We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just what we wanted!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Caledon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Caledon Guest House
Ranked #3 of 28 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Pretty house, well set up room, as shown in the photographs on the website. The location of the guest house is also very good. Very close to the Cowes Ferry point. Breakfast was good, sumptuous. We spend a night in the Caledon house and were very happy with the place

We will definitely want to stay again when we visit IoW

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuDL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    37
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
120
52
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Lovely house, clean rooms. Especially liked the breakfast room. Light and airy. Very close to shops, bars and restuarants which are just down the hill. Breakfast is very yummy with a good selection. Will be returning in the spring and hopefully it won't be raining!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here before and it was just as excellent this time

Breakfasts brilliant, room 3 large and well fitted out, hosts really nice people. 5 minutes walk down the hill to central Cowes or 50 yards to bus stop which takes you to Newport and from there anywhere else in the island

Free wifi with a decent signal

Look at all the awrds displayed in the residents lounge - you don't get those by accident!

Room Tip: Only stayed in room 3 (twice) but can recommend it - overlooks the main road but no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selange
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We spent a very nice family stay in The Caledon Guest House. Very nice and warm welcome from Mark the owner. The guesthouse is well located. The rooms are very clean and modern, and the breakfast is simply delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomySelange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Fantastic guest house in lovely spot just up the hill from central Cowes - we had a room with an amazing view over the Solent. Nice quiet spot but still close to town. Andrea and Mark are lovely and the breakfast was amazing!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have amazing views over the Solent - we stayed in room 4 which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misstravelleruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Mark and Andrea were very welcoming. The room was lovely and the Mark's nearly famous breakfast was amazing!!

Tips for other travellers

There is so much to do an see in the area if you have a long weekend. We only had a short stay but when we come back we will love to stay at the Caledon Guest House and take in many of the interesting activities that the Isle of Wight has to offer! A great place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLongford79, Owner at The Caledon Guest House, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you Stephanie - hope your legs recovered after the IOW marathon!! Look forward to having you stay with us again when you have some more time to have a look around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Well maintained. Very clean and food was of an excellent quality. For the last 5 years we have had short breaks on the Island as we love the place. Now we have found the best place to stay with bus stops nearby allowing us to easily get around which is an added bonus. Car now stays at home....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan8180012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
North House
North House
#4 of 5 in Cowes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.0 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caledon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caledon Guest House

Property: The Caledon Guest House
Address: 59 Mill Hill Road, Cowes PO31 7EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Caledon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledon is a family run bed and breakfast in Cowes on the beautiful Isle of Wight. We offer modern, comfortable accommodation, tasty, filling breakfasts and friendly service. Our lovely old guest house has a modern feel, with original floorboards, high ceilings and lots of Victorian features. All our bedrooms are recently refurbished in our modern, relaxed style; we want you to feel at home here.The B&B is in a great location, five minutes walk up the hill from the bustling centre of Cowes with its pretty high street with individual shops, great restaurants, lively pubs, ferry links to Southampton and of course the yacht haven, sailing clubs and marinas for which Cowes is so well known.We pride ourselves on our warm welcome and fab Caledon breakfasts; all freshly cooked to order using our wonderful Isle of Wight produce wherever possible. There is free 17Mb broadband Wi-Fi throughout the B&B, and we have a laptop for public use in our guest lounge. All our bedrooms have DVD players and a selection of our DVD's are available for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Caledon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledon Guest House Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing