We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Elderly lads venture to Cowes”

Review of Crew's Nest Cowes

kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kitchen
kitchen Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
kitchen
kitchen
Lounge
Lounge with juliette balcony
Main bathroom
Main bathroom
Main bedroom
Double bedroom lower floor
Double bedroom lower floor
Twin bedded room top floor
Twin bedded room top floor
Twin bedded room middle floor
Twin bedded room middle floor
Shower
Toilet
Garden with gas bbq & extendable dining table for 8 people
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cowes, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roger Fra...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Elderly lads venture to Cowes”
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We are four 60+ 'lads' who sought a 4 bedroom property within easy walking distance of West Cowes town centre with good access to the rest of the island. We found it at Crew's Nest. There were no shortfalls at all. Clean, spacious and very well equipped, it was all we wanted. The only slight negative was that being November we didn't get to use the garden patio and BBQ which, from the warmth of the house, looked very inviting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It matched the description
Liked least: The climb to the top bedroom after a heavy night out - my fault, not theirs!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review we really appreciate it very much. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your 'boys' weekend away. We look forward to welcoming you all back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Philippa and Clive
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael n
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“This should be on your shortlist if you are staying in Cowes... a real home away from home”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Over the years we have stayed at many houses on the IOW and Crews Nest rates up there as one of the best.

Communication - As mentioned in other reviews both Clive and Philippa were super efficient at responding to any questions regarding the property and couldn't have been more helpful. We booked this at fairly short notice and it helped that the whole process was hassle free.

Accommodation - you can tell that this is a house that has been recently refurbished to a high standard (who knew that Smeg made sinks!) and that a lot of thought has gone into how it works as a holiday home. As soon as you walk in it feels like a home with tasteful touches adding warmth, avoiding that clinical hotel feel.

There were 3 adults and 5 young children in our group but never once did it feel cramped; it seemed to just wrap itself around you. Traveling with young children presents the very real potential for breakages, spills etc but somehow CN has the feel of a home and is designed to be be used without having to constantly tip-toe around or worry about intricate ornaments that look pretty but are susceptible to the little accidents that seem to follow kids wherever they go. It was also spotlessly clean with super comfy beds which is always a big plus.

Location - We saw a different side of Cowes to the one you see if you only ever visit the high street. Even though it is only 2 minutes walk (if that) from the main shops there still seems to be a real feeling of community. There are a number of parks that are close with some great playgrounds for the kids especially the one in Park Road that has lots to do to cover the spectrum from skatepark to traditional swings and merry-go-round.
None of us are into boats in a big way but I imagine that if you are the location for getting down to the harbour would be ideal. We did see Force India's super yacht moored for a couple of days literally just down the road which was quite a sight to behold.

Conclusion - You can tell how good a property it is by the fact that it just functions and does everything that it needs to do so that you can get on with your holiday rather than think about the accommodation. Excellent value for money especially when compared to what else is available at the same price point. To date we have never stayed in the same place twice as we like to explore the island, however with CN we may just have to make an exception.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everythimg has been thought through
Liked least: That we could only spend the week there
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2016
Thank you very much for your wonderful review both of us appreciate it very much. We endeavour to meet everyones requirements and hopefully provide a lovely home for all to enjoy.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Once again many thanks for taking time to write a glowing review
Best wishes
Philippa and Clive
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_ins...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a home away from home”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I rarely write any reviews but I just had to commend Philippa and Clive on Crew's Nest. As has been mentioned by other reviewers, CN is in the perfect location if you're big on sailing - the port is just a few minutes' walk from the house, while Cowes itself has plenty of shops (many of which you won't find on a High Street) as well as lots of pubs and eateries. There's also a small Sainsbury's and a big Marks and Sparks, which we found particularly useful for stocking the two fridges in the house. The house itself is clean, tastefully decorated and contains everything you need for a stay. There were six of us in total (four adults and two kids - each aged two) but we never felt on top of one another. We ate out in the garden on most nights. There is a table and chairs out there as well as a barbecue. The kids particularly enjoyed having a DVD player in the lounge area. The beds are extremely comfortable (better than most hotels I've stayed in) and the shower I used upstairs had a powerful jet - there's nothing worse than standing underneath a shower and the water just dribbles out! Philippa and Clive could not have been more helpful during our stay - although I knew this would be the case. Before our trip, they were extremely helpful (and friendly!) in answering questions, while the payment process was smooth and easy. We were emailed all the relevant info needed - directions to CN etc - which put our minds at rest. Inside the house, there's plenty of info on where to eat, local attractions, guides on how to use the white goods etc. When I visit any hotel/B&B, I always ask myself whether I'd come again. I'd have no hesitation returning to CN or recommending them to anyone. Thanks for a lovely stay, Philippa and Clive - and thanks, too, for the bottle of wine and card.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for the wonderful review which means so much to us. We try very hard to give everyone a good experience staying in the house and on the island and to make everyone feel valued. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Kind regards
Philippa and Clive
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sailork
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Superbly presented house close to marinas - ideal for sailing”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had stayed at the owners previous smaller house in St Mary's rd so we were expecting something good when we arrived and we werent disappointed.

the house is spacious and light, decorated beautifully and equipped to a very high standard. We slept 8 in the house most nights but it never felt crowded with a lovely relaxing lounge in addition to the dining kitchen. Outdoor dining space for 8 also if weather permits. We were very lucky and used the large gas BBQ on several occasions.

the location is ideal for sailing with the entrance to Cowes Yacht haven 5 minutes away at the end of the road. Despite its proximity to the high street we weren't disturbed at night which we thought might be an issue.

Only suggestions would be a full length mirror (requested by the ladies!) and a recycling box in the kitchen. otherwise the house is faultless. we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: standard of presentation of the property.
Liked least: lack of full length mirror
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay at Crews Nest and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you all back.
Kind regards
Philippa and Clive
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulvjsy
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply perfect...”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our 4th consecutive stay at Crew's Nest, having stayed at the old house in 2013 and 2014, and this one in 2015 and this year, and once again we were not disappointed. Clive and Philippa have been exemplary landlords over the years and once again this year provided the perfect retreat for our party whilst we made our annual trip over for the Isle of Wight Festival.

The house is ideally located just a few minutes walk from the Red Jet ferry terminal in West Cowes, and even closer to the many shops, bars, pubs and restaurants in the beautiful town centre. There's nothing to not like about the house itself (unless you have a phobia of stairs!), which is stunningly decorated and spotlessly clean. There is more than enough room for our party of 6, and if the weather is favourable, we like nothing more than to sit outside on the decked terrace with a cold beer.

Cooking facilities are ample in the beautifully appointed kitchen diner, but if you are the outdoor type then there is a BBQ at your disposal as well, although we didn't have time to use it unfortunately.

Crew's Nest is in our collective opinion the perfect holiday home, and an ideal base for the Isle of Wight Festival...but I wouldn't bother trying to book it for that week as we have already reserved it for 2017 and beyond!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for yet again a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the house and look forward to welcoming you all back again next year
Best wishes
Clive and Philippa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kohikudas...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great stay!”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We spent 4 nights at the Crews' Nest with three generations, including two small children (2 & 5). The house is spread over three floors, which was great, as my husband and I tucked in early with the little ones upstairs each night while grandpa and grandma relaxed in the kitchen and lounge in peace. The kids enjoyed watching CBeebies on demand as well as the board games. The kitchen was well-supplied and had a lovely view of the garden, which would be nice to enjoy on warmer days. Beds were very comfortable with fresh white linens, and the maritime decor throughout the house complemented the architecture and made me want to take up sailing! The location is just off the high street, so it's easy to walk to some highly rated local restaurants and there is a handy sainsbury's just a short walk away. There is also a huge Waitrose right when you get off the ferry from Southampton, which is a good spot to stock up on food and toiletries before you arrive at The Crews' Nest. I'd definitely book again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for he wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Crew's Nest and that the house met the whole families needs. We look forward to welcoming you back to the house again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes Clive and Philippa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca J
1 review
“And relax”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a lovely time on the Isle of Wight which was mostly down to the the Crew's nest. It's a perfect location for exploring Cowes, easy access to the port and the rest of the Isle. The house is beautifully decorated, clean and modern, we felt very much at home there. We've already discussed returning in the summer with friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely review which we appreciate so much. We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer along with family and friends. Best wishes Philippa and Clive
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing