We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“90th Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albert Cottage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I booked the private dining room here for my Dad's 90th Birthday celebrations. From start to finish the staff could not have been more helpful. The events manager was excellent and kept me informed every step of the way. The menu choices were varied and suited everyone and the price was very reasonable. There were children in the party and we were able to request some changes to their choices. On the actual evening the waiting staff assigned to us were discreet and professional. Everything went very smoothly and I would definitely use this venue again. My brother and his family booked into a family suite in the hotel for the night and it was perfect for them . The children had a separate room within the suite and the master bedroom was very spacious. It was a perfect venue for the occasion and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Albert cottage was a very good stay! The staff were more than helpful and made sure we were totally catered for. The breakfast was amazing and the décor sublime. Really enjoyed the stay here. Totally recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillWallace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our second year for a Christmas dinner do - and again the menu was superb and the price was fantastic. On the evening service was as usual a very high standard, ad excellent venue for any event throughout the year not just the Christmas time.
Will now look forward to Valentines day as they do a great package of dining with overnight stay.

Room Tip: Ask for quieter rooms not facing road if you have a preference to that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the first time as part of a family booking for a special celebration and we had a lovely time. We weren't disappointed on our return visit. The hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and hope to return again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Travelled to IOW on business which required an overnight stay near Cowes and Newport. Driven past this Hotel on a number of occasions and decided to try it out. I was given a clean, elegant room with fantastic shower. Excellent English breakfast with pleasant staff. Fine by me, no problems to report!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Was met by a very friendly and helpful lady on reception who checked us in and showed us to our room. We had been advised in advance that the restaurant would be closed and she helped us with suggestions for dinner.
We stayed in room 7 which was huge. Very comfortable bed. Coffee and tea tray provided in the room and bottled water which was replenished daily. TV and free internet in the room. Nice ensuite shower room (no bath) with the biggest bath sheets ever. The room is at the front of the hotel and as we had the windows open there was a bit of road noise. The only negative there is no lift and there is a steep flight of stairs to climb. Breakfast was delicious and a good choice freshly cooked to order.
I definitely hope to return again in the near future

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a long weekend with our 2 year old daughter, our room (4) was more than we had imagined, luxurious and comfortable they even gave us an adjoining single room in similar style for our daughter to use at no extra cost. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Breakfast was excellent just a shame evening meals have stopped. The hotel is historic and stunning and the grounds beautiful. Great value for money, will definitely come back one day.

Room Tip: Room 4, Victorian style and very comfortable with a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyMunro2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
1.2 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
102 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
954 reviews
3 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
10 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Cottage Hotel

Address: York Avenue, Cowes PO32 6BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range: £100 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert Cottage Hotel in East Cowes on the Isle of Wight was once part of Queen Victoria’s Osborne Estate. The Grade II listed building - set in two acres of gardens - is now a stylish ten bedroom hotel and home of the Consort Restaurant, with a fine reputation for its affordable à la carte menu. At Albert Cottage Hotel you can enjoy a relaxing stay, freshly cooked food and explore the beautiful Isle of Wight. The hotel is also an ideal venue for weddings, celebrations, meetings and conferences. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, you're assured a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Albert Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Cottage Hotel Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing