We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where was the cafe?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dandelion Cafe

Dandelion Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Reading
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Where was the cafe?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Probably unfortunate that we happened to visit on Mother's Day when they had moved the café to another room and all the rooms were full of people having a special lunch. The staff didn't seem to know where the café had moved to and after being pointed in different directions by different members of staff, and being made to feel very unwelcome and uncomfortable, we gave up and left. It would have been better for them to have advertised as being closed or not put the signs out. We never got to try the food, so can't comment. It was a shame as the views were lovely and it was the only place open. It's possibly quite nice on a normal day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    22
    23
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ploughman's ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife visited today and was disappointed as I ordered a cheese ploughman's lunch I also asked for a bit of pate it turned up and they gave me two orders I just wanted a bit if pate with it also the ploughman's had 1 small bread roll cut into 3 thin slices service wasent great either on the plus size great views

Helpful?
Thank mfozzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Met some friends for lunch and the location was ideal. The lunch menu covered all of the bases, the food was great and not too fussy. We all had something different from the menu and no one had anything but compliments. The service was relaxed but efficient and we had time to chat and enjoy the views which are excellent across Freshwater Bay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bernie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Family of 8, 6 children from 2 to 19, all tastes catered for, brilliant service from friendly staff. Fantastic views while we ate some lovely light bites. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Helpful?
1 Thank davegathern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“useless”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was on a coach trip which had booked a table for all of us in advance so it wasn't like they didn't know we were coming. We had pre-ordered cream teas. When they came up, not one table had all the ingredients for a cream tea! if you had tea, you had no milk, if you had jam you had no cream etc.. The scones tasted shop bought and some tables didn't get theirs and had to ask. One of our group asked for coffee instead of tea and was told it would cost extra. I had been to this place when it first opened and it was a disaster then. I was assured it was teething problems but all this time later nothing has changed. The view is lovely but my advice is look at the view and keep walking. These sort of places do not deserve your money as they never listen to customers which I feel shows a certain contempt.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maggie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dandelion Cafe also viewed

Freshwater, Isle of Wight
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Dandelion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing