We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big portions.”
Review of Dandelion Cafe

Dandelion Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big portions.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Dropped in for lunch. The staff were a bit aloof, but business like. The food was excellent, & huge. A club sandwich did for me! Would certainly recommend though.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simo9848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    30
    30
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I heard good things about this cafe and their twitter feed was always showing up yummy sounding daily specials but it was disappointing to say the least. The staff were not welcoming or friendly and we had to hang in the foyer waiting for our order to then sit outside. The view and outside area was the saving grace as in the end they gave us incorrect coffees. I hope we caught them on a bad day and this isn't business as usual

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Did the trick after a long cycle!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Absolutely shattered after a cycle, we had held out on lunch until mid-afternoon. Stumbled upon this place, got jacket potato and panini. Food was great and came out quickly. Salad tasted especially fresh (grown on the island?) Also had a flapjack (delicious) and a cupcake (a little dry). Has a nice view of the bay too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“poor service”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Went for late lunch with friends, 3 out of 4 meals were wrong, the veg was hardly cooked and after finishing our meal we waited so long to have our plates cleared that we ended up having to ask & had no time for dessert.
Did enjoy the Fab views.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, poor service, mediocre food”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We came for a late lunch on a warm Good Friday and sat out by the charming open-air swimming pool. It didn't seem terribly busy in terms of the number of customers, but ordering took forever - there just didn't seem to be a system in place - and this was despite any lunchtime rush having been over by the time we arrived. The menu was quite restricted - sandwiches or jacket potatoes - and the food when it came was pretty mediocre, my potato rather short on filling and a little lukewarm. This place exists on its beautiful location - if it were anywhere else, a cafe run like this would have folded years ago.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Picklyfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dandelion Cafe also viewed

Freshwater, Isle of Wight
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Dandelion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing