We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely winter retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albert Cottage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed here for five nights with my partner. The room was lovely - large but cosy, with huge bathroom.
Everything was scrupulously clean, and we received a fresh supply of large fluffy towels daily.
The bathroom had a shower, easily big enough for two, and a bath, with the most fantastic water pressure I have ever found in a hotel. The shower temperature, however, had a range that varied between hot and very hot, so in summer it may not be so pleasant.
A couple of small niggles with the room itself were that no iron/board or bar fridge were supplied. An iron and board were delivered promptly on request, incuding a very hi-tech iron which made the chore very easy. For our relatively long stay a small fridge would have been a bonus. I visited the local Waitrose for picnic-lunch items, rather than splurge on lunch out every day, and wasn't able to keep anything fresh for longer than a couple of days. I wasn't able to buy beer or white wine with no way to chill it, but suspect that a solution would have been found by staff had I asked.
The staff made us both feel very welcome, and looked after our every request promptly and with a smile, so overall a very pleasant stay and hope to return. The points above are really nit-picking and did not detract from my enjoyment of the stay.
Visitors should bear in mind that apart from Osbourne House (not open on weekdays during winter), there isn't a whole lot to do in Cowes, however Ryde and Newport are nearby for shopping and more choices of dining, and Portsmouth can be easily reached (20 mins by catamaran from Ryde) for a day out visiting the historical ships.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17thousandkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

Had a great 2 night stay last week at this lovely hotel,food excellent.Very friendly and helpful staff, great location and the rooms are of a high standard,very plush.Would highly recommend for a stay on the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: Room1 for real luxury but all rooms of a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I stayed here for a week whilst on business........this is a fantastic hotel. The room was very large and even had a leather sofa by the TV so I wasnt just sat on the bed all the time (I have stayed in more expensive hotels and the rooms were no where near as grand as the one I had), the bathroom as well was very spacious.........the food was very tasty (do nott expect big portions). The staff were helpful and friendly and could not do enough. I will be bringing the wife here in high season as when I was there Cowes was dead at night and not much to do.

Considering I was here for a week by myself I did not feel boxed in due to the size of the room and grounds so I would imagine a nights stay would be fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimevz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We have not yet stayed at the hotel for a holiday but we have dined in the restaurant here twice. Once part of the Osborne House estate this delightful hotel is open to non residents for lunch and dinner. The food here is beautifully prepared, cooked and presented. The staff were attentive without being invasive and the menu is reasonably priced at around £25 per head for three courses/dinner. We shall definitely be returning -hopefully for an overnight stay next time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayhaunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed for only one night in room 7 . What a lovely room ,lovely bed, lovely decor, want to go back ! We also had Sunday lunch, 10/10 had a job to walk after ! Just had to eat everything put in front of us ,very high standard . This Hotel is very near to Osborne House, and is the former home of Queen Victoria`s daughter Princess Beatrice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiggy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Myself and my bride Laura got married at Albert Cottage in July 2011. We chose to have exclusive use of the hotel for 24 hours for family and friends. The price for the wedding overall was very competitive especially when you consider that this is a beautiful setting with lovely grounds and great rooms facilities and food.

We had an amazing time, the staff were excellent, Manager Richard and our personal contact Kat, did everything to make our day smooth. We loved how we didn't have to worry about anything at all on the day as all of the key elements from the ceremony to the toasts to the cutting of the cake and the evening buffet were all co-ordinated by the hotel team.

So, to summarise, the service was perfect, the rooms are amazing (with each having it's own character), the location near the ferry port from Southampton and Osborne House was spot on and the food is top notch. We could not have asked for more and we would recommend Albert Cottage to anyone. It's perfect for a meal, a weekend stay or a wedding!!!

Thanks to everyone at the hotel for making our day perfect. We'll always remember you!

Patrick & Laura

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

this was our wedding venue for 2009 and its lovely. all in all great service, perfect location..

I am also a photographer so have shot alot of weddings here also.. a great choice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weddingfolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
1.2 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
95 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
945 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
97 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Cottage Hotel

Address: York Avenue, Cowes PO32 6BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range: £98 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert Cottage Hotel in East Cowes on the Isle of Wight was once part of Queen Victoria’s Osborne Estate. The Grade II listed building - set in two acres of gardens - is now a stylish ten bedroom hotel and home of the Consort Restaurant, with a fine reputation for its affordable à la carte menu. At Albert Cottage Hotel you can enjoy a relaxing stay, freshly cooked food and explore the beautiful Isle of Wight. The hotel is also an ideal venue for weddings, celebrations, meetings and conferences. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, you're assured a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Albert Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Cottage Hotel Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing