We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
50
10
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
10
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome pack lovely cottage bread on site private garden isle of wight thoroughly enjoyed our stay coastal path alfred dogs milk stable bedroom island tennyson
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Farringford seems to be a hidden gem. Very quiet and peaceful. Our second stay in Alfred Cottages which are dog friendly although you'd never know dogs had stayed as it was so clean. Very flexible with holiday dates which is really helpful when trying to organise 5 adults ! Easy walk into freshwater and close to colwell bay etc by car. Unfortunately didn't get to try the pool this visit either due to the weather but looks very nice - hopefully third time lucky !

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCMHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

...this place is lovely. We stayed in 2 King Alfred Cottage and had a great time. The welcome pack of eggs, bread etc was a real bonus. Comfortable beds and furnishings in general. We used the pool and tennis court every day but didn't have a chance to check out the restaurant. We hope to be able to do that next time. Very quiet (in a good way) and interesting place. Thank you.

Room tip: 2 King Alfred's Cottages was great. Private garden, very quiet and glimpses of the golf course and wild rabbits galore.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jobie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Having stayed in the old Farringford Hotel and its cottages many times over the years, I had not realised that the old cottages are still open - and very comfortably refurbished. A very quiet and pleasurable place to stay at the beautiful west end of the Isle o Wight. And the pack of food we found in the room was the best I have ever seen in self-catering accommodation.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtConnect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I recently stayed at Farringford and would like to say what a lovely place it is to stay. A very warm welcome from staff where nothing is too much trouble! The cottage was very clean and comfortable with lovely beds, lovely linen and fluffy white towels! A welcome pack of food - fresh bread, eggs, bacon, cereal, milk, butter, marmalade and even treats for our two dogs who also enjoyed their stay! Try the restaurant - the food is delicious and the service excellent. Give it a try - you won't be disappointed!

Date of stay: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret-Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quicksilver0934, Owner at Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our "Welcome Pack" is very well received by our guests, and it is good to know that we have chosen the right ingredients. We are delighted that you enjoyed the many fabulous walks leading straight from the grounds, and that you liked our new menu. Thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have been staying in the Freshwater area for years as we have relatives locally Just started staying here and think its great The cottages are really well equipped and clean ( we have been in Emily superior and regular now) and teh welcome pack is teh best we have ever had in any self catering However on our stay over easter this year we found them a bit on the chilly side especially the second bedroom
Daily round of golf by Dad and tennis for teenagers- realy easy to make the most of the facilities with no fuss needed Its in a fab location perfect for walking and really quiet. Lovely birds and the farm next door makes you feel realy rural We are booked for June when hopefully we can use the swimming pool

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonMotherof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews