We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house, confy, clean, great breakfast and very polite owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buttercup House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freshwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buttercup House
Ranked #6 of 10 Freshwater B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely house, confy, clean, great breakfast and very polite owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Me ans another brazilian friend stayed there for a weekend in the summer and we very much enjoyed!

They helped us renting a car and also to feel very at ease in their beautiful renovated cottage, with very confy rooms.

The english breakfast was also very good.

The only thing about location is that is in the opposite side of thenIsle, when it comes to partying and action, but its close to the Needles Park, a good chinese rest and some pubs.

I'd go back if i had the chance!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReDivila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    7
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
10
25
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Betchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed here for one night during a walking trip. The greeting from Jacquie was welcoming and friendly. She was so relaxed and made us laugh our aching feet better! The room was first class, with every detail considered. We had a small refridgerator with fresh milk (a rare treat in most B&B's). The place was spotless and we slept like logs. Breakfast was lovely with home made bread, and preserves. The eggs, which I had scrambled with smoked salmon, were beautiful.
Jacquie was so friendly and made us laugh. I can't imagine how anyone would interpret her behaviour as disrespectful! She really knows what she's doing, and we would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnekovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Buttercup House, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us Lynne.
Hope to see you again one day. ps. foot
doing well !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Me and my friend came from Brazil to the Isle for a weeding so we were not sure what to expect, and we found a very cozy "home" waiting for us at the buttercup house.

Excelent reception by the owner and excelent acomodations where we slept as well. Full english breakfest to give us energy for the day.

I def recomend renting a car while there... The only thing about the buttercup house was that, fir us, it was a bit far from where we wanted to go and also from Ryde, where most of the nightlife happnes.. But still, there's a good Chinese Restaurant nearby and, of course, a PUB!

It is also close to the Needles Park, beautiful site! Worth the visit for those who like outdoors...

I had a lovely weekend there!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReDivila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vectis2, Owner at Buttercup House, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Google Translation
Muito obrigado pelas suas palavras amaveis.
Fico muito contente em saber que gostou muito da sua estadia.
Espero ver voces outra vez um dia.
Cumprimentos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We've just returned from our fourth trip to Buttercup House in three years and the welcome we received, the rooms, and the food were as excellent as ever. Very good value and of a standard that would put many hotels to shame.

Jacquie and Rob have worked very hard to make this a really delightful place to relax in, and it's an ideal location for exploring the west of the Island.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Mrs Buttercup surely does not know the meaning of good Customer Service. Very disrespectful behaviour.

We wouldn't stay at the Buttercup house, even if she promised to pay us.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanford-le-hope essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

once again had a fantastic stay at buttercup house, we have stopped for the third time in august 2011, and as usual it was a great stay. jacqui and rob are excellent hosts, the family room is big and roomy with nice ensuite that is practical for a family room. the breakfasts are to die for and our 16 year old son demolished a huge breakfast encouraged by jacqui!. we have found a loverly place to stop on our frequent vists to the isle of wight. we must thank them also for the surprise in our room, much enjoyed thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tr7spitfiregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Buttercup House was an excellent B&B.

Our room was an en-suite double, which also had it's own separate sitting room. The sitting room had a TV, PVR freeview and a DVD player. Accompanied by a small drinks fridge and large sofa it made our stay much more comfortable than the usual 'watching TV in bed' as is the norm in most hotels/B&Bs. There is an extensive DVD selection available to borrow downstairs.

The bedroom was very clean with ample storage space. Bathroom was small and kept in good order.

Breakfast was a treat. Fresh bread daily (it's a shame to make it into toast!!) you select your choices for breakfastthe evening before an all is cooked for you fresh at the time you select.

The owners could not have been more careful, helping us with our luggage and advice on where to eat.

A great stay and I would recommend it!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkg_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
0.8 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
2.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 10 in Freshwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Criers Croft
Criers Croft
#4 of 10 in Freshwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttercup House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttercup House

Property: Buttercup House
Address: Buttercup House Camp Road, Freshwater PO40 9HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B & B situated in Freshwater, Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buttercup House Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing