We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too good to tell you”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freshwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Back again, never disappoints. The weather was wet & miserable when we arrived but the cottage was aired, small radiator on to take the chill off (july), v thoughtful, & essential food in fridge..
Everything here is so clean & comfortable. Love the surroundings.
One of the few places you don't have to stick to the Fri-mon or Mon-fri. dates if available.
Love the Orchards village shop, 3 mins drive or 15 mins walk, has everything you could need..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank denisehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Farringford seems to be a hidden gem. Very quiet and peaceful. Our second stay in Alfred Cottages which are dog friendly although you'd never know dogs had stayed as it was so clean. Very flexible with holiday dates which is really helpful when trying to organise 5 adults ! Easy walk into freshwater and close to colwell bay etc by car. Unfortunately didn't get to try the pool this visit either due to the weather but looks very nice - hopefully third time lucky !

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCMHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

...this place is lovely. We stayed in 2 King Alfred Cottage and had a great time. The welcome pack of eggs, bread etc was a real bonus. Comfortable beds and furnishings in general. We used the pool and tennis court every day but didn't have a chance to check out the restaurant. We hope to be able to do that next time. Very quiet (in a good way) and interesting place. Thank you.

Room Tip: 2 King Alfred's Cottages was great. Private garden, very quiet and glimpses of the golf course a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jobie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Having stayed in the old Farringford Hotel and its cottages many times over the years, I had not realised that the old cottages are still open - and very comfortably refurbished. A very quiet and pleasurable place to stay at the beautiful west end of the Isle o Wight. And the pack of food we found in the room was the best I have ever seen in self-catering accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtConnect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I recently stayed at Farringford and would like to say what a lovely place it is to stay. A very warm welcome from staff where nothing is too much trouble! The cottage was very clean and comfortable with lovely beds, lovely linen and fluffy white towels! A welcome pack of food - fresh bread, eggs, bacon, cereal, milk, butter, marmalade and even treats for our two dogs who also enjoyed their stay! Try the restaurant - the food is delicious and the service excellent. Give it a try - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret-Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quicksilver0934, Owner at Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our "Welcome Pack" is very well received by our guests, and it is good to know that we have chosen the right ingredients. We are delighted that you enjoyed the many fabulous walks leading straight from the grounds, and that you liked our new menu. Thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have been staying in the Freshwater area for years as we have relatives locally Just started staying here and think its great The cottages are really well equipped and clean ( we have been in Emily superior and regular now) and teh welcome pack is teh best we have ever had in any self catering However on our stay over easter this year we found them a bit on the chilly side especially the second bedroom
Daily round of golf by Dad and tennis for teenagers- realy easy to make the most of the facilities with no fuss needed Its in a fab location perfect for walking and really quiet. Lovely birds and the farm next door makes you feel realy rural We are booked for June when hopefully we can use the swimming pool

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonMotherof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This was our third visit to the Farringford Self Catering Holiday Village, and it exceeded my expectations - again. We stayed for two weeks in May, 2011, in one of the newly renovated Alfred Cottages. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the cottage, the fully equipped kitchen and the modern bathrooms, not to mention the wood-burning fireplace complete with chopped wood. As a well-appreciated kindness, the kitchen was thoughtfully stocked with coffee, tea, milk, jam, butter, eggs, bread, bacon, cereal and more. Lovely! Every day after a strenuous hike on the glorious Isle of Wight, we returned to our cottage and spent the late afternoon in our private garden, resting our weary bones in very comfortable deck chairs. During our two week stay, we dined at The Garden Restaurant six times! The meals were absolutely delicious, the wine list was extensive, and the menu was varied and reflected much thought and a genuine desire to please even the most discerning palate. I highly recommend the Sunday roast lunch, and if you are lucky enough to see the chef's freshly made chocolate mousse on the menu, do not hesitate to indulge yourself - it is worth it! My husband played the golf course many times, and considers it very well designed, and the setting is spectacular. The staff were very friendly and helpful, providing us with everything from hiking maps to golf clubs. It just doesn't get any better than this, and we will definitely return to the Farringford, perhaps for a month next time. It is perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Idyllslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freshwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
342 reviews
1 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Criers Croft
Criers Croft
#5 of 9 in Freshwater
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
1 mi away
Heathfield Farm Camping
Heathfield Farm Camping
#1 of 5 in Freshwater
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bay Bed & Breakfast
The Bay Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 9 in Freshwater
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages

Address: Bedbury Lane, Freshwater PO40 9PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Freshwater
Price Range: £140 - £572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious self-catering cottages are the ideal holiday destination, and the perfect base from which to enjoy and explore the beautiful Isle of Wight. Equipped with every comfort from home all of our cottages are available to let throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Farringford Self Catering Holiday Village Hotel Freshwater
Farringford Hotel Freshwater
Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing