We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Rockstone Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rockstone Cottage
Ranked #1 of 9 Freshwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a very nice B&B only a couple of hundred yards from Colwell Beach. We had a twin room, which suited our needs very well. It is both clean and comfortable with plenty of room. The daily baking treat was a nice touch, though beware the cup-cakes! Breakfast was excellent and all freshly prepared. No packets of Kellogg's and white sliced bread here!! And Sheena was never short of a friendly word or several :-)
Very nice indeed, and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMA54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    21
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
139
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Gary and Sheena are lovely hosts, extremely helpful re bike hire and just everything really. We had a unexpected and delicious supply of fresh cakes each day, that was a bonus! And the accommodation is very comfortable, the location peaceful and very well placed as only a 2 minute walk to the beach and coastal path. And just this month a new restaurant has opened on the beach The Hut which is to be recommended. Bike hire is local, in Yarmouth and they deliver to the cottage if desired - and collect too. Very handy. Lovely bike rides to be had and super walks down to The Needles and further along the coast too. If you have a car basically everything is easily accessible due to the limited size of the island. Can highly recommend Osbourne House as a whole day out and the Garlic Farm is an excellent half day trip with a good lunch.
Hoping to make a return visit for more cycling.

Room Tip: The house is in a very quiet location. Our room was at the front but as the road only goes to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Can't fault this B&B. I'm sure other reviewers will commend the food, decor and hospitality, so let me add that the wifi connection is high-speed, the location is a two-minute walk from the nearest bus to Yarmouth and the home baking is so plentiful that we're still eating shortbread two days since leaving.

Gary and Sheena were happy for us to store our bicycles in their garage, which was much appreciated.

Rockstone Cottage comes very highly recommended if you're staying on the west of the island.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JRB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A 3 night stay with good food, comfortable bed (I do not usually sleep well, but was fine here) and pleasant hosts - a really enjoyable break! Yarmouth is very near, with several good restaurants. Very quiet location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shups186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Gary and Sheena are superb, loads of fun to talk with, helpful, and their B&B is amazing! Sheena is up at the crack of dawn (well, slightly before, actually), baking and preparing for the day, and nothing is too much trouble for their guests! If you can, take the room at the top of the house -- it's a gem!

A few minutes down the road and you're on the beach -- great walking, and I always return with pockets full of beautiful sea glass (going to do a table top one day, with my worldwide collection).

Room Tip: Take the one at the top, if it's available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLG1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I only stayed for one night as I was on the island for work - however one night was not enough! I loved it and was beautifully looked after including some wonderful home baked treats! Lovely warm welcome and this will now be my place of choice to stay on all my future work trips.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Myself and my significant other spent a weekend at the cottage..beautiful place with lovely owners ..a perfect place to spend a peaceful weekend..unspoilt area around the cottage and a quick bus ride to many destinations of interest

See u in the summer

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank seanoporno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you again in the summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
1.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
292 reviews
1.5 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
16.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 10 in Totland Bay
347 reviews
1.0 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 10 in Totland Bay
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockstone Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockstone Cottage

Property: Rockstone Cottage
Address: Colwell Chine Road, Freshwater PO40 9NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rockstone Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockstone Cottage is a charming four star guest house originally built around 1790. Situated just three minutes walk from a sandy beach of Colwell bay, we offer bed and breakfast with a quiet, friendly and relaxing atmosphere for adults only. Ideally situated in beautiful West Wight this area is renowned for its beauty, with lovely walks on the coastal path and over the downs. The six well equipped bedrooms are all en-suite. Each room has tea & coffee making facilities, LCD TV & radio, hairdryer, radio alarm clock, complimentary toiletries and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rockstone Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockstone Cottage Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing