We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Buttercup House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freshwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buttercup House
Ranked #6 of 9 Freshwater B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We were made to feel very welcome by the hosts.
We stayed in the family room which was very spacious, comfortable and clean.
The breakfast was absolutely delicious.
This was the best B&B that either of us have ever stayed in and when we visit the Isle of Wight again we shall most definately be staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vectis2, Owner at Buttercup House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Many thanks for the kind review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay
and we hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just had a lovely week at Buttercup House,Jacquie and Rob made us very welcome,and this place is just the best.The bedroom was immaculate with adjoining sitting room with very nice touches like a fridge with fresh milk and ice cold water every day,a microwave just outside on the landing,and a superb breakfast !!.Cannot fault this place,we have stopped at other BB's but none like this.Well done J & R really appreciated your efforts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vectis2, Owner at Buttercup House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Great to hear you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you
again when you're next on the lovely Isle of Wight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Buttercup house was one of the more affordable accommodation options in Freshwater and we were very happy with our choice.
The B&B is a characterful building and one of the oldest locally and was even occupied by monks in the past; there is a garden for guest use and plenty of parking. If you like cats, Honey, the elderly ginger resident, always comes over to greet you, which was a bonus for us. The owners also have several dogs, but we didn't see much of them.
Rooms are well equipped, with plenty of thought going into extras such as mini fridges with fresh milk and even a corkscrew and wine glasses provided.
The family room we had was very large, although the ensuite shower room quite small.
Breakfast is well organised and choices are made the night before, with a good selection of hot food and also fresh fruit. Very well recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattinbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vectis2, Owner at Buttercup House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Many thanks for the kind review.
Pleased to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you all again when next on the IOW.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Have just returned from another fabulous week at Buttercup House. Have visited numerous times before and would highly recommend. The hosts are welcoming, friendly and helpful on all matters and you are always assured of excellent food and impeccable accommodation.

Room Tip: Two rooms have separate sitting rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vectis2, Owner at Buttercup House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for your kind words, Sue.
Looking forward to seeing you again this summer
and please bring some sunshine with you.....!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Sorry to read the previous review. Hostess has a direct manner which might have come over as described but our experience was very different. Found the room very comfortable and also had the one with the adjacent sitting room equipped with bottle opener and wine glasses so we took the hint and walked into the village to find a Sainsbury's with the necessary. There is a short cut signposted up the road if you turn right which brings you out next to the school and from there it is a short walk down to the right to the supermarket on the left opposite a cafe. Confusingly the car park is across the road on your right!
Best breakfast of our trip!

Room Tip: Ask for the adjacent sitting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vectis2, Owner at Buttercup House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, Judith.
Hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Booked a room, paid in advance, then told room had been double booked and I would have to move. I ended up paying a further £200+ to another hotel in the village. On a business trip, so really had no alternative.

Owners were rude, unhelpful, and oblivious to customer care.

My advice: Avoid this hotel at all cost's, unless you want the "Faulty Towers" experience!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthonydavidwootton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

The reviewer implies that he booked a room for himself when, in fact, he is the manager of a local branch of HF Holidays, an activity/interest chain of hotels, and was booking a room on behalf of a Team Leader after having double-booked the room allocated to her.
He further implies that our actions left him out of pocket although the appropriate refund was promptly given, along with our apologies for the error.
Regarding the low scores on value, location etc. we wonder how these scores have been arrived at by a person who has NOT stayed at Buttercup House. Clearly it is a vindictive and inventive scoring which should be removed.
We shall be writing to HF Holidays regarding this matter, outlining our dismay at the poor calibre of the Freshwater Bay House management..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Welcoming and friendly hosts. The room was large, clean and well equipped. Breakfast was excellent with good choice of menu which apart from the traditional included smoked salmon & scrambled eggs. Would unhesitatingly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidF1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
0.8 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
1.0 mi away
The Highdown Inn
The Highdown Inn
#7 of 11 in Totland Bay
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Totland Bay
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 11 in Totland Bay
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttercup House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttercup House

Address: Buttercup House Camp Road, Freshwater PO40 9HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B & B situated in Freshwater, Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buttercup House Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing