We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two Happy People”
Review of Buttercup House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freshwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buttercup House
Ranked #6 of 9 Freshwater B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Two Happy People”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We have been staying at The Buttercup for years and thought it was time to put a review on here. Having visited all over the island staying at numerous guest houses , hotels , other bed and breakfast places and rental cottages , once we discovered The Buttercup we never went anywhere else.Rob and Jacquie always give us a warm welcome.
The room we stay in has the most comfortable bed , and the added sitting room is a bonus.The breakfast is the best !! and will set you up for the day. Close by are good walks to the needles and Alum bay , with a supermarket , ATM and more than one pub within walking distance plus the bus stop to get around the Island is just a short walk down the road.
We highly recommend the Buttercup , and hope to visit again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vectis2, Owner at Buttercup House, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Be seeing you next year then, Liz and Tim ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    7
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
10
25
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My father and i stayed here last week. We arrived at 3pm and had to drive to the village and pay to park the car for an hour as we were not allowed to arrive before 4pm. We drove back at 3.50pm and rang the bell.....no answer, rang again.....no answer. It was very hot and we had to sit in the garden until 4pm when Mr buttercup answered the door!!!!
He showed us to our rooms and read out the rules and regulations.....no polite conversation though! We agreed on an 8.30am breakfast. The towels in our room were hard and rough, the fridge was so noisy we had to turn it off in the night. The rooms were right by the front door so could here everything. We shared a shower room along the hall, there were no shower mats on the tiled floor.......health and safety issues there as the floor got wet very easily and you had two slate steps up to the shower, when these are wet you could easily slip!!!! No toiletries provided at all i.e. shower gel, shampoo etc.
We arrived for breakfast at 8.30am only to be greeted with "you're early"! We were not, her husband had written down the wrong time. Mrs Buttercup was rude and very unfriendly, she didnt even ask if we had slept well or make any conversation.
We ate our breakfast and handed our keys in and still no pleasant reaction from her.
We got the impression we were just a nuisance in her home rather than paying guests. In my opinion they are in the wrong profession....lacking customer skills. We have stayed in many B&Bs in the IOW and they have been perfect with very welcoming hosts.
Will we stay here again....... NOT IN A MILLION YEARS!!!!!
Rude and not interested.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jan701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vectis2, Owner at Buttercup House, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your brief stay at Buttercup House. Whilst most comments are subjective, we must point out the following :
Arrival time of after 4pm is not just a suggestion to be ignored by those it does not suit. We can only assume that being unable to gain early access to your rooms made you determined to find fault with everything.
The shower room was missing a mat (sorry about that) but one would have been supplied immediately if requested. There is only one tiled step to the shower - not two. Liquid soap and shower gel were definitely supplied.
Finally, we take great pride in our little business and seem to please most people most of the time but sadly not all !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I've just stayed here for two nights with a friend, while walking part of the IOW coastal path. We found it the perfect place to relax after a hard day's rambling. It's a very pretty house in peaceful part of Freshwater. Jacqui was thoughtful enough to phone me while we were on our journey to the island to explain the arrangements she had put in place for us to be checked in as she was out for the evening. We loved the thoughtful touches in the room such as fresh milk in the fridge and a corkscrew and wine glasses. Breakfast was delicious - particularly all the fresh fruit -- and the system of choosing the night before means that it is served very promptly. Our only small criticism (and it amused us rather than annoyed us) is that the owners clearly love an extremely warm bedroom, and tended to come in and switch on electric heaters in the evening - so we'd come back, turn everything off, and fling the windows open to cool it down. I'm sure that for older guests this would have been a most welcome gesture though.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vectis2, Owner at Buttercup House, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Many apologies for 'overheating' you both. We, like yourselves, prefer a cold
bedroom, it's just that 95% of our guests seem to prefer the heat ! Glad to hear
you enjoyed your stay nonetheless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We are a family of four and booked the family room for two days over Easter. We were greeted on arrival and had all that needed to be explained, explained.

Our room and the house in general were all well presented. The room was large and suited us well. There was a good TV, a good compliments / beverages tray and also a small fridge / wine chiller.

When I'd viewed the room on the web site I thought the carpet looked a bit cheap, but this was a total illusion, it was a lovely deep pile wool carpet and in keeping with all of the other fittings in the house.

The room could get a little cold at night, but the owner put in two additional heaters without us needing to ask and let's not forget it was close to freezing outside, with a strong Easterly wind.

Breakfast needs to be ordered the night before and is served in sittings, by room. This worked really well and everything was cooked from fresh and was of good quality. The offering for continental breakfast was also of good quality with lots of choice. The tableware etc was all spotless and good quality. The only downside of breakfast in sittings is that you don't meet any other guests.

I used a set of directions from the room book, describing a walk to the Needles, but did it as a run instead. How invigorating, running straight along the crest of Tennyson Down, with the Solent to the left, the Channel to the right and the Needles straight ahead.

Considering what we paid, with four hearty breakfasts included and the quality of the surroundings then Buttercup House has to be well recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vectis2, Owner at Buttercup House, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Wow what a fantastic B&B. I had some business on the Isle of Wight and booked this B&B on the back of other TripAdvisor reviews.
I was greeted warmly by the owners Jacquie and Rob who made me feel most welcome into their home, I was shown my room (family size) which was beautiful, it had everything a double bed and two single beds including a comfortable sofa, the room was huge. There was tea making facilities a fridge and a big TV with a DVD. After an extremely comfortable nights sleep and a nice hot shower I was ready for breakfast oh I was not disappointed. The breakfast consisted of; fruit juices, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, coffee, tea, toast, jams and the FULL ENGLISH BREAKFAST with all the trimmings.
If you need to stay on business or a family holiday stay at this Great British B&B.
Hope this helps.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIG_APL_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vectis2, Owner at Buttercup House, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Many thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you again soon, perhaps for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We were made to feel very welcome by the hosts.
We stayed in the family room which was very spacious, comfortable and clean.
The breakfast was absolutely delicious.
This was the best B&B that either of us have ever stayed in and when we visit the Isle of Wight again we shall most definately be staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vectis2, Owner at Buttercup House, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Many thanks for the kind review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay
and we hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just had a lovely week at Buttercup House,Jacquie and Rob made us very welcome,and this place is just the best.The bedroom was immaculate with adjoining sitting room with very nice touches like a fridge with fresh milk and ice cold water every day,a microwave just outside on the landing,and a superb breakfast !!.Cannot fault this place,we have stopped at other BB's but none like this.Well done J & R really appreciated your efforts.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vectis2, Owner at Buttercup House, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Great to hear you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you
again when you're next on the lovely Isle of Wight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
0.8 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
2.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 10 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Criers Croft
Criers Croft
#4 of 9 in Freshwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttercup House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttercup House

Property: Buttercup House
Address: Buttercup House Camp Road, Freshwater PO40 9HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B & B situated in Freshwater, Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buttercup House Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing