We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fish and chips on the beach”
Review of Rainbow Fish Bar

Rainbow Fish Bar
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Freshwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Fish and chip shop.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fish and chips on the beach”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Good little fish and chip shop. We took ours on to freshwater bay beach and watched the sunset! Perfect!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    26
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect batter”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had tried a fish and chip take away in Yarmouth which wasn't great and saw the reviews on Trip Advisor for the Rainbow Fish Bar in Freshwater so decided to give it a go. The signs looked good with a queue that stretched out the door one way with people looking to put their orders in and a queue out the other way with people waiting for their orders. We were not disappointed. The best fish and chips we have had for a long time. Really good chips, not greasy at all. The haddock was excellent, fresh and moist and the the batter was lovely and crunchy.

If you are looking for fish and chips and you are in the Yarmouth/Freshwater area you would not go wrong with the Rainbow Fish Bar

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best chippy ever”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stumbled across this treasure after a long drive from Wales on a dark rainy winters evening a few years ago.We are now regular customers travelling from Ventnor most Fridays and eating our pensioner fish and chips at Totland Pier which just adds to the pleasure. The staff are so friendly and cheerful and everything is so clean I can say with all honesty this is the best Chip shop on the Island.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minety, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great tea and can not wait for 25th July for day one of our holiday so I can have some more. roll on July

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stupotallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dinner”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very nice fish and chips in freshwater we visited twice while on our camping holiday would recommend to anybody else going camping in freshwater

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rainbow Fish Bar also viewed

Totland Bay, Isle of Wight
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Rainbow Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing