We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your usual camping holiday!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freshwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Really Green Holiday Company
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A fun, nature friendly way to enjoy the countryside... Yurts were a first for us and know that we've experienced it, we'd definitely do it again! All the fun of camping without the downsides! More comfortable, more convenient, you feel more at home! And with the quality service Anthony and Ell-Jay offer, nothing can go wrong.
We felt taken care of from the beginning to the end of our holiday. Our hosts were friendly and helpful, did anything they could to make our stay more enjoyable! I highly recommend this camp site, it was for us an experience we won't forget. Thanks guys :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thanks guys, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come back again. Perhaps you could bring some friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We loved these yurts and aren't normally camping fans! Really quiet and relaxing. We were blessed with great weather so that helped! Elle Jay and Anthony were very attentive and helpful. Only 3 of us in a yurt for 5 and felt it may have been a squash for more. Parking was a little walk away which was sometimes difficult with a little one. It would have been great to have had phone charging as this was a real problem.
Altogether would highly recommend this if sign up to the experience. Great for children as it was a safe environment for them to run around in and my 2 yr old had a lovely time!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saffydaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thanks Saffron, we're glad you had a great time and would only say that, had you asked, you could have parked your car in the lay-by if it was a problem being 100 yards away.
I think we did tell you that they would be happy to charge your phones etc. at Kath's Kitchen provided you ask nicely and spent a little money, that service is mentioned on our website. Anyway it was great to meet you and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend staying in the Sunflower. We enjoyed every second. We savoured the natural light and marvelled at the stars. It was truly a marvellous experience. Can't wait to return. Anthony and Alison are inspiring special people. Warm and welcoming.
The attention to detail was just amazing. Ever laid on a comfy bed with silk covers listening to the sounds of nature whilst gazing at the stars through a circular window, cosy and warm because of the wood stove? No? Then book a yurt and enjoy.


  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellHappy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay, we aim to please! My efforts with the weather Gods clearly worked!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

There's serious thinking going on behind your stay that you don't realise because you are just blown away by the set up, landscape and the Yurts themselves.
This is Eco-friendly, no electricity, composting toilets camping, but done in such a way you don't even realise it whilst you sleep in utter warmth and comfort, cook on wood/charcoal or gas and power shower with hot water, no matter what time of the day.
The Yurts are marvellous! Large, clean and as warm as you want to make them - but they are canvas. So yes, you hear the wind and they shake a tad. Yes there was a small leak when it rained horrendously but you are camping after all.
Having never been to this stunning site before, we greenly took everything with us that would go camping with us apart from the tent, air bed and bedding (paid for bedding - well worth it!!) and the only thing of ours that we used was the headlight!!
Cold box, freezer packs, cutlery, crockery, glasses, pots, pans and corkscrew all provided - even the washing up liquid and tea towels!
The compost toilets are easy to use and nothing stinky going on at all!
Ell-Jay, Anthony and Alison really make you feel welcome and are a wealth of knowledge about the site, set up and the island in general - you can tell that they really care about this site and only want to enhance it for the good of the environment and their guests.
The reason they recommend Kaths Cafe and The Red Lion is because they are fabulous places to eat and shop.
If you want something similar to camping but 1000 times better get yourself to this site ASAP! We will be going back and that's a first for us too

Room Tip: No one Yurt is better than the other although there is a new big one that sleeps 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thanks for your review, we're just really glad you enjoyed your stay. It's so nice for us when guests appreciate what we do and enjoy the experience. As you know we don't push the eco side of things hard but it's great when people embrace and enjoy it.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The yurt site is in a great location. You can easily walk into Yarmouth in 20-25 mins or into one of the surrounding towns. The site is located a 2 min walk from a great farm shop and the Red Lion pub. There is also a local co-op down the road.
The yurts themselves are comfortable and spacious with everything you need to cook with etc. The shower and toilet facility were surprisingly good too! The communal dome cooking area is great too.
We had a great time and are already planning our next trip next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beckyclarke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're really pleased that you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We've just come back from a four-night stay. Anthony picked us up from the ferry and took us to pick up our welcome pack from the nearby farm shop, Kath's Kitchen. We settled into the Sunflower yurt - plenty of space for the two of us, and with the camp bed and futon it could have comfortably held more - and then walked down to the Red Lion Pub.

The weather wasn't great, but with the wood-burning stove we were cosy and warm. With the Island Coaster bus now taking bikes we were able to visit most of the island without needing a car, taking in the garlic farm, the Owl and Monkey haven, Alum Bay and the Needles and (thanks to LJ's good advice) the Newtown nature reserve. On the last day the sun shone and we had a wonderful barbecue with Kath's steaks and homemade ketchup outside our yurts.

We had a wonderful time and we'd love to come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thanks for your great review Simon, it's always great to know that our guests can have a good time despite the weather and I'm glad we were able to help you with everything. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We're a family of 5 and stayed in the larger Yurt at the end of April for 3 nights.
The setting is absolutely beautiful, with terrific views and is extremely peaceful and tranquil.
The site was half full when we stayed, so there was no shortage of hot water either from the showers or the hot water flasks (note: we stayed over Easter weekend and the hot water flasks were filled up and ready at 7am even on Easter Sunday and Monday)
We had a meal in the local pub and bought drinks from the local cafe all 5 mins walk away and both excellent (although the pub doesn't encourage kids inside unless the weather is foul - you may see this as a positive!)
Yurts were well furnished and plenty of candles provided
We were met by Anthony and Ell Jay, who were very welcoming and never far away if you needed any help with anything
At night the wind did come through the yurt and the temperature did definitely drop, even with the log burner well stoked, but we were sleeping under canvas in April so to be expected. Just a word of note, extra baskets of logs are chargeable and if the temperature drops the log burner is essential to keep the Yurt warm, in the summer presumably less so.
The kids didn't want to come home, so that's recommendation enough
Best bits - Location, Location, Location
Worst bits - Wind blew 'through' the Yurt at night (weather can't be helped but canvas is not attached to bottom of Yurt so wind gets through)
Highly recommended, provided you remember you're glamping and not staying in a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReallyGreen, Owner at The Really Green Holiday Company, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thanks for your comments which we really appreciate. Glad you had a good time, especially the kids, and hope to see you again. Maybe bring some friends next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
1.8 mi away
Tom's Eco Lodge
Tom's Eco Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yarmouth
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
342 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Criers Croft
Criers Croft
#5 of 9 in Freshwater
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
1.2 mi away
Heathfield Farm Camping
Heathfield Farm Camping
#1 of 5 in Freshwater
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Really Green Holiday Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Really Green Holiday Company

Address: Blackbridge Rd, Freshwater PO40 9QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Freshwater
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Really Green Holiday Company Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing