We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockstone Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rockstone Cottage
Ranked #1 of 10 Freshwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was perfect, with fresh brownies on arrival, everything you need for a perfect stay. Breakfast was lovely and the owner really friendly. Nice comfy bed with the fresh smell of clean bedding which just makes it. The shortbread biscuits were a really good touch on departure!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaz8616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    20
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
128
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a restful weekend here and have been really impressed with Sheena and Gary's hospitality. From the warm welcome when we arrived so early but to a fully prepared room (thanks - it was very hot in the motorbike leathers so we appreciated being able to change in to shorts and t shirts!) to the sheer attention to detail in the beautifully spacious and very comfortable bedroom (room 1). Lots of lovely little personal touches throughout our stay which I won't reveal so as not to spoil your surprise.

The breakfast is of the highest quality and renders lunch completely unnecessary!

Really outstanding little place in a brilliant location....ssshhh....don't tell everyone.

PS the comment by a previous guest about the marmalade.....what complete drivel.....there is one per table fresh every day... Sheena can't answer on here for herself but I am happy to relay that the pots are emptied and sterilised every day....

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do try hard to make every guests stay with us special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here recently for 3 nights. It has a great location just a couple of minutes walk to the beach so you can stroll down after breakfast or late in the evening. We had room 1 which is very large and to he side so quiet. Unfortunately the bed is a standard size (too narrow for us!) and very soft it would be nice to see a King Size bed in such a large room. Bathroom and extras in the room like homemade brownies were much appreciated. Breakfast was good but could be better, no vegetarian alernatives to sausage and bacon, only marmelade available for the toast which is fine if you like marmelade but otherwise tricky also we didn't like that anyone could put his/her knife into the marmelade, there were no spoons offered, we did not find this very hygienic. We were dissapointed that the garden was not accessible for guests despite this being advertised on the webpage.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review
We would like to respond to your review
All our beds are advertised on our website as double beds and we are considering upgrading the size in the future.
There are many vegetarians options on the menu to choose from and you can combine any of them to suit your palate.
There are assorted homemade jams on the menu they just need to be requested
There is a small sealed kilner jar of marmalade on each table which is washed,sterilised and replenished everyday.
Four of our bedrooms overlook the garden, so unfortunately due to privacy and security issues guests cannot have access to the garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just spent 2 nights at Rockstone Cottage and would recommend it highly. Very clean,smart decor and comfortable beds. The breakfast was excellent, freshly made fruit salad, home made granola and marmalade and a tasty full english breakfast. A short walk to the beach and an excellent beach cafe/restaurant. Thank you Sheena and Gary you have it just right.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Sheena & Gary could not have made us more welcome. The Cottage is spotlessly clean. We had a lovely large room overlooking the garden. Gallons of hot water and every amenity you could wish for. The breakfast is superb. Best sausages we have ever tasted! There is a restaurant just down the road overlooking the gorgeous Colwell Bay which is super for evening meals. We cannot recommend Rockstone Cottage highly enough! Sheena even gave us shortbread to take home with us!

Room Tip: We had the lovely room overlooking the garden which was superb. Loads of wardrobe and drawer space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaBrentwoodUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have just come back from a weekend at Rockstone Cottage and had a wonderful stay. We stayed in Room 1 which is a big room with lovely garden views. Sheena and Gary were very welcoming and helpful. The food was great - everything you could ask for in a full breakfast. The little personal touches in the room as well as the shortbread for the journey home made the weekend such a special one. We will be going back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bedstraveller2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed for the first time with Sheena and Gary from 17 to 21 June 2013. The location is very quiet, on a bus route to Newport, and 5 minutes from a deserted beach. Our welcome from Sheena was warm and friendly, and the drinks and home made cake on arrival were both unexpected and excellent. A home made cake awaited each evening on our return, and some home made shortcake was presented as a gift for the homeward journey. We had the top room in the house which was spotless and comfortable. The breakfasts were lovely and comprised much home made produce - yoghurt, bread, marmalade. Fresh fruit and all the usual suspects were available. Some produce is locally sourced too. We would not hesitate to stay again or to recommend the property.

Room Tip: Any room would be good I think, the location is so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
1.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.5 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
2.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 13 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Criers Croft
Criers Croft
#3 of 10 in Freshwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockstone Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockstone Cottage

Property: Rockstone Cottage
Address: Colwell Chine Road, Freshwater PO40 9NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockstone Cottage is a charming four star guest house originally built around 1790. Situated just three minutes walk from a sandy beach of Colwell bay, we offer bed and breakfast with a quiet, friendly and relaxing atmosphere for adults only. Ideally situated in beautiful West Wight this area is renowned for its beauty, with lovely walks on the coastal path and over the downs. The six well equipped bedrooms are all en-suite. Each room has tea & coffee making facilities, LCD TV & radio, hairdryer, radio alarm clock, complimentary toiletries and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rockstone Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockstone Cottage Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing