We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay!”
Review of Buttercup House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freshwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buttercup House
Ranked #6 of 9 Freshwater B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Have just returned from another fabulous week at Buttercup House. Have visited numerous times before and would highly recommend. The hosts are welcoming, friendly and helpful on all matters and you are always assured of excellent food and impeccable accommodation.

Room Tip: Two rooms have separate sitting rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vectis2, Owner at Buttercup House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for your kind words, Sue.
Looking forward to seeing you again this summer
and please bring some sunshine with you.....!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Sorry to read the previous review. Hostess has a direct manner which might have come over as described but our experience was very different. Found the room very comfortable and also had the one with the adjacent sitting room equipped with bottle opener and wine glasses so we took the hint and walked into the village to find a Sainsbury's with the necessary. There is a short cut signposted up the road if you turn right which brings you out next to the school and from there it is a short walk down to the right to the supermarket on the left opposite a cafe. Confusingly the car park is across the road on your right!
Best breakfast of our trip!

Room Tip: Ask for the adjacent sitting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vectis2, Owner at Buttercup House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, Judith.
Hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Booked a room, paid in advance, then told room had been double booked and I would have to move. I ended up paying a further £200+ to another hotel in the village. On a business trip, so really had no alternative.

Owners were rude, unhelpful, and oblivious to customer care.

My advice: Avoid this hotel at all cost's, unless you want the "Faulty Towers" experience!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthonydavidwootton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

The reviewer implies that he booked a room for himself when, in fact, he is the manager of a local branch of HF Holidays, an activity/interest chain of hotels, and was booking a room on behalf of a Team Leader after having double-booked the room allocated to her.
He further implies that our actions left him out of pocket although the appropriate refund was promptly given, along with our apologies for the error.
Regarding the low scores on value, location etc. we wonder how these scores have been arrived at by a person who has NOT stayed at Buttercup House. Clearly it is a vindictive and inventive scoring which should be removed.
We shall be writing to HF Holidays regarding this matter, outlining our dismay at the poor calibre of the Freshwater Bay House management..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Welcoming and friendly hosts. The room was large, clean and well equipped. Breakfast was excellent with good choice of menu which apart from the traditional included smoked salmon & scrambled eggs. Would unhesitatingly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidF1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Had a short but really pleasant stay here. Impeccable, clean, owners friendly & helpful without being overbearing. We had room with adjacent sitting room which was very welcome. Excellent breakfast. Hope to be back one day & have already recommended to lots of friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amswifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.
So pleased that you had a good time. Hoping to
see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Me ans another brazilian friend stayed there for a weekend in the summer and we very much enjoyed!

They helped us renting a car and also to feel very at ease in their beautiful renovated cottage, with very confy rooms.

The english breakfast was also very good.

The only thing about location is that is in the opposite side of thenIsle, when it comes to partying and action, but its close to the Needles Park, a good chinese rest and some pubs.

I'd go back if i had the chance!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReDivila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed here for one night during a walking trip. The greeting from Jacquie was welcoming and friendly. She was so relaxed and made us laugh our aching feet better! The room was first class, with every detail considered. We had a small refridgerator with fresh milk (a rare treat in most B&B's). The place was spotless and we slept like logs. Breakfast was lovely with home made bread, and preserves. The eggs, which I had scrambled with smoked salmon, were beautiful.
Jacquie was so friendly and made us laugh. I can't imagine how anyone would interpret her behaviour as disrespectful! She really knows what she's doing, and we would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnekovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us Lynne.
Hope to see you again one day. ps. foot
doing well !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freshwater hotels
0.8 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
334 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Colwell Bay Holiday Cottages
0.3 mi away
Criers Croft
Criers Croft
#5 of 9 in Freshwater
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heathfield Farm Camping
Heathfield Farm Camping
#1 of 5 in Freshwater
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttercup House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttercup House

Address: Buttercup House Camp Road, Freshwater PO40 9HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B & B situated in Freshwater, Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buttercup House Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing