We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting for a Glamping holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freshwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Really Green Holiday Company
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting for a Glamping holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We're a family of 5 and stayed in the larger Yurt at the end of April for 3 nights.
The setting is absolutely beautiful, with terrific views and is extremely peaceful and tranquil.
The site was half full when we stayed, so there was no shortage of hot water either from the showers or the hot water flasks (note: we stayed over Easter weekend and the hot water flasks were filled up and ready at 7am even on Easter Sunday and Monday)
We had a meal in the local pub and bought drinks from the local cafe all 5 mins walk away and both excellent (although the pub doesn't encourage kids inside unless the weather is foul - you may see this as a positive!)
Yurts were well furnished and plenty of candles provided
We were met by Anthony and Ell Jay, who were very welcoming and never far away if you needed any help with anything
At night the wind did come through the yurt and the temperature did definitely drop, even with the log burner well stoked, but we were sleeping under canvas in April so to be expected. Just a word of note, extra baskets of logs are chargeable and if the temperature drops the log burner is essential to keep the Yurt warm, in the summer presumably less so.
The kids didn't want to come home, so that's recommendation enough
Best bits - Location, Location, Location
Worst bits - Wind blew 'through' the Yurt at night (weather can't be helped but canvas is not attached to bottom of Yurt so wind gets through)
Highly recommended, provided you remember you're glamping and not staying in a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thanks for your comments which we really appreciate. Glad you had a good time, especially the kids, and hope to see you again. Maybe bring some friends next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    17
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I've just come back from a two night break with my sister at the really green holiday company. We had such a lovely time. We were greeted by Ell Jay who was never far away to help out if needed. The yurt was well equipped and clean and we had enough wood and charcoal to keep us warm and fed for the first night and bought a second bag of logs for the log burner on the second night.
It's such a tranquil spot I didn't pick up my book once, I just enjoyed the beautiful view and the peace. I can't wait to come back again. Thank you for making us so welcome.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Angiebaby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thanks for your review ladies, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We went to stay with Anthony in the yurts for just 2 nights, but it was too short of a stay!!! The island is lovely, and there was more we could have seen. Anthony and his partner picked us up from the ferry on the night of our arrival, and they were very helpful the whole weekend for everything we needed. Everything was environmentally friendly, which was nice. The yurts were really comfortable, and the campsite was beautiful. There's a lovely cafe down the road, and the walks around the island are nice. I went with 2 friends and we had plenty of space in the yurt - I definitely want to go back in the summertime. And will definitely stay with Really Green Holiday Company!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thanks girls, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay and were so lucky with the weather for your walk on Saturday.
We really look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in the yurt. Anthony came to pick us up at the ferry. Lovely and comfy yurt! He gave us recommendations for pur walk which was fabulous! The last evening we got invited to share a drink and some food with Anthony and all the people working on the camp site. We had a great chat with all of them. They all took really good care of us! Would definitely come back in the summer! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Labatut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Really impressed with the speed of your kind review! Glad you had a great stay. We enjoyed having you and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We went for a family break with our young children- 23 months and 4 on day of arrival and had a great time. They could not do enough for us to make our stay comfortable and gave us lots of advice on things to do. The kids loved it and were very sad to leave, we only stayed 2 nights but will definitely be coming back for longer. I love the outdoors but am not a fan of sleeping on the floor, putting up tents etc. so nice to turn up and everything is ready for us. It was lovely and warm at night thanks to the wood burner in the yurt despite being October.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenni32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thanks for your kind comments. It's always especially nice for us when the children don't want to leave because they've loved the experience. We hope to see you for longer another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just returned from a hen party weekend staying at these yurts. We had a great time and really enjoyed the campsite. The showers were lovely and toilets better than imagined. Kitchen facilities very basic and weathered but we didn't plan on doing any cooking so that was fine. We got an amazing caterer (Hilary Waitt from island catering solutions) to provide a feast for us on the Friday which she delivered to the site and served for us- I cannot recommend her enough and great value for money. Saturday we had hired bikes and went for a lovely ride around the area followed by a night out in Yarmouth the key feature of which was a fantastic meal and atmosphere at Saltys seafood restaurant.

Would definitely consider coming back with the kids another time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maidmarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thanks for the review. We're really glad you had a great time girls, being well organised undoubtedly helps and you definitely were.
It would be lovely to see some of you back with your families some time. Remind us when you book that you were here last weekend.
All best wishes from us for your wedding Emily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

My review is going to start off as somewhat unusual, in so much as I booked a two night stay as a surprise first wedding anniversary for my wife and I, but cancelled it before we travelled ... however, please read on!

We are fairly keen campers and go to a lot of music festivals, so are certainly not unused to a few nights under canvas. My wife had been hinting at wanting to do one last camping trip this year, so I came up with the idea of a romantic Yurt break to combine that with our anniversary. So far, so good!

However, owing to the possibility of inclement weather I had to give a few hints as to the nature of the surprise, it turns out that camping in a Yurt was the last thing she expected, something more at the 5 Star hotel end of the spectrum was expected. As you can imagine, I was in something of a pickle and reluctantly decided to cancel and do something else.

Overnight she had a change of heart, fortunately we were able to un-cancel, so headed off to Freshwater with a certain degree of reticence on my part. Had I made a complete dog's breakfast of the first anniversary? No pressure!

I'm delighted to say the RGHC delivered on all counts. We were welcomed by the ever-helpful Ell Jay who helped us settle in to our wonderful yurt, got us sorted with the log burner and everything we needed within 20 minutes then left us to our own devices, although she was around and available for help and advice whenever needed. We had the larger of the six yurts which was more than spacious for two, really nicely furnished with a very comfortable bed and everything you could need for a comfortable stay. The log burner kept the yurt toasty warm all night long, with a couple of logs chucked in during the night to keep it going. We only needed a summer duvet and blanket at the end of September. Facilities were good, two private showers with a good supply of hot water powered from their own solar/log-burner heat source, we didn't want for hot water all weekend. There are two communal loos of the composting type, both clean and well maintained. They take a little bit of getting used to, but if you can cope with a festival portaloo I'm sure you can cope with these. One point to note is that there is no electricity on site, my wife was a little taken aback that she couldn't do the 'glam' part of glamping with no hairdryer. She worked around it, but it's worth pointing out if that is a must-have.

One of the main things I was looking for in a yurt site was peace and quiet - it's in a lovely quiet setting - but also walking distance of a village for pubs/meals. This is 4 minutes walk along a footpath from The Red Lion, a nice real ale pub with great food, although I got the distinct impression it is not particularly child-friendly (read its own reviews on here) and the welcome from the Landlord was not what I would call 'open arms'. A shame, because it serves good beer and great food, I just get the impression that it is busy all the time at weekends, so they don't feel they need to try too hard with tourists that they are unlikely to see again. A little disappointing, because it has the potential to be a really great pub.

So, given that our trip got off to such a bad start, how did it end up? Well, my wife already wants to go back next year, and thanked me for the best anniversary she could have ever hoped for, there's not much more recommendation I can give than that!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PurpleTurtle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
We're really glad you un-cancelled and that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you'll have happy memories of your first anniversary for many years. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
0.4 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
15.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
18.3 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Really Green Holiday Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Really Green Holiday Company

Property: The Really Green Holiday Company
Address: Blackbridge Rd, Freshwater PO40 9QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Freshwater
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Really Green Holiday Company Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing