We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best pizza on the island”
Review of The Garden Cafe at Farringford - CLOSED

The Garden Cafe at Farringford
Cuisines: Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Farringford Garden cafe, which is set within the historic estate of Farringford, former home to Poet Laureate, Alfred, Lord Tennyson. Inside you will find a warm welcome from our friendly staff.We choose the best seasonal ingredients to create a truly delicious and affordable menu with something to tempt everyone. We offer a a sandwich menu for those with a smaller appetite. Our tempting pizzas are handcrafted and cooked in our wood fired oven. we recommend that you book your table. During the summer months the outside terrace is very popular with both self-catering guests and local residents alike.Our Garden Cafe is now closed for the Winter season. Thank you to all of our customers for another enjoyable Summer. We look forward to seeing you all when we re-open in the Spring!
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best pizza on the island”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I am completely addicted to pizza and find it almost impossible to find it done properly as the Italians do which is why I was so thrilled to have found this gem of a place. I cannot fault the pizzas at all, they were crisp and blackened from the wood fired oven just as they should be, with just the right amount of tomato sauce and cheese. A tad pricey but definitely worth it, plus the staff were absolutely lovely too.

www.jesscarose.com

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jesscarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quicksilver0934, Owner at The Garden Cafe at Farringford, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the trouble to post a comment after sampling our wood fired oven pizzas. I am very pleased you found ours to be as close to perfection as it is possible to find on the Island, particularly as it would seem you have tried many ! We take great pride in providing a friendly and efficient service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    8
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Pizza's & Salads”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Living on the Island for 7 yrs, and having had a superb, fresh, tuna salad many times previously ( stunningly delicious), I decided to try a freshly cooked pizza in their own Pizza Oven which you can watch being cooked from your table, accompanied by a " Greek Salad " that would rival any Greek Restaurant in Kefalonia..
The lovely lady " Terry" who has looked after my lively dog jasmine for Fun Days, joined me for lunch & has since returned & introduced her circle of friends to the beautifully prepared menu & venue. Lovely tranquil spot to enjoy your lunch, very friendly hosts, and excellent service.
We will be visiting many times in the future as we know we will be served a wonderful meal at very reasonable prices. Hubby loves the crab linguine ( please bring it back ).

Sue /Steve Massey
Brighstone
Isle of Wight

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quicksilver0934, Owner at The Garden Cafe at Farringford, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
I was delighted to read your review, a big thank you for taking the trouble to post it. I am very happy that you have such good experiences while dining at our restaurant, and thank you for spreading a good word among your friends. For our chefs and for those who work front of house it is hugely encouraging to read such a positive review, and it is good to know that in terms of the menu and its pricing we seem to have struck a good balance. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still very good”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Having previously posted an opinion on this restaurant a year ago we have revisited to find that the menu is still manageable, the dishes are still well prepared and presented, it is still very good value (a rarity on the IOW) and the pizzas are still the best pizzas in the entire known universe...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quicksilver0934, Owner at The Garden Cafe at Farringford, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
"...the best pizzas in the entire known universe." Praise indeed ! It is always encouraging to read our customers favourable reviews, and we are very grateful for your taking the trouble to post your second review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic pizza”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The pizza was really good and the staff were extra friendly and helpful. We saw our pizzas cooking in the oven is just a few minutes - super speedy. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 227Chris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quicksilver0934, Owner at The Garden Cafe at Farringford, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your pizza and our friendly efficient service. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous pizza!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We've been returning to The Garden Restaurant for many years now, and have never been disappointed, and this visit is no exception. We were greeted by a friendly waiter and shown to a lovely table where we could watch the sunset. We ordered a bottle of wine from their extensive cellar, and were very happy with our selection. I love the atmosphere of this restaurant, with its many quotes from Tennyson on the walls, along with lovely paintings of local flowers. The menu is quite extensive, and because they have an authentic pizza oven, we both decided to have pizza, not being able to resist hand made pizza dough and fresh toppings. This turned out to be an inspired choice, and we happily finished off both pizzas, barely leaving room for pudding. I asked the waiter if the chocolate torte was made here on site, and he said "Of course, it is more like ganache. Order it, you'll like it." We laughed, ordered one to share, and it was just as he said, absolutely delicious. It was smooth, with chunks of chocolate, and garnished with real Chantilly cream. Once again, we've had a wonderful meal at The Garden Restaurant, and we plan to return very soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Idyllslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quicksilver0934, Owner at The Garden Cafe at Farringford, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are absolutely delighted that you so enjoyed your meal in our restaurant, and thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you like the decor including the quotes from Tennyson. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit, hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garden Cafe at Farringford also viewed

Freshwater, Isle of Wight
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing