We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fountain Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$134
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$49
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
92
127
62
51
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
127
62
51
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred jetsuperior roomferry terminalfire doorshandy locationhigh streettop floorisle of wightbath and showercomfy bedexcellent staysunday lunchfull englisheast cowesjoe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Lovely hotel approximately one minute's walk from the Ferry terminal. We were impressed with the place itself and the staff. The food was excellent, superb value and large portions! It is an old place and some of the reviews under this do have a point. It is on the high street so not perfectly quiet. Its an old place so creaky doors etc. But if you want a sterile modern hotel, use the travel lodge. This place has character and for the price we paid (both accommodation and for an evening meal) I really think this offers excellent value for money. The only addition I would make is in relation to the person below stating you should refuse room 15. We weren't in that room so cannot comment, but (assuming it was the same guest) we were there when he brought it to the attention of Chris (who we presume was the manager) in the dining room at breakfast. Uninterested? I'm afraid not - he was highly apologetic and went immediately to try and sort the problem in the kitchen acting in a most professional manner. My thanks to all the staff who made our stay very enjoyable

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelanddebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

What a lovely stay again we have had at The Fountain.

We visit twice a year and have to say the rooms are comfortable, clean and all the staff are always nice.

Food is good, main courses from 5 pounds, very reliable ( see other review)

All in all a cracking gem of a hotel..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeyfeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I don't know what the other rooms were like and if we hadn't have checked in so late in the evening we would have gone elsewhere. The room smelt badly of cooking food and the sash windows didn't stay up to get some air in. We asked if we could have another room but it was full.
They brought us up a fan which we put by the window and put a mug under the window to keep it open a little. There were a few flys that were hard to get rid of and in the end we left them.
The room itself , although very small was fine for decor and the bathroom was clean but all night long the fans from the kitchen below were cutting in and out keeping us awake.
We spoke to the reception on checking out but the two ladies on the desk were uninterested in our complaints.
It is a shame really as the pub itself [Old English Inn] was fine but we wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Just avoid the rooms at the back near the kitchen.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Fountain Inn is in a perfect location at the centre of Cowes. Excellent service, great value and lovely rooms. Due to its location guests should expect there to be outside noise but rooms near the bus stop are a problem which perhaps secondary double glazing could resolve. In spite of this, The Fountain should be the top place to stay BUT no one seems willing or able to adjust the door closers on room and fire doors so they bang everytime they close! Not good through the night or in the early hours of the morning. What an own goal!

Come on Chris, all it needs is a handyman or carpenter with a screwdriver to adjust all the door closers to close slow and gentle into the frame - it can be done. We own a B&B which has more than 20 doors with closers and not one of them bangs when closed so we do know what we're talking about! Our room was a little dusty too so maybe the housekeeping staff need a pep talk too.

The Fountain has great potential but needs a little more attention to detail.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms fronting the street are quietest.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenPhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed for one night in room 19 on a Friday night at the end of our holiday. Nice waterside location, fabulous food served downstairs, probably the best meal we'd had all week actually! We were warned on booking that the pub next door had live music til midnight but we didn't hear it from our room anyway but it was nice to be warned! Staff are very friendly and nothing seems too much trouble. The room was on the third floor - bit of a climb with suitcases but then you had no one above you either to wake you up. Only a few niggles about the room. It was very warm in the room and the sash window had been 'modified' to only open a few inches so it was quite a restless night. The room was decorated to a high standard - quite funky in design but let down a little by the cleanliness of the bathroom. Not sure grouting should be brown?! The bed was like a big marshmallow, soft and squishy. Not a bad thing, my boyfriend loved it but if you prefer a firmer bed like me it may not be your preference. We were offered help with our bags, alarm call etc so everything was provided we needed. Breakfast was buffet style and a hot menu. Plenty to eat and again staff were polite and helpful. Only a short drive to ferry the next day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samantha h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews