We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayaking and Coasteering”

Isle of Wight Adventure Activities
Ranked #5 of 10 things to do in Freshwater
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We love outdoor sports that get the adrenaline pumping... and we want to show you why! Our unforgettable Adventures are based across the Isle of Wight, utilising the stunning beaches, wooded hill-sides, exposed downs, iconic cliff lines and more! Join us for an Adventure and see a whole new side of our Adventure Island! Ready For Some Adventure? Kayaking, Coasteering, Mountain Boarding, Archery, Paddleboarding, Zorbing and Rock Climbing. Check out our website for all the latest information and to book the best outdoor Adventure Activities available on the Isle of Wight!
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kayaking and Coasteering”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I went kayaking and coasteering with my daughter over an extended break to the Isle of Wight.

Kayaking was a great experience - hard work getting out to sea, as the weather changed from calm to reasonably windy in a short space of time.

However, while it was hard work getting out of the bay, we had a great time learning the fundamentals of kayaking, including some wave riding and a small glimpse of coasteering too.

Our instructors Steve and Albie were friendly, helpful and looked after us above and beyond what we expected.

Later in the week we went coasteering - this was far more challenging, and for someone who isnt a strong swimmer, doesnt particulary like water, or jumping into it from height - I knew this was going to be a challenge personally, and it was!

We explored caves, which were beautiful - making our way through cracks that filled with water, across rocks, and jumping in to the water from the rocks too - not from great height, but high enough for me! Needless to say my daughter took all of this in her stride.

Our instructors, Tim and Josh were helpful, and looked after us throughout.

This is a great experience if you are looking to build up your confidence and like a challenge. I would say you have to be a fairly strong swimmer at points, but otherwise this is a great experience and I highly recommend it.

Be prepared to come away with a few knocks and bruises - but there is no reason to worry unless you dont heed the advice of the instructors.

Thoroughly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    11
    1
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sea Kayaking and Bushcraft”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

As part of our family holiday I booked Sea Kayaking for my 9 year old son and I. We had no trouble locating the meeting point, and after a comprehensive briefing and a short walk to Freshwater we were out in a double kayak. The conditions were a bit choppy, but we paddled around the headland to some caves which we explored 'on foot' after mooring the kayaks on the beach. The instructors; Steve and Kai were fantastic and we felt well looked after at all times. Thoroughly enjoyed our experience with IOWAA so much that we booked a further bushcraft morning.......

We booked the 2 hour bush craft session. This was a fantastic family activity for the 4 of us. We all agreed it was a brilliantc experience and something completely different to what we have done before. The experience involved shelter building and building and lighting a camp fire. We divided into 2 groups and set off to build the best shelter that we could. The girls obviously won!! Then it was off to gather kindling for the camp fire, after which we ate delicious toasted marshmallows. It was tremendous fun and something we would love to do again.We will definately be booking the full day bush craft experience when we return. Big thanks to Esther and Steve who made the whole thing great fun.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Booked the kayak experience - can recommend. Good instructors. Unfortunately the wind and sea were a little too rough for us to go out of the bay so we surfed the waves - hard work paddling against the tide and wind but very exciting

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gloucestershire_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Kayaking and Coasteering- both highly recommended”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked a coasteering session for our 2 teenagers last week and also a 2 hour Kayak for my husband and 14 year old and the 6 hour kayak trip for the 16 year old. We were extremely impressed by the professional set up, the enthusiasm of the Instructors and all the staff- nothing was too much of a problem. The only criticism was that the 2 hour Kayak was probably not long enough as they had such a good time (though they thought 6 hours would have been too much- so an in between length would be good in the future). This is hindsight though as my husband had never kayaked before so we weren't sure what he would be up to!
The acid test for me is whether they would want to do it again- and there was a resounding thumbs up. It is at least part of the reason we would visit the Isle of Wight again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Such a great route around the beautiful caves, and session seemed well planned, felt very safe and had a lot of fun!! Super friendly staff. Only issues were limited booking slots and hauling the kayaks to/from the beach was hard work!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamy2631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOWAdventure, Director of Sales at Isle of Wight Adventure Activities, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello,

Thanks for your feedback, it is much appreciated. We are working hard to ensure that we have as many booking slots as possible, but due to popularity there have been times when we have struggled to meet the demand we have encountered whilst still keep group sizes low to ensure the high quality of the experience.

Once again, thanks for taking to the time to write a review.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isle of Wight Adventure Activities also viewed

 
Newport, Isle of Wight
Totland Bay, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Isle of Wight Adventure Activities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing