We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly excellent guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Caledon Guest House
Ranked #3 of 28 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 night, it was my partners first trip to IOW and we loved it! Mark & Andrea have got it just right, very welcoming with a homely feel. Clean with everything you need, comfy bed and quite quiet. Breakfast was faultless, lovely local produce. Nothing seemed too much trouble - only downfall, Andrea had run out of her homemade marmalade - ah well will have to come back again soon :). Would highly recommend a stay here
Thanks to you both

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

I just spent a night here over a weekend and was so surprised by this place. I had not been involved in booking it (booked through work), but I would never of expected such a nice B&B up a road in Cowes. We were in a rush the entire time and the owners could not of been more helpful. They switched our rooms (we were a couple, but work had booked us a twin), cooked us a very tasty breakfast to go when we were running late and then posted back make-up that I had left in the room! The rooms themselves were huge and had excellent views over the sea making them very romantic. Absolutely tip top.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the sea! Room 1 is a double with a shared bathroom that has excellent views and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I cannot fault The Caledon Guest House. Very good value for money, clean throughout and the quality of the breakfast from locally sourced produce was a real treat. Received a free upgrade from single to double room which was appreciated. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Many thanks to Mark & Andrea. Very welcoming hosts and clearly a very well run guest house. Great value for money and superb breakfast with locally sourced produce. Was upgraded to double room with views over the Solent for no extra charge. Would highly recommend.
Thanks again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Simply the best guest house you could stay at. It's just so clean and tidy. Very accommodating people. You should be very proud of the fact that you love what you do. It comes across in every way and the breakfast is just awesome.
Would stay here again without even thinking about it.
1st Class.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The room was clean, comfortable and well maintained. The breakfast choice was good, Mark's Fryup breakfast was excellent and the coffee was very tasty.

The location was very good for us. Easy walk down the hill to Birmingham Road and then into High Street where there are lots of restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed recently in April for a short business trip at this guest house.
What a wonderful stay!
Brilliant value for money, the owners, Mark & his wife we're attentive hosts, very friendly & we couldn't ask for anything else from them.
Breakfast also included in the price & the range of local produce used was superb!
Great location to the centre of Cowes, great room with view & overall stay. I look forward to returning on my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrT65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Onefifty Cowes
Onefifty Cowes
#2 of 28 in Cowes
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#1 of 28 in Cowes
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holly Tree House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caledon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caledon Guest House

Address: 59 Mill Hill Road, Cowes PO31 7EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range: £63 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Caledon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledon is a family run bed and breakfast in Cowes on the beautiful Isle of Wight. We offer the perfect mix of a friendly, welcoming bed and breakfast with the spacious, non intrusive feel of a small hotel. Our lovely old guest house has a modern feel, with original floorboards, high ceilings and lots of Victorian features. All our bedrooms are recently refurbished in our modern, relaxed style; we want you to feel at home here. The B&B is in a great location, five minutes walk up the hill from the bustling centre of Cowes with its pretty high street with individual shops, great restaurants, lively pubs, ferry links to Southampton and of course the yacht haven, sailing clubs and marinas for which Cowes is so well known. We pride ourselves on our warm welcome and fab Caledon breakfasts; all freshly cooked to order using our wonderful Isle of Wight produce wherever possible. There is free fibre broadband Wi-Fi throughout the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Caledon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledon Guest House Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing