We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by images on website!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colwell Bay Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't be fooled by images on website!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just got back from a weeks holiday staying in cottages 3 and 4 we paid a fair amount as we were in the Summer holidays we were sold luxury accommodation we were a party of 9 we were very disappointed in the refurbished!!!!! Kitchen and bathroom as they were both very tired and not the cleanest lots of cigarette butts along the side path of our cottage, on the way to the hub tub which was nice but no real garden furniture to relax on or a view to look out on. We were blessed with the weather so that was great out everyday as didn't want to stay around the park. Would not recommend this park if your looking for luxury.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    97
    30
    15
    6
See reviews for
162
93
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
READING
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Lovely location, literally a few minutes walk from beautiful Colwell Bay which is a 'blue flag' beach, perfect for families. We found the cottage compact & the living room & bedrooms well provided for with modern, comfortable furniture. The bathroom, however looking a little tired & needed renovating to keep to the standards elsewhere in the accommodation. Unfortunately, despite providing a good compact dishwasher there was only 4 items provided of cutlery & crockery so consequently it was easier to wash these than use the dishwasher too often. The pool was good & we found the tennis courts excellent - always available to use & balls & rackets all provided. The staff were friendly & helpful. A little more attention to detail would bring this accommodation up to an excellent category!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great location. Grounds and amenities were well kept - kids loved the pool and tennis court. Unfortunately not the same care and attention applied inside the accommodation - the bathroom in particular was in need of a refurb as the floor and seals were mouldy and very water damaged, door stuck and the suite looked quite old. Toaster was faulty and fridge was quite iced up. Could have done with more clothes storage. These are things that should be easily fixed though. Beds were comfy. The nearby bay (accessed via a private gate) is lovely and seemed very popular. A visit to 'The Hut' restaurant is definitely worth it - a fab menu and atmosphere right by the sea.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMH613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were sold this as luxury accommodation and I have to say for the first week of the school holidays, that we paid a fair price which is the only reason I am leaving four stars and not three. The cottages are modern and nicely furnished but there is not enough wardrobe space - we ended up leaving our clothes in a case. We had been to the supermarket before arriving, and immediately encountered a problem...the freezer was so frosted that it's door would not close and we could not open the drawers! This should have been observed and dealt with before we arrived. We immediately brought this to the attention of the management who did deal with it quickly with the aid of a chisel!!! The kitchen sill was covered in dust and webs and the whole house could have done with a thorough clean. The bathroom being the main issue - mouldy and don't look at the sink overflow!! Such a shame. The bedding and towels were clean and the beds comfy. We stayed in Yarmouth cottage number 8 which is furthest away from the pool but nearest the door which leads to the beach. It had a hot tub which we enjoyed and we found it to be very peaceful and relaxing. I had read that the hot tub ruined swim wear so we took our old costumes but I have to say that they remain in good order. Colwell bay is a superb sandy beach and has a few little beach shops and a fabulous restaurant (The Hut) which was expensive but worth it for a last night treat (book a table). We did find that whilst Colwell Bay is in the nicest part of the island for peace and quiet that it does take 40 minutes to drive to all the major attractions. My husband did not mind this but bear this in mind before booking. A close attraction was the Isle of Wight Alpacas which our children loved! I only tried the pool once but it was pleasant...my husband and children loved the tennis court and the racquets were free to borrow...very good. Going back to the cottage itself, it is only equipped with enough for four - four plates, four mugs etc so take extras. It is well equipped with a microwave, gas oven and full hob and enough cupboard space. Take some cat food to feed the two strays...they are tame and grateful, Overall, the cottage is comfy and does the job but if they were cleaner then they could live more up to the luxury description that Hoseasons give. We would go back at the right price as overall we had a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: Yarmouth Cottages have a hot tub which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minijudithfromleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived to find 'Yarmouth Cottage' and our initial thoughts were how nice and a good layout, BUT OMG how long has this dust been here? Everywhere was covered in dust you could write your name in it ! The cutlery/crockery was dirty, my wife spent half the fist day cleaning the cooker, microwave, cutlery (of which there were only 4 of each!) work tops floors and the less we say about the bathroom/toilet the better YUK !!!.
The website says it was totally refurbed in 2013 but I would dispute this strongly. The layout and equipment levels were good as was the 'welcome pack'
We have stayed in 2 other Hoseasons sites and they were lovely but this certainly lets them down BIG STYLE, or their staff do. !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Recently returned from weeks stay at Colwell Bay Cottages from 12th July -19th July in the Alum Cottage. Excellent accommodation very clean and well presented having washer/dryer and dishwasher, iron and ironing board all to hand for a family is just the job. Beds made before arrival towels & tea towel all provided what more could you ask for. Swimming pool warm and kept open from 8am to 7pm just what my 2.5 year old grandson needed to keep amused. lovely beach a few minutes walk down the road with shops within walking distance.
Staff are very friendly and accommodating making our stay worthwhile we will defiantly be returning and telling friends and family to ensure they visit.
Weather was fantastic which was a bonus and didn't want to leave!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed in a Freshwater cottage which had excellent decor and was very well equipped and the welcome food pack was a lovely touch. We are a family of 6 and this cottage catered well for it. We had a great 4 night break using the tennis court everyday and swimming pool. Staff were helpful and attentive and the whole park was well maintained and presented.
Colwell Bay is just a few minutes walk away, a lovely sandy beach with rock pools in areas. Colwell Bay has good facilities and places to eat and drink, blue flag award.
Great holiday with plenty to see and do and of course the weather was amazing which added to our enjoyment so would recommend highly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicestershireMarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
1.7 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
306 reviews
17.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
16.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
723 reviews
11.7 mi away
Rookley Country Park
Rookley Country Park
#1 of 2 in Rookley
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colwell Bay Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colwell Bay Holiday Cottages

Property: Colwell Bay Holiday Cottages
Address: Fort Warden Road | Colwell Bay, Freshwater, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Freshwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Island View Bungalows Hotel Isle Of Wight
Colwell Bay Holiday Cottages Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing