We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an unexpectedly lovely country house hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albert Cottage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2010

This was a last minute booking for the night before a sponsored bike ride (in aid of the Mission to Seafarers) round the Isle of Wight. The hotel was just fabulous. They allowed us to put our bikes safely in a covered courtyard, and accommodated us in comfy, spacious rooms with immaculate bathroom facilities and an excellent breakfast to set us off the following morning on our bike ride. Nothing was too much trouble and I can highly recommend this as a base for families to explore the island.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabcat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

Stayed with small family group of adults when we were visiting Osborne House.My room was equisite and had a bathroom you only dream about.........
The staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious.It was served in a small comfortable room with bags of character. On the 1st night we had booked dinner but felt it was overpriced and lacked pzazz!.It was served in a large dining room, which because there was only 8 of us in that night total eating in, lacked atmosphere . One word of warning you are only allowed 2 courses for your DBB price and then charged £6 for your pudding so if you want value go elsewhere eg The Folly Inn like us and get more for your money and a happy friendly less formal atmosphere with a good choice of food.
The rooms do not provide paper tissues or bottled drinking water ( perhaps a cost -cutting exercise that does not befit such grand rooms) so do bring your own.
We would visit the hotel again and indeed hope to do so soon but this time for B/B only.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthCoastBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

This little hotel is wonderful. Well over a year ago, we booked our daughter's wedding at this venue. We needed exclusive use of a facility for the bank holiday weekend and Albert Cottage provided it. At the time, the hotel had just transferred to new ownership.

Last weekend the Wedding took place and it has to be said, the new owners have turned this from a good hotel into an outstanding one. Our guests travelled considerable distances to get to the Island and were really delighted with their rooms.
All of the arrangements were handled with great expertise and everything that the hotel promised, they delivered 110%.

The catering for the Wedding Breakfast was outstanding and and a hot evening buffet for guests was of exactly the same quality and could not be faulted. The hotel has won an award for the standard of breakfast catering and it is thoroughly deserved. No trays of tired sausages here and served by friendly, unobtrusive staff who really did surpass themselves last weekend.

The building was once the home of Queen Victoria's daughter, Princess Beatrice. The interior is beautiful and the outside and the grounds are a delight.. Our party of nearly 80 people had nothing but praise and compliments for every aspect of the hotel. The only downside to it all, was leaving!

It is so rare to find such high standards in a hotel. I have no hesitation in rating this as an excellent venue and its hard to imagine that anyone could be disappointed with a short break or longer holiday in this lovely venue.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RosieIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Small hotel with only 10 rooms. Some rooms have recently been done up, although we stayed in one of the older style rooms.

Modern annex for dining/bar area. Long corridor to reach it. Large grounds and a nice outdoor area outside the bar. Feels quiet and relaxing - definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pysmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

My Husband and I first stayed at The Albert Cottage Hotel in September 2007 for our honeymoon. We did not book but the tourist board put us in touch. We were very pleasantly surprised. Very good first impressions and it just got better when we saw our room. Everything was spotlessly clean and fresh. We had our meals in the restaurant, every bite was heaven. Breakfast was equally amazing. The grounds are lovely to relax in and just a short walk into Cowes. We returned for our anniversary in September 2008 for more of the same and will definately be returning in the future. My only complaint was the food a little expensive. But with the town so close there was no need to eat at the hotel every night.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank headgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

I have stayed in the Hotel 3 times, but didnt realise I hadn't reviewed it.The Albert Cottage is a delightful period Hotel with very comfortable rooms and friendly, helpful staff.This time we had an evening meal at the Hotel which was of a very high standard, served by young people in training for the Hotel trade and very well too.Breakfast is also of a very high standard.This Hotel is not very suitable for wheelchair users as access to the bathroom was through quite a narrow door, in our room.The age of the building prompts me to expect that all rooms are the same.All rooms are on the Ground Floor so are easily accessed.If the bathroom issue could be sorted out I would recommend this Hotel for everyone.There is a distance from the rooms to the Public Area , but this is accessed via a lovely covered walkway. However I use crutches when visiting and find the Hotel fine.
We will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkOPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2007

The Albert Hotel is something of a work in progress. The current owners have in the last year done a great deal to make it a very good quality establishment. The premises are grade 2 listed so there are major restrictions on what can be done with the premises, but despite this the owners have built a modern bar and high quality restaurant in keeping with the old hotel premises. With pleasant gardens as well it is easy to see why they are also marketing it as a wedding venue.

I also liked the fact that this was a relatively small hotel. I think it has about 14 rooms. So it didn't feel like you were staying in some huge corporate standardised hotel. That said, it has the professional feel of a hotel about it. Don't mistake its size for it seeming like a B&B, it doesn't.

The Albert Cottage was the home of Princess Beatrice, the youngest daughter of Queen Victoria, and very conveniently backs on to Queen Victoria's residence Osbourne House (a must see tourist attraction for any holiday makers to the island). So staying at this hotel gives you a real feeling of history. Guest bedrooms are somewhat dated, with chintzy decor and garish '70s carpets, but I gather these will be refurbished during the next year or so, in keeping with the history of the house but to modern tastes and standards. The bathroom in my room seemed much more modern than the bedroom.
The standard of renovation of the restaurant and bar gives the managements plans for refurbishing the rooms a great deal of credibility.

All parts of the hotel were very clean. I had breakfast lunch and dinner there and found the food to be first rate. Staff are friendly, polite and efficient.

I was charged £99 per night single person occupancy full board. I'd be happy to stay there and pay this price again when the rooms have been refurbished, but I'd be looking to pay less in a currently unrenovated room. I would also advocate reserving a room at the rear of the hotel. Rooms at the front are subject to traffic noise, particularly lorries travelling early morning to and from the nearby ferry terminal.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Fomzine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
1.2 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
74 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
899 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
95 reviews
10.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Cottage Hotel

Address: York Avenue, Cowes PO32 6BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range: £120 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert Cottage Hotel in East Cowes on the Isle of Wight was once part of Queen Victoria’s Osborne Estate. The Grade II listed building - set in two acres of gardens - is now a stylish ten bedroom hotel and home of the Consort Restaurant, with a fine reputation for its affordable à la carte menu. At Albert Cottage Hotel you can enjoy a relaxing stay, freshly cooked food and explore the beautiful Isle of Wight. The hotel is also an ideal venue for weddings, celebrations, meetings and conferences. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, you're assured a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Albert Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Cottage Hotel Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing