good choice and quality - the food didn't quite arrive as ordered but the friendly service more than made up for it. No parking on site and best option is to use the seafront parking a few mins walk away. Overall a great stay in nice rooms with a good breakfast at a fab price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The hotel bedrooms have been recently refurbished and my husband and I had a twin room on the 3rd floor which was a bit of a climb but it was very well equipped and designed with modern clean lines. Our son had one with lots of furnishings, decor and lights which was a bit OTT! However, although it was close to the ferry terminal and other pubs we did have a good night's sleep. The only downside is finding nearby parking. Breakfast was good, generous and efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your excellent review. We are really pleased you had a great stay at The Fountain & we look forward to seeing you soon!

Chris Francis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.1 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
12.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Address: High Street, Cowes PO31 7AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range: £46 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Cowes
Fountain Hotel Cowes
The Fountain Inn Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing