We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ice cream deal on island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dandelion Cafe

Dandelion Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Woking
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best ice cream deal on island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The ice cream stand does 2 scoops of ice cream in a waffle cone for £2 - absolute bargain.......
Returned severl times - ice cream, seat by cliff, then down the steps to the beach.
Did not eat or use other facilities but 'felt' the same as Max1968736 but did not experience any of this.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hellloodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    22
    23
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food terrible manager with blonde hair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our parents had just stayed at the hotel which the cafe is part of on a HFCs holiday which they are members, they told us that people who used the cafe were using the swimming pool and they said why don't you try it as we were staying in sandown, so on a sunny Tuesday 29th July last week we drove over to freshwater bay parked and found a table in the cafe decided to eat then swim, ordered lovely ploughman lunch each my daughter had a kids meal very nice waitress, felt abit out of sorts as some very upper class people eating there, went to pay and thought I would ask if we could change somewhere to use pool, on addressing a woman with blonde hair standing next to pay station it asked the question and she said in a very snobby voice are you a member or staying here, I explained about what we were told by parents and she dismissed me that no we could not use the pool, I was quite put out and walked away my husband paid the bill for food, and she then started to speak to a young man about putting a sign up about this using the pool if eating in their cafe is not correct, I have never felt so low and put in my place by someone in my life, happy to take our money but not to use the pool I really felt that we were the wrong class if I had a different accent I believe it would have been a different story as it is I would never go near this place again unless I was upper class

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Max1968736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovley coffee in ultra modern bowl cups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a cafe inside the HF hotel at Freshwater Bay next to the start of Tennyson Down , it can be reached either from the road or at the end of the beach up quite a steep path through their garden. HF hotels specialize in walking holidays. The bar/cafe is modern with inside and outside seating. They do food but I didn't eat or look at the menue.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarah_golb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big portions.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Dropped in for lunch. The staff were a bit aloof, but business like. The food was excellent, & huge. A club sandwich did for me! Would certainly recommend though.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simo9848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I heard good things about this cafe and their twitter feed was always showing up yummy sounding daily specials but it was disappointing to say the least. The staff were not welcoming or friendly and we had to hang in the foyer waiting for our order to then sit outside. The view and outside area was the saving grace as in the end they gave us incorrect coffees. I hope we caught them on a bad day and this isn't business as usual

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dandelion Cafe also viewed

Freshwater, Isle of Wight
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Dandelion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing