We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Paddleboarding Hen Party” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isle of Wight Adventure Activities

Isle of Wight Adventure Activities
Ranked #5 of 10 things to do in Freshwater
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We love outdoor sports that get the adrenaline pumping, and we want to show you why! Our unforgettable Adventures are based across the Isle of Wight, utilising the stunning beaches, wooded hill-sides, exposed downs, iconic cliff lines and more! Join us for an Adventure and see a whole new side of our Adventure Island! Ready For Some Adventure? Kayaking, Coasteering, Mountain Boarding, Archery, Paddleboarding, Zorbing and Rock Climbing. Check out our website for all the latest information and to book the best outdoor Adventure Activities available on the Isle of Wight!
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paddleboarding Hen Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2014

We had the most amazing time Paddle boarding for my sisters hen party! Just the right balance of supervision given without being overbearing, we loved having the freedom to try things out and explore. Thank you for a fantastic experience, would definitely recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kyli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOWAdventure, Director of Sales at Isle of Wight Adventure Activities, responded to this review, 26 October 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review - we are really pleased you had such a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    9
    1
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Brilliant day with friendly, professional staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2014

We were welcomed,briefed and equipped quickly and efficiently. Packed in skills and games and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The staff were very friendly and professional. I cant wait to go back!

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robman0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOWAdventure, Director of Sales at Isle of Wight Adventure Activities, responded to this review, 26 October 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review - we are really pleased you had such a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cancelled Booking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

My one day Kayaking course was cancelled so I am unable to say personally whether they provide good activities however I thought it might be helpful to put a few notes down which people might find useful.

1. Although the advert encourages you to make a trip over to the Island for the activity you may be better off booking a trip if you are staying on the Island for longer than a few days (flexibility).

2. If you have booked a ferry crossing you will get no refund in respect of the crossing from Adventure Activities even if they are the ones who cancel the trip a couple of days beforehand.

3. If you are making a trip across for this activity only, then ensure you get a flexible return so that any cancellation means you can change the date/time of your crossing.

4. When the advert says free pick up from ferry it does not cover Cowes or Hythe, only Yarmouth. This is very important if you do not have a car and are trying to get to Freshwater by bus from Cowes on a Sunday!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrStuffy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOWAdventure, Director of Sales at Isle of Wight Adventure Activities, responded to this review, 26 October 2014
Hello and thanks for the comments made. We have changed our wording to ensure that it is clear that 'pick ups' for day courses are from the Yarmouth ferry port.

I would like to point out that cancelling a course is a very rare occurrence, and only done when unavoidable.
As with this day when a staff member is not fit for work due to injury a replacement may, on rare occasions, not be available at short notice. It is not possible to simply ‘pluck’ someone off the street to replace them due to the high level of skill and experience they possess in order to run the standard of courses we provide.

It may be worth readers noting that contrary to the comments made above a full refund of travel costs was made due to the short notice and the nature of the cancellation and also an alternative date was offered, as were a number of other options to minimise the inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Three activities complete, total satisfaction!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Over the last few weeks, my son and i had a go at the Kayaking. Because of the rough seas, we had to settle for surfing the waves but still had great fun. Next my son went Coasteering and came back saying it was the best thing he had ever done in his life. Next it was my wife and my son on the paddle boards. The weather was against us so we had to do it in the River Yar, but it was such great fun. I don't know who was laughing more, those taking part or us watching. The staff were brilliant and it was obvious that their sole aim was to make sure everyone had fun, including us oldies. I can't recommend this highly enough and we will definitely be back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fun despite the weather!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Spent a wonderful 4 hours out on the sea with Tim an experienced and friendly instructor and Charlie a very helpful apprentice. Felt very safe despite the waves and occasional rain shower. Was pleased that they provided wetsuit and Cagoule as although it was August the winds were quite strong. Appreciated the coaching session learning new strokes and rescue techniques. Plan to return again with better weather so that I can visit the sea caves as the sea was too rough this time. One of the few schools specialising in sit on tops and i strongly recommend this centre!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisTonyMaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isle of Wight Adventure Activities also viewed

 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Isle of Wight Adventure Activities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing