We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It really couldn't have been better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isle of Wight Adventure Activities

Isle of Wight Adventure Activities
Ranked #5 of 10 things to do in Freshwater
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We love outdoor sports that get the adrenaline pumping, and we want to show you why! Our unforgettable Adventures are based across the Isle of Wight, utilising the stunning beaches, wooded hill-sides, exposed downs, iconic cliff lines and more! Join us for an Adventure and see a whole new side of our Adventure Island! Ready For Some Adventure? Kayaking, Coasteering, Mountain Boarding, Archery, Paddleboarding, Zorbing and Rock Climbing. Check out our website for all the latest information and to book the best outdoor Adventure Activities available on the Isle of Wight!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It really couldn't have been better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I don’t know if we were particularly lucky but this WAY exceeded our expectations. The place isn’t that easy to find so follow their directions. We were expecting to walk to the beach, but our guide said he could drive us. We expected to be part of a bigger group but it was just our family of 4. We didn’t expect to be kayaking through caves at times, but we did. We didn’t expect our guide to take a lot of pics of us and then put them on facebook for us to download, but he did. We had a brilliant experience with a brilliant guide at Freshwater Bay and 100% recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rob776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    9
    1
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best day of holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed in Isle of Wight for 2 weeks with 3 teenagers, all agree sea kayaking was the best thing they did on the holiday. Weather was sunny, sea quite choppy, kayaked along coast, swam in caves, fantastic experience

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoJ70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“1st Roffey Scouts Summer Camp 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our Summer Camp this year was to the Isle of Wight, with 22 very active Scouts and 6 Leaders who we keep busy all year round. We had been looking for something a little different to what we do normally. Speaking to Cara we came up with Coasteering. The video and pictures looked fantastic and we have been very excited as it was kept from the Scouts. Sadly the weather was against us on this occasion... however both Owen and Cara had been in touch to keep us up to date with the conditions and options that could be open if Coasteering became difficult to complete. On the day we checked in with a very efficient service of getting kitted out for the activity and then a little walk down to the coast for Sea kayaking, Tobogganing and Surfing.... After the effective briefing from Owen, the Scouts were given Single man kayaks and the Double man kayaks, being lined up at the top of the beach, one by one they were launched down the Shingle into the oncoming waves, the Swell was high and strong which made entry interesting but great fun, once out paddling around was easy and exciting especially with the big waves, the surf back to shore if timed right was an awesome ride on top of the wave, and challenged even the most accomplished Kayakers. Although by the end of our session in the sea all were completely exhausted they still managed to find the extra energy to body surf in the waves while trying the drown the Scout Leaders. A MASSIVE thank you to Owen,Cara & the Instructor team for the Best day of the Summer Camp as voted by the Scouts at the end of the Week. Will add some picture soon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Paddle boarding Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

My kids were booked on a surfing lesson but with no surf on the day they opted for paddle boarding instead which was just fantastic with Owen. He was very supportive and made the whole experience very exciting through his passionate encouragement. My son was hooked and went on to have another paddle boarding session - again great fun!
I found the whole team at IOW AA extremely helpful and friendly. We booked 3 sessions including kyaking and all were great value for money, exciting but within a very defined perimeter of safety.
Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A fun experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

I was surprised with a trip to the Isle of Wight which involved a 2 hour kayaking session.
I'm not a great lover of boats or the sea so was quite daunted at the idea.
We arrived early, which was good as the place was a little difficult to find even with a Tom Tom !
We were greeted at the reception and given lots of info in advance about the route we would be taking due to good weather.
We changed into the wet suits & life jackets provided, and were driven to the beach ( a group of 8 of us in total with 2 instructors)
Briefed on how to use the paddle to steer and what direction we would be going in, we jumped straight in and got on with it.
To cut a long story short I was absolutely rubbish at kayaking, this takes a great deal of upper body strength, you will definitely work those muscles, and it's crucial to listen to how to hold the paddle and manoeuvre around or you will end up hitting your hands against the kayak which hurts!.. A lot !
I was helped loads along the way (even towed by an instructor at one point) so don't be put off if your also a novice, the instructors were fantastic and didn't once make me feel like a nuisance, as long as your up for trying something new, this will be an experience, watch out if you stop for a bit of sight seeing on the rocks, they can be very slippery!
Over all a fun experience, albeit very tiring. Be prepared!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma_brown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isle of Wight Adventure Activities also viewed

 
Newport, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Isle of Wight Adventure Activities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing