We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great site, great people, great stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freshwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Really Green Holiday Company
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We've just come back from a four-night stay. Anthony picked us up from the ferry and took us to pick up our welcome pack from the nearby farm shop, Kath's Kitchen. We settled into the Sunflower yurt - plenty of space for the two of us, and with the camp bed and futon it could have comfortably held more - and then walked down to the Red Lion Pub.

The weather wasn't great, but with the wood-burning stove we were cosy and warm. With the Island Coaster bus now taking bikes we were able to visit most of the island without needing a car, taking in the garlic farm, the Owl and Monkey haven, Alum Bay and the Needles and (thanks to LJ's good advice) the Newtown nature reserve. On the last day the sun shone and we had a wonderful barbecue with Kath's steaks and homemade ketchup outside our yurts.

We had a wonderful time and we'd love to come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thanks for your great review Simon, it's always great to know that our guests can have a good time despite the weather and I'm glad we were able to help you with everything. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We're a family of 5 and stayed in the larger Yurt at the end of April for 3 nights.
The setting is absolutely beautiful, with terrific views and is extremely peaceful and tranquil.
The site was half full when we stayed, so there was no shortage of hot water either from the showers or the hot water flasks (note: we stayed over Easter weekend and the hot water flasks were filled up and ready at 7am even on Easter Sunday and Monday)
We had a meal in the local pub and bought drinks from the local cafe all 5 mins walk away and both excellent (although the pub doesn't encourage kids inside unless the weather is foul - you may see this as a positive!)
Yurts were well furnished and plenty of candles provided
We were met by Anthony and Ell Jay, who were very welcoming and never far away if you needed any help with anything
At night the wind did come through the yurt and the temperature did definitely drop, even with the log burner well stoked, but we were sleeping under canvas in April so to be expected. Just a word of note, extra baskets of logs are chargeable and if the temperature drops the log burner is essential to keep the Yurt warm, in the summer presumably less so.
The kids didn't want to come home, so that's recommendation enough
Best bits - Location, Location, Location
Worst bits - Wind blew 'through' the Yurt at night (weather can't be helped but canvas is not attached to bottom of Yurt so wind gets through)
Highly recommended, provided you remember you're glamping and not staying in a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thanks for your comments which we really appreciate. Glad you had a good time, especially the kids, and hope to see you again. Maybe bring some friends next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I've just come back from a two night break with my sister at the really green holiday company. We had such a lovely time. We were greeted by Ell Jay who was never far away to help out if needed. The yurt was well equipped and clean and we had enough wood and charcoal to keep us warm and fed for the first night and bought a second bag of logs for the log burner on the second night.
It's such a tranquil spot I didn't pick up my book once, I just enjoyed the beautiful view and the peace. I can't wait to come back again. Thank you for making us so welcome.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Angiebaby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thanks for your review ladies, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We went to stay with Anthony in the yurts for just 2 nights, but it was too short of a stay!!! The island is lovely, and there was more we could have seen. Anthony and his partner picked us up from the ferry on the night of our arrival, and they were very helpful the whole weekend for everything we needed. Everything was environmentally friendly, which was nice. The yurts were really comfortable, and the campsite was beautiful. There's a lovely cafe down the road, and the walks around the island are nice. I went with 2 friends and we had plenty of space in the yurt - I definitely want to go back in the summertime. And will definitely stay with Really Green Holiday Company!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thanks girls, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay and were so lucky with the weather for your walk on Saturday.
We really look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in the yurt. Anthony came to pick us up at the ferry. Lovely and comfy yurt! He gave us recommendations for pur walk which was fabulous! The last evening we got invited to share a drink and some food with Anthony and all the people working on the camp site. We had a great chat with all of them. They all took really good care of us! Would definitely come back in the summer! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Labatut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Really impressed with the speed of your kind review! Glad you had a great stay. We enjoyed having you and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We went for a family break with our young children- 23 months and 4 on day of arrival and had a great time. They could not do enough for us to make our stay comfortable and gave us lots of advice on things to do. The kids loved it and were very sad to leave, we only stayed 2 nights but will definitely be coming back for longer. I love the outdoors but am not a fan of sleeping on the floor, putting up tents etc. so nice to turn up and everything is ready for us. It was lovely and warm at night thanks to the wood burner in the yurt despite being October.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenni32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thanks for your kind comments. It's always especially nice for us when the children don't want to leave because they've loved the experience. We hope to see you for longer another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just returned from a hen party weekend staying at these yurts. We had a great time and really enjoyed the campsite. The showers were lovely and toilets better than imagined. Kitchen facilities very basic and weathered but we didn't plan on doing any cooking so that was fine. We got an amazing caterer (Hilary Waitt from island catering solutions) to provide a feast for us on the Friday which she delivered to the site and served for us- I cannot recommend her enough and great value for money. Saturday we had hired bikes and went for a lovely ride around the area followed by a night out in Yarmouth the key feature of which was a fantastic meal and atmosphere at Saltys seafood restaurant.

Would definitely consider coming back with the kids another time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maidmarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks for the review. We're really glad you had a great time girls, being well organised undoubtedly helps and you definitely were.
It would be lovely to see some of you back with your families some time. Remind us when you book that you were here last weekend.
All best wishes from us for your wedding Emily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freshwater hotels
0.4 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
337 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Criers Croft
Criers Croft
#5 of 9 in Freshwater
141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heathfield Farm Camping
Heathfield Farm Camping
#1 of 5 in Freshwater
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bay Bed & Breakfast
The Bay Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 9 in Freshwater
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Really Green Holiday Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Really Green Holiday Company

Address: Blackbridge Rd, Freshwater PO40 9QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Freshwater
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Really Green Holiday Company Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing