We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ITS A SHAME!”
Review of Gurnard Pines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cowes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gurnard Pines
oldham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ITS A SHAME!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just stayed a week in two lodges when we arrived they were filthy, cookers and floors and pans had never
been cleaned. Our shower curtain had brown filthy stains on it , cobwebs all over the balcony and dirty windows, spiders every where.the second lodge har a broke loo seat but was soon fixed by them!the bedding not too good and made us itch! and carpets dirty RECEPTION changed the curtain and cleaned the cooker. The bar shut at 9 and the food wait was long!The plus side staff friendly pool good !The place needs love and attention and could be so much better with paint and a clean! We had a good time though but wont return!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    83
    61
    49
    39
See reviews for
176
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was by far the least expensive place we could find on the Isle of Wight and it was fine. Yes there are things that need improving - a few loose slats on the balcony, a chair that nealry broke when my hubby sat on it, but it was perfectly clean, spacious and more than adequate for our requirements. I've paid far more for holiday cottages witht he same probs! The beds weren't bad either - having read other reviews I was expecting the worst! And the fact it had two bathrooms was great. The kitchen was fully equipped and we had an iron too - everything you could want. The outdoor swimming pool was a bonus although we wished it could be open later than 5. The onsite cafe was a disappointment as they only had one girl serving on the bar and 'making' the food - we waited an hour for ours then gave up. We didn't bother going back but instead We walked down to the Woodvale pub - it's about 20-30 mins away on foot. It has an amazing view of the sea and a garden at the top where my little ones could run around. Good food too. Overall this place was fine and more than met my expectation for the money we paid. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: we stayed in 267 - had a great view of the forest opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoBrocks66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowplain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have just spent a week at a chalet at Gurnard Pines, and won't be returning. On arrival we discovered that two of the beds (which were supposed to be made up) did not have a mattress protector, just a sheet directly on the mattress. We were 4 pillowcases and one top sheet short too. The lack of pillow cases enabled us to see the disgusting pillows - old, dirty, torn. The chalet was very dirty, with disgustingly filthy skirting boards, door ledges and corners of floors. The shower curtain was a health hazard, with black mould running all along the inside and rising up a good inch from the bottom! Reception arranged for the missing bed linen to be brought to the chalet, and a new shower curtain was fitted too. The bathroom bin was dirty and sticky. Cobwebs were large and old and clearly visible between the boiler and the wall. It was abundantly clear that no cleaning has been carried out for months - merely vacuuming the carpet between lets. (I don't normally conduct an inspection but this chalet was so filthy that we couldn't believe our eyes and just kept on looking!)

When we booked in the spring the website said the children's play area was currently closed due to storm damage. We assumed that the damage had occurred the previous winter and would be rectified by the summer holidays so our 5 and 8 year old children would have somewhere to play. However it was still closed, and we found out from someone who permanently lived on site that it had been closed for well over a year. This meant the children had to play on the veranda - which had a rotten support so the rail was in grave danger of giving way if one of them had fallen against it.

On the plus side the reception staff were pleasant and polite (although one of the lifeguards was more interested in chatting up a visitor than watching the children in the pool and there was a heap of old/broken sun beds in an alcove by the pool which looked ugly and depressing).

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SensitiveSoul49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cowes hotels

1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived late but was greeted by the staff with enthusiam and bags of advice on what actuvities were happening. We drove to our chalet through what we thought was an area that was run down with old rusty bikes left out curtains hanging off amd generally not pleasent at all. Panicing abit and hoping our acccommodation was not going to be like this we were pleasently relieved it was really nice and spacious. First impressions it was clean but lookong closely you could see it needed abjt of a deep clean.. mould in the shower.. cooker extractor with grease on but nothing too shocking. Our tv was not working and the tap in the bathroom broke but we rang reception and someone came out immediatly to repair both. Shame about the kids play area. Looks like its been out of action for a long time. Really not much to do on site. We really just used it to come back and sleep. The main building is looking run down. The carpet tiles are all coming up. Just needs some tlc. Would we return? No

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

well where should i start! should i start with the poor upkeep of the chalets, the poor list of activity's, the closed playground or the 230v exposed transformer covered by a cone!!!

the chalets are in need of a major overhaul with the veranda falling apart and rotten to the point that the whole thing moves!
we went to Gurnard Pines for somewhere the kids could use the activity's that were advertised on their website. only prob was that they didnt do any on the Wednesday or Thursday, we couldn't get in till 4pm monday and had to be out by 10 am Friday so really only had one day!!!
Lucky we had a playground in eyesight of our chalet only prob was it was fenced off and by the look of the weeds climbing up the fence it had been for some time!!!
lucky we had some grass outside our chalet for the kids to play on, it even had a cone for the children to use as a post for football, i thought id better have a look b4 the children played with it and to my horror it had a 230v electric Junction Box underneath that was open!!!!!
if you have children please keep them entertained and safe by looking elsewhere!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Lets make this short Toilets leak decking covered in slugs handrails almost falling down due to the fact they rotten nothing to do for kids and playground looks like the one at chernobyl electric power point covered with traffic cones much more to tell you but I don't want to bore you all just avoid this place

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

When we arrived we were given our key and went to our accommodation to find we were a bedroom missing. Went back to reception and was told it was an admin error they apologized and said we could have another bed to which I stated where are we going to put it? I booked a 3 bed room villa to sleep six people. The only accommodation that they said they had available was a 3 bedroom spare wooden lodge that was not in use at the time ( funny that people next to us said people moved out the day before !!) so could not have been that unused. When we went in I could not believe it was absolutely filthy the carpets were so faded and stained the skirting boards were all dusty and covered in cobwebs out side was filthy on the balcony that was also covered in dirt and cobwebs, the windows did not look like they had ever been cleaned. Filthy. I was offered my money back but where was I going to find somewhere else to stay Cowes week for 5 people? To top it off the boiler packed up the evening before we left so baths was out of the question. The only plus side was the children had a large grass area to play in which was handy as the children's outside play area was out of use ( looks like it had been for a long while yet is still advertised as in use) We were in wooden cabin 404

Room Tip: Avoid all log cabins in need of refurbishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gryjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
1.3 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
10.0 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel
10.9 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
4.3 mi away
Woodside Coastal Retreat
Woodside Coastal Retreat
#1 of 1 in Wootton Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gurnard Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurnard Pines

Property: Gurnard Pines
Address: Cockleton Lane, Cowes PO31 8QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Cowes
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 50 acres of private woodland, a short stroll from the beach and moments from the lively yachting capital of Cowes, Gurnard Pines is the perfect destination for holidays and short breaks. With quality leisure facilities offering plenty of action for all ages, there is plenty of fresh air, freedom and flexibility to relax. Our Bungalows and Lodges nestle in a peaceful countryside setting, complete with a nature trail and quiet spots to relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gurnard Pines Hotel Cowes
Gurnard Pines Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing