We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and warm welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freshwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and warm welcome”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had a late season short break in Farringford. The accommodation is clean and well equipped (we stayed in a "standard" emily cottage). The welcome pack was very generous (milk, eggs, bacon, bread, butter, marmalade and cornflakes). Location is fantastic with direct access to walks on the high downs to the Needles and Alum Bay, plus the coastal path. An real (an unexpected) gem is the on-site restaurant. Don't assume anything from the exterior!! This was the best food and best service we had on the island - excellent wines too - and very rare in West Wight. If you stay at Farringford, it's definitely a must. Would definitely recommend it as a base for seeing the island.

Room Tip: All cottages are easily accessible and quiet. Emily standard cottage was excellent value but the Emi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quicksilver0934, Owner at Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you from all of us at Farringford for your wonderful and very positive review. I am delighted that you liked your cottage, and am glad to hear that you took advantage of the fantastic walks, many of which are directly accessible from the grounds. I am very happy that you think our restaurant is a real find, with the best food and service to be found on the Island, and I thank you for this wholehearted and generous endorsement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Four adults & one cocker spaniel stayed in Alfred 2 for a short break last week.

We received a warm & efficient welcome at Reception, & the "welcome pack" in the cottage was superb (milk, eggs, butter, bread, marmalade, logs for the wood burner - although there is also gas central heating - detergent for the dishwasher, a handful of dog treats & some dog poo bags).

The Cottage has been refurbished to a high standard & is mostly well maintained (just very slight lifting of some flooring here & there). It was cleaned to a high standard. One bedroom had twin beds & an en suite shower, the other a double bed with en suite bathroom (with an efficient thermostatically controlled shower head over). One luxury was the under floor heating in the bathrooms !

The Alfred 2 has an enclosed garden which was convenient for our dog, & it was also situated near the "Green Gate" (you'll know when you visit !) with easy access to green lanes & a path onto Tennyson Down plus Freshwater Bay - fabulous !

The cottage is very cosy with comfortable furniture & flat screen FreeView TV (plus I think a DVD player).

Only one relatively small niggle was the WiFi hotspot - they have opted for a commercial LIMITED (100Meg) service rather than unlimited via a local secure router. The log in on every session & flaky nature of the connection was rather tedious, although the usage allowance was just enough for four days.

We had a splendid stay & would highly recommend the cottages.

(see my other review re a take-away pizza from the Garden Restaurant situated in the grounds).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quicksilver0934, Owner at Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you very much for posting a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage comfortable and to your liking. thank you for your comments about our WiFi. All feedback is useful, and we shall be talking to our supplier to see if the log in process can be made any easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

What a beautiful charming place. The grounds are beautiful to walk around. The staff are efficient and helpful. Cottages are clean & beautiful. Family friendly place as well as the restaurant. I love the 2 pools, one for adults and one for children, great to keep the children occupied. I loved my stay at Farringford and will be going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorraineBrown2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quicksilver0934, Owner at Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
We are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay at Farringford. Thank you for posting such a complimentary review. It is very encouraging for all of us here to know that we are getting it right and pleasing our guests. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had a great weeks holiday in an Emily cottage. Lots of tennis, golf and swimming, with delicious homemade pizza in the restaurant. Clean well equipped simple accommodation. Very comfy beds! Great place for children and as part of our family took another cottage just opposite us even better! We hear that they are demolishing the Emily Cottages and focusing on the better appointed Alfred Cottages in the future, from our perspective that seems a shame but we'd definitely give it a second go even if the prices go up as I'm sure they will. Beautiful setting with great walks and you can feel the literary setting in your bones. We were worried about the dogs but it wasn't a problem. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annastylewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quicksilver0934, Owner at Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the trouble to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Farringford and that you made the most of our facilities and the grounds, not to mention the wonderful walks that surround us. We are so pleased that our new menu for this summer has been so well received. Thank you for saying you will return, despite regretting the closure of the Emily cottages. I feel confident that after just one stay in our Alfred cottages, or the newly restored Stables you will not once look back. Furthermore, with the house restored and the grounds improved the setting will be even more beautiful. We look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My family and I stayed in one of the Emily cottages at Farringford for a lovely long weekend. It was easy to find what with the signposts pointing the way once in Freshwater, and the cottage was simply charming. Juice, milk, eggs, butter, bacon and cornflakes were provided for us when we arrived, and the cottage was tidy and well presented. The kids loved using the swimming pool and being able to walk around the extensive grounds visiting the white cows grazing, and seeing rabbits hopping merrily about. Great access for walks to the Needles and Tennyson Downs, and easy to get to Sainsburys for food and other supplies also.

My sister also declared the beds as the most comfortable sleep she'd ever had while at a self catering holiday cottage. We were located in a lovely quiet position by the garden wall also.

We were sad to go when our holiday time was up. I can't recommend this place highly enough for self catering holidaymakers!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quicksilver0934, Owner at Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I am delighted that during your stay with us you had the opportunity to discover some of the many wonderful walks to the down and beyond which directly adjoin Farringford. We take great care in the presentation of our accommodation and I am very happy that you liked your cottage and that your sister found the bed so comfortable. When you return, which I hope you will, you will see even more white cows, known as White Park, as a calf was born quite recently and we are building up a small herd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were really pleased when we arrived at our cottage. The place was really clean and all seemed quite new, everything is from ikea, from the forks to the furniture. There was a welcome pack of local food provided which included fresh bread, butter, bacon plus some cornflakes and marmalade. They had also provided a cot and high chair for us. The shower was hot and powerful and the beds were comfy and we slept well every night. They provide clean towels on each bed which are replaced midweek. The only downside for us was the main building is being renovated at the moment (May 2013) as is the swimming pool so both of those were out of action and we weren't informed of this when we booked. The childrens play area is just a couple of swings but we were so busy doing day trips that we didn't use them. Overall this was a lovely cottage to stay in and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Not all of the cottages have private gardens and some are slightly bigger than others. Number 5 does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonSarah_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quicksilver0934, Owner at Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, full of helpful comments. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable holiday at Farringford, that you liked the Welcome pack and found your cottage very clean and comfortable. I am sorry that you experienced a few downsides, one being that the pool was not open, and the other that the main house is closed for renovation. You felt that you might have been informed at the time of booking on both counts. We do not as a policy open the pool until the season brings warmer weather, however, I will ensure that guests are better informed of this. Our website provides up to date information on the restoration to the main house, together with photographs showing the various stages of progress and some very interesting blogs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marchwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed a couple of nights here and were very pleased with the cottage. the welcome pack was very comprehensive and all of local food. the cottage was very clean and had everything you required for your stay. some of the cottages are saved for owners with dogs. Farringford is a great area for walkers or a center for travelling.

Room Tip: some of the more expensive cottages have double glazing and wood burning stoves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul0629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quicksilver0934, Owner at Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Farringford, and thank you for posting your positive review. The house keeping team work hard to ensure that the cottages are scrupulously clean so it is great to know that their efforts are appreciated. Beautiful unspoilt West Wight is a walkers paradise as you rightly mention, and Farringford is very welcoming to all well behaved dogs. We are glad you enjoyed the Welcome Pack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
0.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
292 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
812 reviews
2.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
15.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages

Property: Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages
Address: Bedbury Lane, Freshwater PO40 9PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Freshwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious self-catering cottages are the ideal holiday destination, and the perfect base from which to enjoy and explore the beautiful Isle of Wight. Equipped with every comfort from home all of our cottages are available to let throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Farringford Self Catering Holiday Village Hotel Freshwater
Farringford Hotel Freshwater
Farringford Self Catering Holiday Cottages Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing