We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation and relaxing stay”

The Orchards Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freshwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Orchards Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 9 Freshwater B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation and relaxing stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just returned from an excellent week with Paula and Dave. Rooms are spotless as is the whole house. Paula and Dave work extremely hard to make sure you have a relaxed stay.
Freshly cooked breakfast ( no microwave warm ups!!!) to order . Home made jams and marmalade made by Paula . The B&B is central to shops , pubs and the lovely colwell bay. Rooms are fully equipped and have a very generous hospitality tray that is replenished daily.
The best B&B I have stayed in, look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: The room that we had , had a large ceiling fan, which was great as it was very hot and you could clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
17
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I had a super four night stay at The Orchards B&B in Freshwater.
The rooms was spotless, modern and bed very comfortable. Free wifi, free view television, tea and coffee making facilities - all up to scratch.
Paula ensured I felt welcome and looked after me throughout my stay. Her homemade strawberry jam for breakfast was an absolute gem!

Great location in Freshwater, two minutes from the bus stop with regular buses to Newport and Alum Bay. Great pubs / restaurants nearby - The Vine, Fish and Chip Shop, Hong Kong Express and Colwell Bay...

Thank you The Orchards for ensuring I had a restful break!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My Wife and I just recently spent the weekend at The Orchards Bed & Breakfast. We were made to feel very welcome from the start. We had a large room with an en suite and the bed was very soft and comfortable. The B & B was very clean and the service was excellent.
We were greeted with a warm smile each morning and an excellent breakfast.
The location was perfect for our needs and getting around the island.
All in all a very pleasant stay and we would recommend The Orchards Bed & Breakfast to our friends and we look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and found the B&B faultless. Paula made us feel extremely welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at The Orchards! The room was perfectly clean and comfortable with an en suit, fully filled tea tray and overhead fan, which was ideal as the weather was hot! There is a beach and a few restaurants in walking distance to the B&B which was great as we didnt have to travel far and meant we could both have a couple drinks! The breakfast in the morning was fab, there was a range of cereals to chose from and the cooked breakfast was enough to get us going for the day! The cups of tea were also a decent size! But overall we both enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back if we were to visit the Island again. Thank you Paula :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is an absolutely superb B&B, the rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Paula and David are very friendly and welcoming, and Paula's breakfasts are spot on.

I came for a few days on a cycling holiday, and they couldn't have been more helpful in letting me keep my bike locked securely in my shed. The location is also excellent, located on a quite street in freshwater, just a couple of minutes ride from the round the island cycle route.

When I'm next on IOW I'll definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We paid another visit to the Orchards, and in our opinion it must be one of the best B&B's you could find. The service is always tip top. The rooms are always clean, comfortable and relaxing, and Paula and Dave regularly give them a spruce up or redecorate them, so there's always something a bit different! Paula's always very welcoming, and the breakfasts always delicious, and with local and home-made produce.

If the weather's fine, there are so many walks on your doorstep, so you don't need to use the car or bus unless you really want to visit other parts of the island. Apart from the beaches at Totland, Colwell or Freshwater bays,, you can easily get to Tennyson Down and Headon Warren with their wonderful views and the Needles, as well as to Yarmouth via the Freshwater Way, old railway path, or coastal path from Colwell, and to the western downs to Brook and Brighstone, with their scenery of both the south west and north west coastline of the island, as well as the mainland. Continuing the coastal path from Yarmouth through Bouldnor Forest to Lower Hamstead is also worth doing.

When it comes to dining, the Red Lion in Church Place is very good, and must be one of the best dining pubs on the island, with the Vine Inn down the road from the Orchards providing good good food in big portions. The Highdown Inn at the back of Totland has a lovely garden and a good range of sandwiches, baguettes and desserts, and the Broadway Inn in Totland High Street very good value and quality snacks. Close by Yarmouth provides a very good range of restaurants and dining pubs.

Overall another lovely stay, and we look forward to seeing Paula, Dave and the Orchards again in 2014!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnybrook, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We first stayed here just over 3 years ago and decided to stay here again when we returned to the island this time. Paula keeps her B & B absolutely spotless and her breakfasts are lovely with many options in the cereal and cooked-breakfast selection. We even had home-made jams/marmalade this time. This time we had a hire car but the bus serves the area well also.

Room Tip: We had a double room at the front and there was a bit of traffic noise this time due to the fact tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 303heatherlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
1.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
309 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
1.2 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 11 in Totland Bay
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Orchards Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Orchards Princes Road, Freshwater, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchards Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Orchards Bed & Breakfast Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing