We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Criers Croft

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Criers Croft
Ranked #4 of 10 Freshwater B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gourmet Breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

This B and B is in the centre of Freshwater Village IoW. First impressions are of a lovely garden of which Tania and Peter (our hosts)are particularly proud. We then moved on to a very well decorated and furnished room overlooking the rear garden. Our room was not large but there is plenty of drawer and hanging space and a modern shower room and Peter stored our empty suitcases elsewhere to make best use of available space.

The breakfasts are superb.

During my stay I had a Kedgeree to good restaurant standard of quality and presentation; eggs benedict; smoked salmon and scrambled eggs;...and a very generous full English. All accompanied by normal options of cereal etc plus a very healthy fresh fruit salad. Food is served in a dining kitchen with a garden view which allows guests to be reassured by excellent standards of hygiene.
There was no dedicated parking but we had no difficulty gaining free parking within 50 yards of our front door.

We would return without hesitation and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
102
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is the best B&B we have ever stayed at! The whole house is beautifully and thoughtfully designed, is very very clean and comfortable, the garden absolutely stunning. Tania and Peter welcomed us into their home and we felt more like long lost friends than paying guests. Nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast was superb with lots of choice and we even got information on the weather! Plenty of parking, easy access to all the high spots on the island, we would love to go back to IOW and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawngabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Tania and Peter made us very welcome. Beautiful gardens, a very clean comfortable room (Sunrise) and quiet. The breakfast/s were extremely tasty and Tania's kitchen theatre made you feel very much part of their lovely home.
Full of information and tips about where to go on the island - we wouldn't hesitate to go there again and this gem of a B&B would easily beat the better hotels hands down on customer experience!

Room Tip: Any of them. Sunrise was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil_B5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had a most splendid stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. A varied menu is offered for breakfast and breakfast was delicious. Tania and Peter made us all feel very welcome and the house and garden are well maintained. Parking is available outside and the guest house is in a great location. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend anyone staying in the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Tania and Peter were most friendly and gave us a very warm welcome. The Room was beautiful with most comfortable beds which led to good sleeping! The gardens were lovely to relax in. And what a breakfast - a huge menu of superb home produced food! Nothing was to much bother for Peter and Tania, they even booked us into a local Inn for Dinner!
A wonderfully relaxing experience!

Room Tip: All rooms are superb!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Visited Tania and Peter in their fantastic B&B for the second time and this time took my Mum and Dad with us who are both nearly 80. We were all so well looked after even when Mum was a bit poorly on the last day. Both the rooms were very comfy, clean and well equipped. The balcony off our room was lovely to sit on when the weather allowed. The breakfast is always so lovely with a fantastic variety and freshly cooked while you chat about what you did yesterday and what you have planned for today with helpful advice thrown in if needed. Peter and Tania certainly know the island. Dad enjoyed talking to Tania about her beautiful garden and giving her some "advice". We will be returning soon but probably won't be able to go without Mum and Dad. The sign over the front door reads arrive as strangers leave as friends. So true.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tessie0456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

A lovely warm wellcome from Tania and Peter, who did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Our room in the Lodge was immaculate, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. The garden is lovely. The breakfasts were exceptional, better than many hotels would offer. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
0.9 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.8 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
1.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 10 in Freshwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criers Croft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criers Croft

Property: Criers Croft
Address: 107 School Green Road, Freshwater PO40 9AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Criers Croft 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Criers Croft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Criers Croft Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing