We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Gurnard Pines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cowes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gurnard Pines
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This accommodation was let down by the standards of cleaning. The bathroom in particular needed attention to the shower head (partially blocked by limescale), and mould in the base. Beds were uncomfortable as the mattresses and pillows were thin.
The chalet was well supplied with cooker, microwave, fridge, freezer as well as cutlery, crockery and table and chairs. The TV was ancient however and had an annoying hum which prevented watching for too long (annoying during the World Cup and Wimbledon!).
The wooden rail to the patio decking was rotten in places, and could be dangerous for children and the unwary.
The site facilities were good with two pools, a gym and tennis court.
Overall the accommodation needed upgrading, deep cleaning and the safety rail replacing.
I would not return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 12Philip22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in the wooden lodges, 3 bedrooms and very spacious. Nice site a bit quiet but we was in late June still. Had a long weekend Fri-mon and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Lots for kids to do on the site. Indoor outdoor pools, playroom, games, tennis etc.
Close to beaches and great restaurants.
Would go again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoBanks72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

this site is yet to disappoint. We had a wonderful 2 bedroom brick built chalet excellent furniture comfortable bed. Our double room had a wonderful ensuite. All very clean, peaceful with red squirrels scurrying through the trees as we sat drinking our tea in the morning. We will go again. Seen other feedback,, we had chalet 283.. perfect try it you won't be disappointed. Staff also brilliant.

Room Tip: we stayed in chalet 283
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked a long weekend break through the Sun £9.50 holiday deal, I'm glad I didn't read most of the reviews before I booked!
Had mixed feelings about staying here after reading TA after booking though. We knew we wanted to stay on the Island and the location and brochure seemed appealing.
On arrival at 3pm we were advised that there is strictly no checking in until 4pm - so we sat in the cafe for a while. Disappointed to not be allocated a log cabin - looking at the brochure you can only see cabins but the park is a curious mix of brick chalets which have clearly been built at different times. Part of the park seems residential with an odd mix of external decoration/repair standard.
Our allocated chalet was very spaciuos with 3 double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen etc. Clean, tidy, did the job, had all we needed. We didn't use the on site facilities so cannot pass comment on these, shame there is no onsite shop which is unusual for a self catering park.
Did a few of the attractions - The Needles (wanted to see if before it disappears in the next storm!), Osbourne House, The Garlic Farm
For the money we paid (£39 for the accomodation through the pffer in the paper plus a £30.00 service charge) Gurnard Pines was bang on the nail - would defo recommend it. We will be booking again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dafttart41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We haved just returned from a half term break with a national newspaper deal. The bottom line is - if we were offered the same accommodation again for a similar price would we take it- actually we would grab it! The chalet was modern clean and well equipped and overlooked the forest. Check in was friendly and efficient and someone even came round to make sure we were happy with everything. To be honest after reading reviews it exceeded our expectations. We didn't use any of the facilities and it is certainly not a classic "holiday camp" place which suited us fine but it was a fantastic base from which to explore the island

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arbgfb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay. Party of 11 from toddlers to pensioners staying in 3 units.
Agree with most of the recent comments (particularly ACLondon67 and Sue H). This is not 5* but why anyone expect it to be. What is does, it does very well. The accommodation is clean, spacious and has all the amenities you should need (Including plenty of piping hot water).
I am no expert on gyms but this seemed to be reasonably equipped and was very popular.
The pool has been criticized elsewhere but we thought it was fine.
We arrived at around 2pm and politely inquired if we could check-in early and were equally politely told that we could not. Hey ho, went for a drink and a couple of games of pool in the bar to pass some time and at 3:30 we were sought out and advised that our units were ready.
Only half an hour but a pleasant surprise and an indication, to me, that the staff are doing their best to listen to the more constructive comments.
I found the staff helpful and friendly. I asked the front desk for a recommendation for a "child friendly" local pub and also a local Chinese takeaway. The Woodvale pub (just about walkable) and the Golden Dragon (who deliver to your unit) both proved to be excellent and I have reviewed these separately.
All i all a very good place to stay to explore the IoW, very good accommodation and helpful.
staff.
Go to have a good time and I doubt you will be disappointed; go to moan and I'm sure you'll find some small problem, like anywhere.

Room Tip: I think the wooden chalets are better but we stayed in the stone chalets/units numbers 266, 271 &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrimbutSmileyinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

So let's be fair, the site is certainly in need or some updating. The children's playground is closed down, the entertainment complex is non existent and yes the bins are over flowing.

I remember when the site went in to shutdown at the back end of 2012 and most of the staff where being told they where being laid off..... and I don't think much has changed since that day under the new management..... The complex is now a fairly modest private gym and pool, for use by the owners and available to holiday letters for a small fee.

All that said, the lodgings/chalets,are in very good condition and provide a very cost effective holiday base in lovely leafy surroundings. Each unit has en-suite, double glazing and central heating. So,you really can't go wrong if you can get a good deal, just don't go expecting a Butlins entertainment, use it it a base and enjoy your time on the Wight.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ACLondon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cowes hotels
1.5 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
354 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
2.1 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
96 reviews
1.5 mi away
Watch House Barn
Watch House Barn
#27 of 28 in Cowes
37 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Caledon Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gurnard Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurnard Pines

Address: Cockleton Lane, Cowes PO31 8QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Cowes
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 50 acres of private woodland, a short stroll from the beach and moments from the lively yachting capital of Cowes, Gurnard Pines is the perfect destination for holidays and short breaks. With quality leisure facilities offering plenty of action for all ages, there is plenty of fresh air, freedom and flexibility to relax. Our Bungalows and Lodges nestle in a peaceful countryside setting, complete with a nature trail and quiet spots to relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gurnard Pines Hotel Cowes
Gurnard Pines Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing