We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay and wonderful breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockstone Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rockstone Cottage
Ranked #1 of 10 Freshwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely stay and wonderful breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed for a longer weekend in May this year and had a lovely stay. Although saying that, it was spoiled by the uncomfortable bed mattress in our room. After three nights we were fairly sleep deprived as the mattress was awfully soft. I understand that this is somewhat personal preference, however I would advise investment into firmer better quality mattresses.
Other than this, the whole place is lovely. Well decorated and as all reviewers point out, the breakfast is second to none. I can say that they do serve the best breakfast ever! Selection is great and the home-made touches are wonderful.
One point which I personally appreciated was the amazing quality of bed linen. Quality and cleanliness rivals the best hotels we ever stayed in.
Rockstone Cottage is a great B&B but I feel you have to consider your priorities. It worked for us as the weather was beautiful and hence we spent all our time on the beach. There is no common lounge/sitting room nor access to the garden. Parking and walking distance to the beach are a huge plus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ElenaVlado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    20
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
128
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our second stay at Rockstone Cottage. It is surely one of the best B & Bs anywhere! Rooms are immaculate and the breakfasts are superb, with home-made goodies like the bread and the marmalade. There are some lovely extras, such as the really excellent cakes left in the bedroom each day, the shortbread to travel home with, and the high quality the toiletries in the en suite. There's a good wi fi connection and the location just a couple of minutes from Colwell Bay beach couldn't be better. Very many thanks to Sheena and Gary for another marvellous week. We'll be back!.
David & Joy M

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Most B+Bs meet my expectations and Rockstone Cottage is no exception. I enjoyed the accommodation, the location and meeting the chatty hostess who works hard to provide welcoming accommodation whilst balancing a modernisation programme with a traditional cottage feel.

Our room was in the eves and was clean, spacious and well laid out. We slept well due to the comfy mattress and peace and quiet. The steep stairs to the top floor could be an issue for those with mobility issues, but there are other rooms so any concerns should be mentioned at booking. There were perhaps too many cushions for me in the bedroom, but that is personal observation and not a critisim in a room that was intentionally "cosy country cottage". The shower room passed my personal test including hooks to hang things on, space to move around, and a chair. Whilst the shower cubicle will suit most, those who are larger than average may struggle. The shower itself was good.

Rockstone Cottage receives extra brownie points for the fragrant and excellent quality fluffy towels, the exceptionally pleasant moisturiser which was a soothing joy after the hot sunny days, and a really tasty breakfast with a particularly good freshly prepared fruit salad in a delightful refurbished breakfast room. It was a nice touch to find cake in the bedroom each day and a farewell gift of shortbread. These touches demonstrate that the hosts are not just focussed on running a business, but also want their guests to enjoy a really postive experience.

Now to sunsets...this B+B is on the quieter side of the island and on our first night when rain threatened, we could not find anywhere to eat within walking distance, so took a short drive into Yarmouth. On the second night, it was a different world. An exquisite sunset pulled us along a 10 minute stroll to the beach at the end of the lane which was transformed into a gentle hive of activity of dog walkers, strolling couples and a family or two. The Hut restaurant was open and we enjoyed a relaxing glass of wine (or two) whilst soaking up the very last rays of a glorious sunset. A perfect end to an excellent visit.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor if you have mobility issues - the room itself is fine, just a few steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SashaEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Excellent bed and breakfast. Immaculate. The breakfast was amazing- beautiful fresh food. Home made granola, Yougart and marmalade. It was 5 star. Sheena made us very welcome and had made chocolate brownies for our arrival- and homemade short bread for our journey home. Will definitely go back- it made our first visit to IOW- really special. Thanks Sheena.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieroylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Clean, comfortable, and friendly with touches of brilliance in decor and home cooking (afternoon cakes to die for ! And superb breakfasts). The convenient WiFi meant photos could be downloaded daily. Parking out front was also very convenient.

Room Tip: Our room was excellent, so we see no reason to believe that all the other rooms are any different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peterboronan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had one night at the cottage but would choose to stay here again if returning to the island. The room was wonderfully decorated and spacious. We had a good night's sleep. The delicious chocolate brownie on arrival was most welcome. Breakfast the following morning was also superb and there was a good selection of options for what to have. The location is perfect, you are a short walk (maybe 10 mins) from the shops but just a few minutes away from the beach. The area is quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JackyP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was our second visit, and in our view the only place to stay on the Island. So friendly, and welcoming. Amazingly clean and with every luxury one could ask for, including toiletries, and marvellous cakes. Breakfast tempts to most finicky eater with everything home made or locally sourced. All tastes catered for by the hosts. 12 out of 10 is my mark

Room Tip: all rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanMP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
1.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.5 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
2.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 13 in Totland Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Criers Croft
Criers Croft
#3 of 10 in Freshwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockstone Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockstone Cottage

Property: Rockstone Cottage
Address: Colwell Chine Road, Freshwater PO40 9NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockstone Cottage is a charming four star guest house originally built around 1790. Situated just three minutes walk from a sandy beach of Colwell bay, we offer bed and breakfast with a quiet, friendly and relaxing atmosphere for adults only. Ideally situated in beautiful West Wight this area is renowned for its beauty, with lovely walks on the coastal path and over the downs. The six well equipped bedrooms are all en-suite. Each room has tea & coffee making facilities, LCD TV & radio, hairdryer, radio alarm clock, complimentary toiletries and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Rockstone Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockstone Cottage Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing